Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Love the service.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Service
Comfortable, spacious, clean. Staff are well trained, naturally courteous
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Audra M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the Merit Hotel and Suites. We are happy to hear that you found the room comfortable and our staff courteous. We look forward to hosting you again. All the best, Audra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: staff are good
Cons: just the fan in the rooms to be more quieter
Location: everything is very accessible
Overall the our stay was good with the exception of AC Fan. It was a bit loud so every time it comes on it wakes you up and its hard to go back to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Cheap hotel. you get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Beds were hard and uncomfortable WiFi was absolutely atrocious, could barely get emails Room service menu was a fraction of the actual restaurant menu and grossly over priced. There was more but I recommend that you stay away. when I brought up these issues I didn't get an apology or discount or anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that the beds were uncomfortable. Our beds are something that we normally receive the most positive feedback on. Regarding the room service menu selection being limited that too is surprising to hear as the room service selection is identical to the in restaurant menu. I can only presume that perhaps an item that you wanted had run out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Always stay at this hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, upgrades & underground parking
Location: Good location. Right across Red Arrow depot if anyone comes into the city that way.
Great experience. Staff was excellent. Since it was cold the heated underground parking is nice! Good location with an attached restaurant. Definitely would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Hi Sharon Thanks for your review. We look forward to hosting you next time your in the area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Underground parking and the staff.
Cons: Take better care of the details / presentation of the room. Fix things that need to be fixed.
Saw a rating of 4 stars for this hotel on TripAdvisor, and the pictures of the room / hotel were very nice so booked it. Great to have the underground parking - the front staff were excellent - very efficient, friendly and helpful. It was the room that was disappointing. Both sinks were slow to drain (partially plugged) - the shower curtain was ripped, the toilet seat lid was partially pulled off. The room was a bit dated. Clean though. There were 3 adults booked to stay in the room and there was only towelling for 2. Shouldn't have to phone and request more linens when it was booked as 3 adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. I'm very sorry to hear about the drainage and towel issues during your stay. We value this sort of feedback as by sharing it with our team we can work towards improvement & get issues resolved.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Stay was very nice, staff were polite Very helpful....great room CLEAN.food was also very good, had a great stay looking forward to my next stay ...had no problems...would be proud to stay there again...thank you Staff....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review Richard. Your comments will be shared with the team as all comments are and we look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
This is where I always stay in Fort Mac. Close to Showgirls and Townhall with all the other necessary amenities nearby including the Casino.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you prefer our hotel. We will look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: big rooms, amenities, lounge, restaurant, king bed
Location: close to new bar in town
Clean big room, nice amenities, great service. Nice lounge and restaurant. comfy beds; free wifi - 10% off food in restaurant or lounge
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loman

Overnight business trip to Fort McMurray

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Front desk staff member was very pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean and comfortable. exercise room was very small and not very well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2015 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were friendly. For your next visit please do make note that we offer complimentary gym passes to the large gym across the street from us for those guests that find our onsite fitness room to be insufficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The Merit exceeded my expectations. Staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was up to date and well supplied. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2015 by Nuwan E, Hotel Management
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you next time your in the area.