Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Great family spot, access to pool and beach is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel. Very comfortable hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and beautiful view of the beach.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We loved our room and proximity to the beach, however the staff were not as friendly or responsive as I expected them to be for such a nice resort. Compared to other resorts Casa Ybel is a 2 for responding to customer needs with kindness and courtesy. From the desk staff to recreation staff, they could all benefit from training in how to be more courteous to their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Plenty to do for everyone. Would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Nice accommodations in great location with well kept grounds. Great for families.
4 out of 5
by Randy

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
We thought the room was a bit pricey. Had small ant like bugs in kitchen. Tried to rent umbrella/chairs mid-day and they wanted full day rates. Doubt we will come back to this resort.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Great getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Great location on the beach in Sanibel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Very nice large one bedroom suite (big enough to live in with full kitchen, screened in balcony, separate powder room etc) with ocean/sunset views located right on the beach. It seemed at first like a destination resort where one could just stay and not leave until it was time to go home. There is a lovely (small) pool with an awesome bar and cookout. The Chef there is totally the star of the place offering a large range of hot food to eat by the pool and even tasty healthy wraps which was a lovely treat instead of the usual holiday fattening burger and fries. There was also a separate baby/toddler pool. We only stayed one night as we were doing a driving trip around Florida for the holidays, but we are not ones for just hanging around a hotel. There were two things that frustrated me about this resort: there was NO room service (we had to collect the food ourselves from the restaurant which can be a little inconvenient when you have two small tired and cranky children) and they also don't serve breakfast. Shocked that the waitress in the restaurant there couldn't even point us in the direction to drive to get breakfast. Great location for cycling to the Lighthouse... Bicycles of all shapes and sizes can be rented out (for a small fee) from the hotel. Please note the lighthouse is further than you think! The map is a little deceiving. At least we got a good workout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Team Casa Ybel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and are proud to inform that we are serving breakfast daily Monday through Saturday and Classic Sunday Brunch at our Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant. We hope you'll join us again and stay a little longer to enjoy all the wonderful things Sanibel has to offer. Warm regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel just fine; problems with office staff.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Nice big room; decent ocean view; nice large grassy area between room and beach.
Cons: Either more staffing at office or better training of office staff.
Location: Location is just fine and lots of nature and bird watching available as well as recreation such as kayaking.
Check-in was fine; but room keys did not work second day of three-day stay. It was a long walk to office from room. There was only one person on duty and she made me wait by taking telephone calls instead of preparing new keys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central MA

Nice location and beach, but rooms dark

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds, location on beach and pool area
Cons: Brighten up rooms. Clearly state this is a mixed hotel and timeshare/ownership
Location: Nice location on beach. Sanibel is all about quiet, and this was case here
If you are looking for a full 4 star hotel, you don't have it. Want a beach chair - pay for it. Want a nice yoga session, pay for it. It is partially a hotel and mostly owner owned. The room was clean with beautiful view, however dark. Needed lights during day to walk down halls. Ours came with 3 light bults out of their sockets. Pool - a pre Christmas day, and they ran out of towels, to find a chair was a another challengs. Overall visit was ok, but not what we were lookng for. Most people at the pool seemed to know one another, getting together with their owned property.