Ratings based on 1,816 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Really enjoyed my stay I book a regular room but got up graded to a suite
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst, trains, dirty

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Hotel is near the train tracks and you can hear trains pass from your room. My room had hair all over the bathroom from the last person and the room was old, out dated, tv picture was fuzzy, overall this is NOT 3 stars. I requested a king and received two doubles. Toiletries are in dispensers instead of individuals. Overall, you can tell this place cuts every corner. It is not a decent for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us on Expedia. We are truly sorry to see that the room we assigned you did not meet your standards of comfort and cleanliness. Let us assure you that the experience you describe is not the one we use to provide to our guests. Also, there is in fact a train running behind the hotel. Some of our guests don’t mind the noise, some others find it more disturbing. We are sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you may have lived during your stay. Best regards, Marie-Pier R.D.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy but clean.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Requested a king bed but ended up with two doubles. Too small for a couple and was pretty disappointed. Everything in the room worked, there was a fridge which is a plus, also the air conditioner was a bit noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D., Hotel Management
First of all, we thank you for sharing your experience with us on Expedia. We are happy that overall your room answered your expectations with its amenities. For future notice, if something displeases you in your room, in your case the bed, you could have reported it to the front desk. Our team will be happy to help you with that and to offer solutions. Once again, we thank you for your time. Best regards, Marie-Pier R.D.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Train ran next to the hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Pool was nice
Cons: new beds and cleaner grounds
Wasn't clean could be a nice place with some elbow grease applied to the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marion T., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to write your comments on Expedia. We are disappointed to see that your stay in our hotel did not fully meet your expectations. We are glad to read that you liked our pool, but we apologize if our establishment did not meet your standards of cleanliness. Be sure that our employees work hard everyday to provide a safe and clean environment. Moreover, there is indeed a train running behind the hotel, some of our guests don’t mind the noise, some others find it more disturbing. Unfortunately, it is a situation that is out of our control. We are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. Hoping to see you back for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale, Marion T.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Lobby shame about the rest.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The Reception Area
Oh my oh my. I have travelled throughout the US and normally you get what you pay for. I have no problem staying in a 30$ a night motel but the Universal Palm hotel was a massive disappointment . The images suggest a really nice venue and on first walking in to the hotel the impression is that the hotel ,more or less, matches the 95$ a night ( without breakfast) fee,but on walking into the hotel rooms area one realises... this was a big mistake. The back stair area when walking up to the rooms is just short of squalid. The rooms next to the very busy highway are beyond noisy,(the fact that a national freight train line is about 50m from the hotel adds to the noise... and the train drivers sound the horn every 20 minutes through the night). The drug deals going on next to the pool and the stairwells were interesting to watch ( the whole hotel is open people being easily able to walk off the street... which they do). Again I make reference to 30$ a night motels... for 30$ you expect drug deals etc. As for the rooms, they were satisfactory, a little tired but clean. To conclude. The absolute maximum that I would expect to may for a room in this hotel would be 60$ in high season. I would not recommend it as a venue for a single woman or family, even though there were several families using the hotel. The images certainly do not reflect the current quality of the hotel. there is also a massively annoying charge for the safe box even if you don't use it. AVOID
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marion T., Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate us on Expedia. We are sincerely sorry to know that your experience with us has not met your expectations. We would like to let you know that the comments of our customers are really important to us. Many of our guests appreciate our location because of our proximity to major highways. Indeed, there is a train running behind the hotel, some of our guests don’t mind the noise, some others find it more disturbing. Unfortunately, it is a situation that is out of our control. We are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay. Moreover, our clients’ safety is a priority, we are sorry if you were under the impression that someone could be in danger in our establishment. That is not the case, and we have several security measures put in place to assure everyone’s safety. Families are absolutely welcome in our hotel, and should feel like it too! As for the safe box, the $2 fees are always included in the price of your room, since it is a service that is a part of every room. Best regards, Marion T.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Pictures are Deceiving!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly! That's about it
Cons: Please improve everything
Location: I drove to Lauderdale By The Sea everyday , and to Hollywood Beach. That is where I will stay next time.
This hotel needs to be updated and cleaned. The carpeting in the room was dirty and had lots of stains. The drapes were also old and dirty. My daughter and I got up every morning and left the hotel, we basically just slept there. The room and hotel was depressing. A friend told me don't stay there it's "Universal Dump" , I should have listen!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us on Expedia. We are really glad to read that the service of our employees met your expectations. We will surely pass them your good words! However, we are truly sorry to see that the room we assigned you did not meet your standards of comfort and cleanliness. We must say that some of our guests find the location quite convenient as it is nearby the main road and airports. We are sorry you did not. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you may live during your stay. Best regards, Marie-Pier R.D.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth 179.00. If the rate of was $89 then yes

Posted Apr 10, 2017
It was just okay not worth the price. No breakfast and it was in the hood
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D., Hotel Management
First of all, we thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Expedia. It is disappointing to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. As we do not have a lot of details about what did please you or did not, it is hard to answer your review properly. We are sorry you found our price unrepresentative of the service you received and that the location seemed to displease you as well. Some of our guests do find it convenient as it is near from highways and airports. Once again, we apologize for all the inconvenience you may have lived during your stay. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Definitely not a 3 star hotel, No fridge in the room, , noisy bed , very close to a railway junction which honking starts at 5 am and woke us everyday, not a comfortable check in & out time : check in 3pm and check out at 11am
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Marie-Pier R.D., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to write on Expedia about your last experience in our hotel. We are truly sorry to read about your disappointment. We are sorry that the room we assigned you did not meet your expectations. For future notice, if your room does not please you, you can always ask for another one. Also, we do have some rooms with fridge available if needed. We appreciate that you took the time to write to us about it. We duly take note of your comments and will address the issues directly. Best regards, Marie-Pier R.D.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pool is nice. However, the bar and restaurant do not open until 5pm!!! Vending machine with refreshments was out of order! There is no gift shop, no room service. Noisy at night with people and nearby train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Marion T., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us on Expedia, our guests’ opinion is really important for us. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated our pool! We are sorry if the restaurant’s business hours did not satisfy you, however, we do not manage it, but we will be happy to pass your comment to their management team. We apologize if you encountered some issues regarding the train, indeed, there is one running behind the hotel, some of our guests don’t mind the noise, others find it more disturbing. It is an annoying situation that is, unfortunately, out of our control. We hope it did not affect your appreciation of your stay and we surely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel soon, Marion T.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

look

Posted Apr 5, 2017
pictures don't provide the actual appearance of the hotel, it looks like they were taken right after they remodeled of something. which it was long time ago..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Mélissa B., Hotel Management
We are truly sorry to read that your experience at our hotel did not fully meet your expectations. We are disappointed to read that you believe our pictures are not representative of the experience we offer to our customers. We do believe that they represent our hotel but we apologize for the misunderstanding it may have caused you. Best regards, Mélissa B.