Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Clean, with a great FREE breakfast! decent location and close to the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Staff was friendly, it was clean and quiet. Underground parking was nice to have.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
I don't know but our workers were there for a few days and were happy with hotel and service at all and easy access to main highway.
4 out of 5
by Kylene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Didn't clean the room everyday. Thin walls can hear everything
5 out of 5
by John

Comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Merit hotel is a well maintained facility which provides comfortable rooms with a heater/air conditioner which works. It provided me exactly what I needed for my business trip to McMurray
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Big Room = Happier Family

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Our room was nice and big, the staff was friendly, hotel was in a great location.
Cons: Email notifications when hotel facilities aren't working. Making sure that maps are up to date. Description of hotel amenities is properly described
Location: movies, indoor swimming, fitness drop in, climbing wall, concerts, and golfing
Our overall stay at the Merit Hotel was a bit disappointing. Thankfully our disappointment wasn't due to the lack of cleanliness or rude staff, in fact, my family of 4, found our room to be nice and big, the staff was friendly. To also have a microwave, fridge and sink in our room is always a bonus. The location of the hotel was in a great location, not far from restaurants, shopping or other entertainment. When we first came into Fort McMurray, we use the Expedia map to find our hotel, which we quickly found out was wrong. Fortunately, we could see our hotel from the spot it had sent us. After travelling 6.5 hours to reach our designation, we were all ready to have a long soak in the hot tub only to find it closed. It wasn't just closed for the day, it had been closed for over a week and the hotel staff didn't think it would be opened anytime soon. This would have been nice to know before our arrival date, and could have book somewhere different. Email notifications are easily sent out theses days. One of the main things I look for in a hotel when booking is the pool/hot tub and if it's not available, I will look else where. The other thing I look for is the free breakfast. The breakfast offered at the Merit is a cold breakfast, which is fine, but it was not stated in the description of the room, so if you were wanting a waffles, some scrabbled eggs etc, then the Merit isn't for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta

Nice landing spot.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Had a suite. Room was very clean and comfortable, Red Arrow bussing is right across the street ready for you to make your escape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Audra , Hotel Management
Good afternoon Nate, Thanks for reviewing the Merit Hotel and Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Audra M
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torbay, NL

Very generic - nothing special

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This place was ok but nothing special. Service so so. The complimentary breakfast was set up but when I went, there was not a soul around to help. There were a few other guests at a table but it just felt odd. No atmosphere whatsoever....would rather give my $ to another place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Audra , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Merit Hotel and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast during your stay. Due to the loss of our restaurant, we are currently running a self serve buffet style breakfast. Even though an attendant isn't always present, the front desk is always happy to help! All the best, Audra M.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Great hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel, underground parking and downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you for your review Brian! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again! All the Best, Audra M.