Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

recommended by a relative

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Convenient to Fort Lauderdale beach.
Cons: Good shopping in Fort Lauderdale and surrounds. Some nice restaurants and bars along the main strip next to the beach.
Quite a spacious apartment with basic furniture and facilities. Insufficient crockery, cutlery and utensils, even for two people. Floor was dirty. Swimming pools were small but kept clean, although one overlooked the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised. We couldn't understand how anyone could be unhappy about this place. A nice, easy four block walk to the beach, very reasonably priced, and a nice restaurant just down the street. Quite spacious with a full kitchen ad full size refrigerator. We didn't arrive until 2 am and they waited around to check us in. A little dated and could use a few small repairs but overall we really liked it. Would definitely stay again and certainly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a nice place away from the expensive high risers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

In terrible need of updating

Posted Mar 28, 2017
On the positive- Hotel is relatively inexpensive and walking distance to the beach. The decor is very outdated, and worn out. There are no curtains on the windows, only cheap blinds, so the outside lights at night and the morning sun are blinding. Our A/C did not work well, the ceiling fan was broke, and only one electrical outlet in the whole room worked. When we checked into the room we instantly smelled gas, the stove was on! Staff was rude and most spoke little English.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Market, MD

Outdated and needs rooms need help!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Staff was pleasant but the room was terrible. I was in the "King suite" room 206. Immediately entering the room I was overcome with the smell of bleach. They heavily bleached this room. There is no carpet in the floor so it is cold. The room is very large but feels empty. The bathroom was a disaster. Peeling paint, shower head pieces hanging, black stuff growing around the window, window won't stay up and etc. The kitchen has broken tile and was outdated. If I was 21 and needed a place for Spring Break I guess this would do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Clean, and Quiet!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
What a great stay. Perfect location, quiet and close to the beach, comfortable and clean. My search for a hotel in Ft. Lauderdale led me to Winterset and I would gladly stay here again. It hit all of my requirements without breaking the bank. Excellent choice!
4 out of 5
by Pamela M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Very nice hotel close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Close to beach, airport, cruise terminal. Great restaurants nearby, within walking distance.
We actually didn't expect much of a room so we were very happy that it turned out to be so nice and spacious. We used the pool daily and the hot tub once. Staff were eager to help by recommending great restaurants and giving directions. We didn't stay long because of commitments but hope to come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Lisa (Winterset), Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by Linda

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Appears to be well taken care of, however the floor slants and the bathroom floor was dirty. Needs some updating. But if your not to fussy, great place.
4 out of 5
by Darin

acceptable trade-offs for the low price

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
First the good. The staff is awesome! Super professional, cordial, friendly and all anxious to help. The outdoor grounds are nice, including the pools, BBQ grills, foliage and landscaping, hot tubs, etc. Location is three blocks from beach and heart of Fort Lauderdale beach scene. My room was very clean. The bad: room was very minimal. No furniture other than a bed and dresser, fridge. No chair or desk. The ugly: the noise from other rooms was too much at times. Walls are thin and I could hear my neighbor's TV every night and every morning. Net net, I might stay at this place on pure leisure in a situation where I am gone most of the time, out late in the evening, etc. Would need a bigger room with kitchen. Because pricing was low, I was not disappointed. If you want nicer in this area, then you are going to have to pay more. But if minimalist room and some minor inconvenience of noise are okay, then this place is totally acceptable and a safe bet. I would give comfort a higher score if not for the thin walls. Did I say I liked the staff?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the feedback we hope you come and stay with us again!