Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Great location on the beach in Sanibel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Very nice large one bedroom suite (big enough to live in with full kitchen, screened in balcony, separate powder room etc) with ocean/sunset views located right on the beach. It seemed at first like a destination resort where one could just stay and not leave until it was time to go home. There is a lovely (small) pool with an awesome bar and cookout. The Chef there is totally the star of the place offering a large range of hot food to eat by the pool and even tasty healthy wraps which was a lovely treat instead of the usual holiday fattening burger and fries. There was also a separate baby/toddler pool. We only stayed one night as we were doing a driving trip around Florida for the holidays, but we are not ones for just hanging around a hotel. There were two things that frustrated me about this resort: there was NO room service (we had to collect the food ourselves from the restaurant which can be a little inconvenient when you have two small tired and cranky children) and they also don't serve breakfast. Shocked that the waitress in the restaurant there couldn't even point us in the direction to drive to get breakfast. Great location for cycling to the Lighthouse... Bicycles of all shapes and sizes can be rented out (for a small fee) from the hotel. Please note the lighthouse is further than you think! The map is a little deceiving. At least we got a good workout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Team Casa Ybel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and are proud to inform that we are serving breakfast daily Monday through Saturday and Classic Sunday Brunch at our Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant. We hope you'll join us again and stay a little longer to enjoy all the wonderful things Sanibel has to offer. Warm regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel just fine; problems with office staff.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Nice big room; decent ocean view; nice large grassy area between room and beach.
Cons: Either more staffing at office or better training of office staff.
Location: Location is just fine and lots of nature and bird watching available as well as recreation such as kayaking.
Check-in was fine; but room keys did not work second day of three-day stay. It was a long walk to office from room. There was only one person on duty and she made me wait by taking telephone calls instead of preparing new keys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central MA

Nice location and beach, but rooms dark

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds, location on beach and pool area
Cons: Brighten up rooms. Clearly state this is a mixed hotel and timeshare/ownership
Location: Nice location on beach. Sanibel is all about quiet, and this was case here
If you are looking for a full 4 star hotel, you don't have it. Want a beach chair - pay for it. Want a nice yoga session, pay for it. It is partially a hotel and mostly owner owned. The room was clean with beautiful view, however dark. Needed lights during day to walk down halls. Ours came with 3 light bults out of their sockets. Pool - a pre Christmas day, and they ran out of towels, to find a chair was a another challengs. Overall visit was ok, but not what we were lookng for. Most people at the pool seemed to know one another, getting together with their owned property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maintenance Issues

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We experienced AC problems the entire stay, the maintenance staff did respond but provided no communication and did not resolve the issue. When describing the issue to the staff when checking out, there was complete disregard for our comments. We did get a follow up call apologizing and offering to provide a $100 credit. The facility has an excellent location and their restaurant was the best we experienced during our stay in Sanibel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by CYR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for the maintenance issue and thank you for the wonderful comments on our location and restaurant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not up to par!!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The location. Coconuts.
Cons: When I spend the money I did for a special occasion, I expect to be in a 1st class resort - and not be blown off by the staff when I have a complaint
Spent 4 nights, 11/3 to 11/7. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. For the nightly rate ... Extremely Disappointed! TV in bedroom was unwatchable due to the "snow". Neither TV was HD. That is pretty standard these days. The handle on the fridge was broken (falling off). We were unable to get towels at the pool on Saturday. The young man who was suppose to be handing out the towels said they were understaffed due to call-offs. After two hours of not being able to get a towel, I asked to speak with a manager. I was informed there was not one on duty (really??). The outdoor bar / restaurant, Coconuts, and its staff was very good. My long weekend at Casa Ybel reminded me of time spent at an average time-share, not an expensive resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
great location. great shells. great view of the water. would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Bring your own pillow.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
For the price of this hotel they should have feather pillows or fake feather pillows or foam pillows something that is soft and not gigantic or hard I had to sleep with no pillow because all of them were way too big for my neck with an injury and not one of them was soft and we had six of them in our room all the same. We had another room for the second night because we stayed another night and the pillows were exactly the same so bring your own pillow .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very relaxing

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel is very nice and the grounds are perfectly kept, a very relaxing atmosphere. We rented a one bedroom which had 2 queen beds making the room very cramped. The bathroom was a bit odd, with entries from 2 sides, but all in all a nice comfortable place. We will definitely return but will go with a 2 bedroom layout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Nice hotel on beach.

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The gounds are lovely, people friendly and the location excellent. Loved the full kitchen and his and her sinks/bathroom space.
Cons: The sofa needs to be upgraded - don't call it a bed, it is not. Most of the pillows were terrible. Respect do not disturb sign when posted.
Location: The hotel is located on a lovely stretch of beach. It is only a couple of miles from the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge.
My husband and I just returned from a one week vacation at Casa Ybel. We had a great time and the hotel, grounds and staff were very nice. However, the rooms need a little tweaking. The carpeting in our room showed staining and wear. Our unit was far from the pool, which we actually liked. It gave us the desired peace and quiet. We had a one bedroom suite with full kitchen and lovely screened in deck with tables and chairs. The room is meant to sleep four between the bedroom and the provided sofa bed. If you like your friends and/or family members, do not give them the sofa bed. The sofa bed in the suite has been around for a very long time. Cumbersome and uncomfortable would be putting it mildly. They charge by the day or week for use of beach umbrella and chairs, which was surprising. Pool chairs and umbrellas are included, but for my part, not as nice as being on the beach. Very loud A/C - but it worked great! There are black out curtains in the living room, but none in the bedroom, where it is bright as day at night. Don't forget your sleep mask. All in all a nice place - the grounds are exceptional and there are frequent weddings held on site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

50th high school reunion

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: better pillows and less noisy air conditioner,
Location: great restaurants
Beautiful room and location. Housekeeping staff excellent. Close to restaurants, gift shops, groceries. Pillows are a HORROR. Due to neck and asthma problems I brought my own. Unfortunately, i forgot them and called immediately for someone to retrieve them and hold them aside. There were 2 expensive standard feather pillows, with pillow covers, and expensive high count pillow cases. One pillow was in a KING pillowcase. Although I called in time, no one responded as promised. I begged someone to go over to the room to get them at that time....no one had checked into the room yet. No follow up...and no one really looked! Could you not see the difference in pillow cases???? So, I paid to ship 2 crummy, cheap pillows to my home...