Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orchard Park , NY

Nice accommodations centrally located

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Quaint and private with nice location. Will definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Room had an overpowering smell of cleaning products...not sure what, but it was so strong the room had to be aired out before we could actually stay in it for any length of time. After an hour or so it was better. Otherwise, it was clean, bright and quiet. A little dated, but it's the beach. It's to be expected. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Centrally located

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Cozy accommodations with a warm family feeling
Cons: Some of the furnishings were well worn
Location: Great location
Clean oasis after a long drive. Anchor Inn is located conveniently on the island. Staff was very welcoming. This inn provides a wonderful safe environment for travelers and is a unique experience for those who stay in a traditional hotel. Dog friendly too is an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Clean, comfortable hotel with "old Florida" feel.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Cons: Bed and bedding felt overused and smelled just a little old.
Location: Many things! Restaurants, hiking, kayaking, Ding Darling National Refuge, biking.
As stated above, this is a clean, comfortable hotel with the décor and feeling of "old Florida". It is conveniently located to allow walking and biking to restaurants, and the beach is within walking distance. The only thing at all disappointing was that the bed was not very comfortable and the pillows smelled kind of old, but that is a first world problem, isn't it? Would def stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice cottages

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cute and clean cottages, had everything we needed, helpful staff, love the bike trails all over the island. Just know that you are not very near the beach- 5 minute drive- 20 minute walk. The pool was heated though and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fl

nice hotel & close to beach & restaurants

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: we were there only 1 night but everyone we encountered was very nice & friendly
Cons: nothing
Location: fishing, swimming, museums, biking, hiking
We were there only one nite. Enjoyed the beach & the restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from largo florida

Relaxing weekend on Sanibel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, within walking distance to food and restaurants, nice pool, friendly staff
Cons: bed was big and comfortable, but squeaky if you sat at the end of the bed
Location: look up Sanibel Island; too many places to mention
We have stayed on Sanibel Island before, but new to this motel...surprisingly better than the website pictures! Our room was exceptionally clean as were the grounds and pool area. Had a turtle pond out back, so there weren't any noisy neighbors. Was within walking distance to a small grocery store, Dairy queen and other assorted restaurants close by. We didn't bring kids, but there are family games on the property; teatherball, horse shoes, bean bag toss, and pool toys. Even though there were families there, it was still quiet at night... until it rained. The roof is not insulated so the rain is really loud on the roof...but, remember, you are in Florida! Not far to the public beach, but keep in mind, if you come back after dark, the island doesn't have street lights...drive carefully.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One word, ROACHES!!! Nope never again!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We had a late check in brought everything in the room and went to watch the sunset and by the time we got back (1 1/2hrs later) I saw roaches by our kitchen. Office closed by then otherwise we would have checked out, but all places in surrounding area were closed. Found 4 other roaches through out the night, thankfully we were able to hide it from the kids. Just gross!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
I am sorry to see you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. I want to assure you and our future guests that this is not the norm for our property. We are located on a Nature Preserve Island that has a lot of bugs, that we treat for on a daily basis. And sometimes no matter how much we spray and treat the rooms, some little guys sneak in. Especially this time of year when there is so much rain. They are trying to escape from the rain. It's no excuse for the bugs you may of found in your room, but we do our best to prevent these kinds of things from happening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Port Richey, Fl

Nice Motel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Price was very reasonable. Staff very friendly. Room was clean AC worked great
Cons: Mattresses a little softer. Maybe nicer beach chairs (5 position) to use?
Location: Great place to rest and convenient to all the local beaches. Bowman's beach is the best for shelling. Lighthouse beach was closer but not as nice
The staff here is great. Had some trouble with my payment (my fault) but the staff was very understanding. Stayed in room 17. Large King size bed but kind of hard by my standards. Everything else was nice. Like the free use of very large beach towels. You have to request fresh linen but thats no big deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very cozy and comfortable ... close to locations of interest. Very pet friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Sales and Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us your review!! We hope to see you again in the future.