Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Excellent staff and facility

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The staff was professional and accommodating, the room was a mini suite and was quite pleasant (was even able to view alligators in the pond out back). A workout room and free laundry topped it off. Will definitely return on my next swing through the Fort Myers area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Bruce, Thank you for leaving us a awesome review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! We are more than pleased to hear you enjoyed our property and our alligators. We can't wait to see you next time you swing through the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

It was a very clean hotel, location was close to f

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Liked that it had a full size frig, and a stove for cooking. Bathroom was big and clean, room was nicely decorated. Beds were comfortable very quiet
Got in very late check in was quick and easy which was very nice since we were tired from long day of traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a great review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! We are more than happy to hear you enjoyed some of the amenities our property offers and that our staff was able to check you in quick so you could get some sleep. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was excellent

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Hotel staff was excellent and service was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2015 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a five star review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! It's awesome to hear you had a great stay at our property and the service we provided during your stay was excellent. Thank you for your business, we appreciate you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Morris, IL

Really nice hotel close to Sanibel & Captiva

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The amenities were nice. The closet in the room was huge! Bigger than my closet at home. Free laundry facility was a great bonus.
Cons: The only thing I would add is a recliner. As this is a "resident" type of hotel for longer stays, a comfy chair would have been nice.
Location: Sanibel & Captiva Islands
I have no idea why this hotel is only 2 stars? It was very nice inside and out. The staff? WOW, every staff member that I came into contact with was extremely polite and friendly. The free laundry was a nice bonus, didn't have to pack wet beach towels & swimsuits. I don't have one single negative thing to say. Great job!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2015 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Jill, Thank you for leaving us a five star review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel inside and out. We do apologize about your room not having a recliner available, if in the future you stay with us please let us know so we can have one moved to your room for you. It's awesome to hear we exceeded your expectations in every way. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TREVOR from ENGLEWOOD

HOTELS .COM CHANGED MY ROOM TYPE

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
ROOM WAS NOT WHAT WE BOOKED. I HAD ORIGINALLY BOOKED A SUITE WITH A SEPARATE BEDROOM,BUT HAD TO CHANGE DATES. HOTELS.COM CHANGED BOOKING FOR ME ,BUT ALSO MANAGED TO CHANGE ROOM TYPE TOO ! ENDED UP WITH A SKANKY ROOM, THAT WAS NOT VERY CLEAN ! ALWAYS BOOK THRO' HOTELS.COM -- NOT VERY HAPPY THIS TIME. RESPONSE FROM HOTELS.COM WOULD BE APPRECIATED.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Thomas from Sebring

Beach bound

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. Can't say anything bad about hotel. Great service, clean room, nice linens and a big bathroom. I will stay there from now on when I'm staying in Ft Myers. It was also less than 10 minutes from Sanibel Island and Ft Myers beach. Only problem it was a little hard to find, you may want to call ahead to get directions
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Thomas, Thank you so much for your fantastic five star review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! We are more than happy to hear you enjoyed your room during your stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed our surrounding areas. We appreciate your business and your feedback and look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area! Nicole Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr gutes Hotel in ruhiger Lage.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Zimmerausstattung, Lage
Während einer Floridarundreise übernachteten wir zwei Nächte in diesem Hotel. Da unser Budget nicht all zu üppig war, suchten wir nach günstigen Hotels. Von allen war dies das Beste. Es gab wirklich nichts daran auszusetzen. Die Zimmer sind zwar nicht groß, es ist aber alles da was man braucht. Sehr guter Ausgangspunkt um die Gegen um Ft. Myers zu erkunden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2015 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway! It's great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you were able to explore the Fort Myers area. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Need to update computer/billing. Noisy with kids running around all over different floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review of our property. We have updated our computers and billing we apologize if you experienced an issue during your stay. We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Our stay over all was good. Quiet. What we didn't like was the fact that the bed was against the wall (odd room layout). Never have I seen this in a hotel before. Kitchenette was nice to have. We also didn't like the fact that people were always smoking in front of the main door, so you always had to walk through it. It is against the law in Florida to smoke 50 feet of a door, however the hotel allowed smoking near the door and encouraged it by putting a ashtray 35 feet from the door. We didn't go to the pool area because people were always smoking out there too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Nicole- Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Laura, Thank you for leaving us a fantastic review of our hotel the Candlewood Suites- Fort Myers/ Sanibel Gateway. We do apologize about other guests smoking right out in front of the entryway, there are signs that prohibit smoking within 50 feet of the door. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. We hope to see you next time you're in the area.