Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Closing

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: location
The hotel is closing in a week and it shows, had I known I would not have booked there. Very run down, limited staff and limited food menu choices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel Needs Update

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The Bad:The mattress was uncomfortable and felt very old and worn out. The duvet was yellowed from sweat and dirt. I did check for bed bugs and found no evidence of them. The breakfast left a little to be desired. The bathroom could use an update but it was functional. The Good: The hotel was quiet. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The coffee was excellent. The rooms were clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HARBOUR GRACE

we had a emergency home

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: never recommend it to anyone and will be putting what happened to me on FACE BOOK within the next week
we had a family member take a heart attack we had to come back to newfoundland ASAP THE HOTEL charged me for the ROOM THAT I NEVER USED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

It was ok nothing special

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Poor service especially at the front desk ask to switch room as we made a mistake with the booking the lady at the desk wouldn't do it even tho the rooms were the same price on special for that night front desk lady said we don't have one clean and on line it was available ... so i laughed LOL shook my head and said ok thanks but never go there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

First turn coming into town.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Really old hotel. First room we had was pretty dusty and wasn't vacuumed. Just one night so whatever. Trying to go to sleep and a giant moth is flying around my daughters iPad light. The thing was huge like the size of a bat lol. My husband tried to towel whip it but kept missing it. It flew by the light and must have went into some secret passage way.... We waited about 10 minutes and the kids were freaking out so we switched to another room. The second room was much cleaner and not as dusty. It was only for one night and it was cheap so it's all good. Free breakfast in the morning and everyone there was friendly. Wouldn't plan anything more than a one night stay but it was inexpensive. Pretty sure they are tearing it all down for a car dealership in the future as it was bought out by GM. So moth portals and all I'm saying a goodbye too haha!!! if there's a next time we will pick a different hotel :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Time Close it Down.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
I have stayed at this facility regularly for a number of years now. It's to bad they are taking it down to make a car dealership.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
I had a chance to stay at the Sawridge for an overnight stay recently. My stay was very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, room was very nice and the breakfast offered was exceptional. I would not hesitate to stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Doesn't matter, hotel is closing

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Morale is low in the staff and the hotel is in the process of getting gutted...it was sold to GMC to become a showroom for their vehicles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mouse infested

Posted Nov 3, 2016
There was mouse poo in my bed. I told the staff the morning I noticed it. They said they would take care of it. When I returned the mouse poo was still in my freshly tucked bed... They didn't even change the sheets. The hotel offered me a pathetic $50 off my night stay... Terrible service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Going down hill fast

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Rooms are good size and the beds are quite good. The waitress in the pub is fantastic.
Cons: This hotel used to be great. Used to be! Currently it is grossly understaffed. Breakfast used to be fantastic now it's terrible. One waitress for the entire breakfast rush. Food is now limited to only the buffet which actually ran out of food when we were there and the waitress had to yell at the kitchen staff to do their job.
Location: Not a lot in the area, very out of the way for most activities.