Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Major Construction going on

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Couldn't use most of the facilities because of major construction. Not pleasant to sit at pool and hear saws running for 8 hours a day. In a few month the place may be nice. Not right now (11/2016). We had 2 bdroom "condo" which was great for family: Full kitchen, two baths, etc. Beach was walking distance and very nice. Didn't like hard sell at check-in to attend 1 hour time share seminar. We said no 10 times but they kept pushing us to attend. Room smelled musty and shower leaked all over the floor every time we used it. Large kitchen did have everything that was needed. Staff was friendly. It was OK but probably won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't stay here

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Under construction no place to park and not beach front except for a few room. Room was smaller then expected especially for the price. I would not stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from homestead flordia

Location, location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This is our second time we are staying here and will be back again soon. The hotel is in a winning position because of the proximity to the beach. It's very simple, modest building, has everything you need - pools, somenheated, outdoor jacuzzi, small gym, small cafeteria
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place to stay for the money.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Multiple pools and hot tubs left us a more personal expieriemce. After hours use was lax. Staff were helpful on all needs. Everything in the hotel was in working and good condition.
Cons: Tiki bar closed at 9p. Would've liked standard bar hours and onsite food. The timeshare pitch at check in was also a bit annoying.
Location: Delivery restaraunts suffice but outside dining seemed all a drive away. We went. Early jet skiing and the ocean is just across the street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Altho' my purpose for the trip was not for vacation, I found the place suitable for a grand vacation. On check-in, I was upgraded to a 2-bedroom unit complete with amenities including jacussi - good for 4-5 person family. The place was very comfortable and quiet for rest and sleep - exactly what I needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Finland

Negative surprise

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Good location, close to beach. Nice pool. Room was ok with size (studio). Vanessa on service desk was nice and friendly, otherwise service standard quite low.
Cons: Outdated, pictures give wrong impression! Room was smelling old (mould?), air condition is really loud and air is uncomfortable (clothes started to smell bad and they felt uncomfortable). No daily room cleaning! Says its a beach and tennis resort, but tennis service is provided by some other company and it costs! No flexibility on check out time. We were also worried of bed bugs because my girlfriend started to get these weird spots on her skin. Bed was really BAD (old, and mattress was really soft, also they had put some wooden parts under the mattress to keep it more stable or something)!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good stay, nice room, no huge issues

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Spacious, had kitchenette and laundry. This survey is forcing me to write me text in the review. I don't appreciate that.
Cons: Room smelled strange every time we entered. This survey is forcing me to write me text in the review. I don't appreciate that.
Location: We mostly traveled to do stuff outside the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Shoddy, run down, bugs!!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I've stayed at Wyndam properties in Hawaii, California, Florida & Oregon. The accommodations were beautiful, spotless & quiet. Sea Garden was awful. I checked out after one night. Mold, peeling caulking, BUGS. Asking for refund. Glad I bought trip insurance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Wyndham, Hotel Management
We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with the room cleanliness. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank you for making us aware.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ber-Rendia from Atlanta

Just dropped in, not my top pick!

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
The size of my room was great. It was not completely clean. Trash was full. Only a small deli on location with very little selection, no hot food unless an event is being held.