Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and in the village

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Clean, funky.
This hotel is kind of funky, certainly not for those who want a resort atmosphere. But, if you like a little spot next to the restaurants and beach, without the pretense, this is the perfect spot. We loved it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, Florida

Clean room close to the beach but a little pricey.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: I think I captured it above.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier and more attentive to issues brought to their attention. Sofa bed could use a new mattress. More blankets.
Location: Excellent location. Shopping, Starbucks, beach, restaurants all within walking distance.
The location of this property is very good as it is close to the beach and the amenities of Captiva Island. The concern I had was that the sofa bed, which I had to sleep on, was not comfortable and we had to request bedding for it which wasn't a real drama but we only figured that out after the office was closed the first night! I feel it was over priced compared to other cottages in the area but the location is probably the key reason for the price. There was an awful smell of something that I thought was sewer gas which was bad enough that we couldn't enjoy the table outside the cottage. I reported this to the front desk staff who didn't appear to be too concerned or willing to do anything to check into it. The cottage itself was spacious and the maid service was good. The bed in the bedroom was good according to my other guest that slept there. I had called in advance to inquire about the sofa sleeper and the staff person that I spoke to was not overly friendly since I booked through Expedia instead of through them directly. I am very familiar with this business and feel that customer service is key but I guess not everyone supports that!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The cottage was cute, clean and comfortable. I would like to have sat out on the little porch but the whole area smelled like a septic tank. Upon opening the door to the cottage, the little sitting room where the TV was also smelled of septic. When we checked out, I mentioned this to the clerk and apparently they have this complaint about this cottage (Sunflower) because it is next to the restauraunt. I read in another review about this but didn't know which one it was. If this is a frequent complaint, why rent it or at least put a disclaimer somewhere. For the nightly fee that they charge, I would not stay here again because smelling septic is not what I paid for. I don't know if the other cottages have that problem but I am not taking the chance again. Aside from that, the bistro has great food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Funky little 'cottage' near great beach

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was included in price at either of two very nice restaurants. Small but private pool area. Live music at nearby restaurants. Great location.
Location: The location was great. Beach was a short walk down the street, several great restaurants were just steps away as were some nice shops.
I stayed 3 nights at this cottage complex in March 2017. As a solo traveler, I was assigned to what had to be their tiniest cottage, "The Love Shack". The main room was mostly taken up by the queen sized bed. The adjacent bathroom was up three steps and contained a sink with mirror mounted so high I could only see the top of my head ( I am a 5' tall woman), a decent shower, toilet, small storage unit with bins. I would have liked shelves for toiletries. I realize that I came in high season, but I was disappointed by the size and comfort of this room for the price I paid.The things I liked about this place ( see below) did not offset the negatives. I would not recommend based on that, but in fairness, I did not see any other rooms and they might be more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Cool funky cottage close to beach.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Free and good breakfasts at either of two restaurants right near the cottage.
Location: Close to beach, restaurants and shopping.
Five minute walk to the beach or shopping. Restaurants were good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, relaxed, old style Floridian vacation.

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed swimming, walks on the beach, relaxing accommodations, idyllic pool setting, nearby restaurants, friendly staff everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great Location

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Loved where the inn was but our cottage was too funky old for me. The decor was unsophisticated and totally not me but It was spotless and comfortable. Staying in the inn might have been better. Loved the location. Short walk to beach and about 4 cool restaurants right there on the same street, all with outdoor venues and live music day and night. Cool, soft, great music. And Captiva is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, MA

Location was the BEST! Walk to beach & restaurants

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A cute cottage with a fabulous location. It was private and we could walk to the beach with the best sunset on Captiva, and very fine restaurants (Key Lime Bistro & Bubble Room). Breakfast at your choice of two restaurants was included. The pool was warm and refreshing. Room was kept clean. Beach chairs were available. Could also walk to bay but no access for swimming. Overall it offered a relaxing and fun time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you come again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jaroslaw

Gotta tell you A plus five stars

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay staff was excellent the breakfast was unbelievable weather was great absolutely nothing went wrong we sat on our porch for hours hugging talking it was wonderful the place is just wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon