Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Above average stay.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: All aspects were above average
Cons: Small table added to room so two can sit and eat.
Location: Near an amusement park, great hwy access and plenty of food plus several places that will deliver.
Hotel overall was in good condition. Only stayed one night but the room was large and comfortable. The staff very helpful. Ran late checking out and they were great about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Took way too long to sign in & the man behind the desk was way unfriendly. I call the Carlson customers's service desk & complained. They called the man, he said it was because the rooms were not ready. That was a lie. Ours rooms were ready! He never spoke to me or the other guess. The lady was having problems with the one customer & 3 other customers were waiting. The should have helped. I waited 30 minutes to be helped. The room had no warm or hot water in the sink. Fairly warm water in the shower. The rest of the room was very nice. The breakfast was exceptionally nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 29401

Hotel room was clean bathroom was small

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable location is perfect
Cons: Cleaner public areas and more attentive desk staff.
Location: Carowinds, Shopping centers, food
Room was clean, staff was not attentive or at the desk in the night or during the morning hours.Location is spot on. For as many guests as you would see in this area of town hotel could have been better cleaned and attended to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johnson City, TN

Easy hotel near Carowinds

Posted Aug 6, 2016
We booked this hotel because it is close to Carowinds and was less expensive. Overall, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was decent. It was an easy stay and good quality for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to carowinds. Room wasn't clean.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location great, room dirty, all ice machines broken, staff marginal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pgh

Decent hotel but room lacking common features

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel was nice enough but our room did not have a bathtub, only a shower. Also, and probably most annoying, there was no "fan only" feature on the a/c unit to have it run the fan continuously for the white noise. We ended up using an app on the iPad for white noise. The bathroom door was a sliding door that came out of the door frame so it made a horrible screeching noise whenever it was opened or closed and this woke up the other person sleeping in the room. The bed was comfortable and the room was ample size though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
1st room assigned to us was either already in use or had not been cleaned. Second room given smelled like smoke, and kids running around all over the place. One knocked on our door at 11:30 pm. Called front desk, reassigned another room. Third room was ok, kids running around still. We asked them twice to quiet down. Finally quiet at 1:30 am. Next day we came back to the hotel, our door was open, walked in to check and see if everything was still there, no housekeeping, no clean towels. Our key didn't work, went to desk, they didn't know what room we were given. Complained, management was out, no discounts given. No response yet from management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non-smoking floor used to be smoking floor

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff was kind. They offer complimentary cookies.
Cons: Figure out a way to remove the cigarette smoke. Never switch a smoking floor to a non-smoking floor. It's too hard to get the smell out!
Location: Carowinds is nearby.
We have had excellent results with Country Inn & Suites in the past, but were disappointed this time. When we walked into our room, which we had booked online, it felt like a kick in the face with cigarette smoke and air freshener. Not even tolerable. The hotel staff informed us that the non-smoking floor used to be a smoking floor. No other rooms were available, so we had to switch hotels which was an inconvenience. The hotel is supposedly being renovated soon, but from my experience, it is very difficult to eradicate cigarette smoke/ nicotine from an environment. The hotel staff was very nice, but unfortunately I cannot recommend the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brandon MS

Claim to be a Country Inn and Suites

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Nothing
Location: Proximity to Carowinds and a Cracker Barrel.
The place is terrible. It looked like someone splashed coffee on the bathroom walls and door and no one has bothered to clean it for years. The room smelled terrible and had cigarette burns on the counters. The room had not been modernized or updated probably since the 80's. When I asked the hotel clerk how they get away with calling themselves a Country Inn and Suites, I was told that they were bought by them and it would be a year or more before they start looking like an actual Country Inn and Suites. Not so sure. However I had already called Expedia about changing rooms one time because the first hotel we booked near Carowinds Amusement Park was an even bigger dump than this one. When I got to the front desk I found out that I had booked the wrong date because the default date on the expedia site is one week away, not the da of your search. I was thankful that Expedia was so helpful to get my date changed and picked the Country Inn and Suites by name alone and did not research it. HUGE mistake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the park

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The only upside to this hotel is the price vs proximity to Carowinds. Rooms are ok, but our bathroom looked to be a converted closet with sliding door (very small). Complimentary breakfast was not as expansive as hotels I would put in its comparative price range. Pool is small, but clean. Overall, it's closeness to the park made it a winner. Just don't get your expectations to high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We hope to get the rooms to a much higher standard at the end of the year and hope to see you next year. Thanks for staying with us!