Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Batavia NY

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The hotel was great! Beautiful view. They let us check in early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Bare Bones on a luxury price

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: We liked the location and the staff
Cons: TV's should be high-definition and it would be nice to also have a radio. Wifi is abysmally slow and spotty.
Location: There are dozens of good nearby restaurants. A 30-minute drive gets you to the dog track --- lots of fun and not expensive. Very nice beach.
These condos are located in a great spot with a huge beachfront and within walking distance to many good restaurants. Our unit was not well furnished for the price paid. The two televisions were low-definition, blurry and cutting off much of the picture. The kitchen, while useful, was bare. No spices, very few utensils and a coffee maker with no filters. Cheap all around. There is a problem with the rooftop air vent -- it loudly rattles in the slightest wine. Guests on the 10th floor asked to be moved, but we suffered through it for a week (12th floor). Also, there is virtually no soundproofing from floor to floor, so you hear your upstairs neighbors quite clearly. Our master bathroom shower was not usable because we couldn't get hot water there. We resorted to using the guest bathtub shower in a second bathroom. Don't expect to use the wifi for anything other than email. It drops out often and is very slow when connected. Certainly it is not "high speed" as advertised. The staff was very nice, but for the price paid we were disappointed with our room. It's too bad because the layout of the condo and the location showed promise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough review. While we’re glad you enjoyed our beachfront location and friendly team members, we’re disappointed to hear certain aspects of your stay did not go as expected. Our property team members are dedicated to doing whatever they can to improve your experience and we sincerely apologize for any frustrations and discomfort you may have recently experienced. Further, please know that we are continuously improving our facilities and are currently in the process of replacing the carpeting in our units and have plans to upgrade the living rooms, dining rooms, and loft areas in the future. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have the chance to visit us when these upgrades are complete so we may have the opportunity to provide you with the high level of service and personal attention that Pointe Estero is known for. If you have any questions or would like to discuss your experience further, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Front desk staff was very helpful. Condo was comfortable but could haven been cleaner. The ceiling fans needed a good cleaning and the kitchen light needed cleaned . Otherwise it was a good place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Pointe Estero Beach Resort. We’re so glad you enjoyed our friendly, helpful team members as well as our comfortable accommodations. We do apologize if the cleanliness of your accommodation was not up to par. We appreciate you reaching out to us and will certainly use your feedback to focus on areas in which we may improve. Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis in

Can't get enough of this place!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
This is our 2nd trip to Pointe Estero and we love this place we will always come here! Excellent location and the rooms are amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Pamela, Thanks for leaving us a beaming review. It’s a huge compliment to us that we’ve secured such a positive, lasting impression and that you intend to return. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your third visit! Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Easy check in/everyone extremely pleasant, spacious room/condo, bathrooms updated. Master bath extremely nice. Living room furniture dated but functional - pull out sofa needs replaced. Porch/view wonderful. Depth of beach - water to building - extremely deep with room for all types of activity - baseball long toss, football, etc. without getting in anyone's way. Beach well kept!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Pointe Estero. We’re so glad you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, friendly team members, and beachfront location. Please know that we are continuously improving our facilities and are currently in the process of replacing the carpeting in our units and have plans to upgrade the living rooms, dining rooms, and loft areas in the future. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have the chance to stay with us again soon! Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Pointe Estero

Posted Dec 23, 2017
This is 5th or 6th year here, love everything about the place from the pool, to the beach access to the friendliness of staff. The views from balcony excellent, especially sunset on south side rooms of building. Looks like they r updating carpet, great job
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. Nothing makes us happier than guests who frequent our resort and continuously have wonderful experiences. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Lake Buena Vista is the go to

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff. Paving stone parking lot
Cons: Double the time cleaning the rooms. Use fitted bottom sheets. Make sure the air conditioners blow cold air instead of just circulating the air
Location: Lake Buena Vista has been our go to home base for the last 6 trips spanning 20 years
Cleanliness of my room is what holds the largest value. Double the time spent on the cleanliness of the rooms and I would recommend. Nice Lake Buena Vista base camp but due to the Family Suite details I will pass on this stay next trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Very close to the beach. Beautiful view. Rooms were very clean and spacious perfect for a family vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Pointe Estero Beach Resort. We’re so glad you had such a wonderful stay at our resort, from the cleanliness of our spacious accommodations to those breathtaking views of the Gulf. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Long time customer disappointed

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Clean Nice furniture Convenience
Cons: More attention to aesthetic issues, noise, drinking, smoking
Location: Beach Restaurants
This will not be my annual rave about Pointe Estero........was pretty disappointed. The pros- Rooms are beautiful Convenience Most staff pleasant and accommodating The cons- Daily wake up call with carpet installers. Couldn’t sleep late ever. Surly older gentleman at the front desk. Even though the rooms are smoke free, the pool is not. Gagging daily from chain smokers. Drunken party one night,,,,,,,,,,then at the pool the next day. Too much beer, cursing etc. There are very nice, much cheaper places to stay on the island. If I am going to put out the extra money to stay at Pointe Estero I at least expect to have a quiet, nice time. I’m afraid this experience has soured me from returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Curt, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As you can imagine, we’re disappointed to hear your stay was not as enjoyable as your previous stays with us. Being a repeat guest, we hope you can view this as an isolated incident as the description you have provided is completely atypical to a standard stay at Pointe Estero. We apologize for any frustrations you were caused and hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, you will give our facilities another try. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you would like to discuss your experience further. Sincerely, Curt Brenner – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Pointe Estero right on point

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Clean - New master bath- even Gulfview suites have Oceanviews - location - pool/ hot tub - tennis
Cons: have guests get a discount on chair/umbrella rental
Awesome Sunsets! Perfect location - right on the beach, walk to restaurants & shopping.