Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
I don't know but our workers were there for a few days and were happy with hotel and service at all and easy access to main highway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Didn't clean the room everyday. Thin walls can hear everything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Big Room = Happier Family

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Our room was nice and big, the staff was friendly, hotel was in a great location.
Cons: Email notifications when hotel facilities aren't working. Making sure that maps are up to date. Description of hotel amenities is properly described
Location: movies, indoor swimming, fitness drop in, climbing wall, concerts, and golfing
Our overall stay at the Merit Hotel was a bit disappointing. Thankfully our disappointment wasn't due to the lack of cleanliness or rude staff, in fact, my family of 4, found our room to be nice and big, the staff was friendly. To also have a microwave, fridge and sink in our room is always a bonus. The location of the hotel was in a great location, not far from restaurants, shopping or other entertainment. When we first came into Fort McMurray, we use the Expedia map to find our hotel, which we quickly found out was wrong. Fortunately, we could see our hotel from the spot it had sent us. After travelling 6.5 hours to reach our designation, we were all ready to have a long soak in the hot tub only to find it closed. It wasn't just closed for the day, it had been closed for over a week and the hotel staff didn't think it would be opened anytime soon. This would have been nice to know before our arrival date, and could have book somewhere different. Email notifications are easily sent out theses days. One of the main things I look for in a hotel when booking is the pool/hot tub and if it's not available, I will look else where. The other thing I look for is the free breakfast. The breakfast offered at the Merit is a cold breakfast, which is fine, but it was not stated in the description of the room, so if you were wanting a waffles, some scrabbled eggs etc, then the Merit isn't for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta

Nice landing spot.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Had a suite. Room was very clean and comfortable, Red Arrow bussing is right across the street ready for you to make your escape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Audra , Hotel Management
Good afternoon Nate, Thanks for reviewing the Merit Hotel and Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Audra M
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torbay, NL

Very generic - nothing special

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This place was ok but nothing special. Service so so. The complimentary breakfast was set up but when I went, there was not a soul around to help. There were a few other guests at a table but it just felt odd. No atmosphere whatsoever....would rather give my $ to another place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Audra , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Merit Hotel and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast during your stay. Due to the loss of our restaurant, we are currently running a self serve buffet style breakfast. Even though an attendant isn't always present, the front desk is always happy to help! All the best, Audra M.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Great hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel, underground parking and downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you for your review Brian! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again! All the Best, Audra M.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

All amenities

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Comfortable and clean Wish I stayed longer, its lovely and very friendly stuff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Audra M, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review Mimi! We are so happy that you found our hotel to comfortable and our staff friendly. We look forward to hosting you again soon! All the best, Audra M.
5 out of 5
by Victor

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Victor, thank you for reviewing your stay at the Merit Hotel and Suites. We look forward to seeing you again! All the Best, Audra M
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very quiet hotel, No one was staying there. Breakfast was very disapponting. I didnt eat there. Staff friendly. Good underground parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing the Merit Hotel and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the continental breakfast, we understand that the options are very limited at this time and will be making some changes to the breakfast in the near future, hopefully in time for your next visit. We look forward to hosting you again, Audra M.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I came to this hotel on business and it was like a ghost town. There was about six people staying there in 400 room hotel. It was SO VERY QUIET. The rooms were standard, beds and pillow comfortable. The free breakfast was very, very basic in the old abandoned restaurant. For the price it was average. The free underground parking was a nice treat when it was -30.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing the Merit Hotel and Suites. We are pleased to read that you found the room comfortable and you were able to make use of our underground parkade. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the continental breakfast, we understand that the options are very limited at this time and will be making some changes to the breakfast in the near future, hopefully in time for your next visit. We look forward to hosting you again, Audra M.