Ratings based on 1,155 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Awesome Location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: The room was great and beds were awesome
Cons: Free parking options
Location: Lots to do along the water front, great bars, and resturants all within a few minutes walk, and the beach was right across the street.
The W Hotel is in the perfect spot right in the middle of the Lively Waterfront area of Fort Lauderdale. Everything was great, the only disappointment was the lack of Free Breakfast, and The lack of any type of option for free parking. The food at the hotel is way overpriced, and the $41 a night parking was out right ridiculous. The $32 a day resort charge should have certainly included parking in it. Loved the hotel, hated the additional forced costs. So when booking consider adding $73 a night to the daily rate. Made this hotel way more costly than other options along the water with the same or better amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Fantastic time at the W steps from the beach

Posted Jun 6, 2017
This was our first kid free vacation in 16 years and we were also celebrating our anniversary so making the right choice on where to stay was key !!! There are dozens of places to choose from in Fort Lauderdale, however, we chose the W as it stood out from the others with its modern design, great location and new renovations. We were not disappointed. The lobby was absolutely stunning. The staff extremely kind and helpful. Our stay was amazing and we would absolutely recommend staying at the W. Gorgeous attention to detail made us feel like celebrities. The pool area was a stunner too. Can't wait to go back !! Love love love the W
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean front is the best!!!

Posted May 27, 2017
Anniversary!!! 19floor ocean front. Beautiful view!!! Missing it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello Manoel & Mary, Happy Anniversary! We are thrilled to hear that you had special anniversary surrounded by beautiful scenery in your ocean front room. We hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Haley D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A Beautiful Beach Front Party Hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The fitness center, the rooms, the lobby bar and rooftop deck, the proximity to the beach, the proximity to other restaurants and trendy night clubs.
Cons: The service was spotty. On the weekend, it was very slow. On the weekdays, it was OK. Needs better room service and longer pool ours (closes at 8pm).
Location: Excellent location. It's close to everything. Steps from the beach. Steps from 4 and 5 star restaurants. Steps from trendy night clubs.
Overall, this is an amazing hotel. It has beautiful, trendy looking rooms. 2 very nice pools on their "Wet Deck," with plenty of lounging areas. The fitness center is the most complete I've seen in a hotel. It even has a heavy punching bag and speed bag. To get to the beach, all you have to do is cross the street and you are there. It takes about a minute to go from the ground floor exit to the calm waves of the Atlantic Ocean. The lobby bar, which they call the "Living Room," has a very nice bar which leads out to an open air rooftop deck overlooking the ocean. This hotel has it all.The only negatives about it are the slow service. First, our rooms weren't ready at check-in time. Second, on the weekend when the hotel was at capacity, it took an hour to get ice delivered to the room because they were short on ice buckets. Also, the maids didn't clean the room until about 5pm each day. But, the service did improve a bit on the week days when the hotel wasn't as crowded. Still, this is a great hotel and I recommend it for anyone looking for a beach front resort on Fort Lauderdale beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello Stephen, Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and all the fab features that makes W Fort Lauderdale a Conde Nast Top 20 Hotel in Florida. It sounds like you loved reveling in our bold oceanfront WET Deck and sipping on delicious cocktails at our Living Room bar and oceanfront terrace. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! All the best, Haley D
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Poorly designed rooms

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The W was a decent hotel but I wouldn't stay there again because the bathrooms in the guest rooms don't have doors. This is very awkward if you're not alone because the other person can see and hear everything you are doing in the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello DS, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that design elements of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand that the design may not be for everyone, and truly appreciate your feedback. All the best, Haley D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Close to the beach. Great location for Tortouga

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great location for Tortuga music festival. Awesome pool. Excellent ocean view from balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear how much you loved our central location to Tortuga Music Festival as well as our fab amenities like our oceanfront WET East pool deck. The electric scene from our balconies are unrivaled, and it sounds like you loved soaking in the ocean views. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All the best, Haley D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Nice Romantic Hotel... perfect for couples

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Best part was the room. Joe the Sushi Chef went out of his way to welcome us to the Hotel.
Location: Walking distance to many restaurant and stores on the strip. The beach is right accross the street
Had a great time. Room was perfect, restaurant served great food as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. Only complaint I have, however small it is, is that there was no directory of Hotel Services in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello Marc, Thank you for your incredible review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your romantic escape at W Fort Lauderdale. Sounds like you loved the elevated design and new amenities from our $55 million restyle. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! All the best, Haley D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Great hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great hotel. Clean, comfortable room w awesome view of the ocean. Pool area was incredible! Very swanky and upper class yet accommodating to children. My wife and I only regret was not bringing my mother in law to watch our baby so we could party later at night at the pool ha! Also, the hotel staff was very accommodating to our 3 our early check in with a 10 month old. However 4 o'clock check in is rather late. Will definitely be booking a longer stay at this hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Haley D, Hotel Management
Hello AJ, Thanks for this fab review on your recent stay. Sounds like your favorite part was soaking it in at our iconic oceanfront WET Deck with infinity-style pool. Cool down with hot beats from our live DJ on Saturdays and Sundays. We can't wait to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future! All the best, Haley D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We stay at the hotel 7 days The staff was very friendly and helpful Very nice atmosphere by the beach. We will go again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Haley D., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for such a glowing review. Sounds like your escape with us was amazing. We can't wait to have you back. All the best, Haley D.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Confusing Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the location and the food at the pool. The staff were all friendly and top notch, this does help make up for some of the other issues.
Cons: Noise reducing material between the rooms, especially the tvs. Provide lanyards for your key to make it easier when going to the pool and beach.
Location: Quiet end of the beach but close to area restaurants, water taxi, beach, Galleria mall, etc.
The W is a little confusing when you first arrive as they don't have a traditional entrance and you have to use multiple elevators to gain access to your room. The rooms are a little noisy from both adjoining and hallway noise a bit more than expected from a hotel of this caliber. The $55 million renovation seems to be new carpet, paint, and a new pool deck, we didn't notice much else. The multiple elevator situation and the constant use of your room key to get around the hotel, elevator and public area doors, makes for a pain especially when you are in your bathing suit and have to keep your key with you at all times as this is a beach front hotel. Still undecided if we will return this was our second attempt. We had a rough check in but the front desk did alleviate the situation. Beach chairs were included in the daily resort fee a big plus compared to some other hotels nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Haley D., Hotel Management
Hello Rob, Thank you for your review. Looks like you got to enjoy our $55 million dollar renovation that includes a completely new ground level welcome experience, Welcome Desk, Living Room & Living Room Terrace, Sushi Bar and of course all of our guest rooms with floor to ceiling redesigns. We hope you also got to experience our 24/7 FIT Gym, beach bikes, beach lounge chairs & umbrella and bootcamp and yoga classes on the beach - all included as part of our resort fee. We hope you visit us again real soon. All the best, Haley D.