Ratings based on 865 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Tropic cat resort needs improvements

Posted May 26, 2015
Booked 2 nights. Hotel attendant was missing at time of check in. Waited about 15 minutes for him to arrive. Limited supply of towels and ice were offered. Public bathrooms are kept locked until noon everyday. Room bathrooms are grungy, old and outdated. Best thing of all was the location. Hotel needs improvements. I would not recommend.
1 out of 5
by Aristarco from Puerto Rico

Worst ever!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Worst ever! The hotel was old and pretty dirty, air conditioning didnt work well, toilet either. Not in condition to work.Charge us alot for parking and didnt have much. Its a shame because the location was great. Really ocean front.
1 out of 5
by Robert from Fort Lauderdale

Tropic Cay

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk gentleman who checked us in was careless (disinterested) in providing customer service / Welcome drink were mention by Hotels.com as part of booking and we had to request it from the gentleman / Be Aware to check you CC statement whenever the CC is authorized for incidentals as mine was and charges posted instead of been returned. Overall this is a place for young solitaires or college graduates on vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Do not stay here

Posted May 20, 2015
Awful stay! I DO NOT recommend this hotel. Room was dirty, floor tiles stained and dirty, sheets disgusting, bathroom ew! Couldn't even sit on toilet just yellow and not maintained took a shower with my sandals on. Actually I didn't take off my sandals at all. Phone didn't work, wifi was in and out. It was very hard to shut the door, the lock was useless. Asked for towels they were paper thin. Staff was not helpful. Only good thing is location. But I was embarrassed to tell people where I was staying. Definitely needs some TLC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it's slated for demolition - for a reason!

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel and the dump that is its sister property are due for demolition for new high rise condo's and sit right next to the magnificent W hotel. The neighborhood is right on the beach. No complaints there, but this place is so awful that even the "working girls" can find a better room for less money than this horror. There is absolutely nothing good except it's on the beach. Stay away even if they paid you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Horrible Motel

Posted May 17, 2015
Motel was horrible in and out. Staff was rude, didn't know answers to any questions. Staff liked like they were I'd the street.
1 out of 5
by william from NEW PORT RICHEY

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
HORRIBLE, they charge extra for early check in, charge to park the car. very dirty, no refrigerator, no towels when I checked in. A/C in room was horrible, tv was 40 years old and hardly worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

POOR

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
THE ROOM WAS VERY OLD VERY BAD CONDITIONS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tropic Cay

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very old & about to be torn down so do not expect the Ritz. What it is, is clean & on the beach for a very good price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
The only positive thing is closeness to the beach...everything else not good...