Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice affordable getaway

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Great time spent there with my family! Close to everything, I enjoyed the complimentary drinks and the beach walk talks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beach so close by. Ding Darling reserve.
We loved this hotel. Stayed in a Gulf View kitchen room in Matthews Lodge, which was great. A balcony too which was a bonus. Handy kitchen with big cooker/hob. Large fridge and plenty of china/pans etc. Really nice communal areas with books/computers. Very good breakfasts. Also enjoyed the morning shell talk by local marine biologist. Sanibel is a really pretty place, such a nice change from the bustle of Florida.
5 out of 5
by Manfred from The Villages, FL

Historic Sanabel Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Only big downside was no se um biting bugs in evening on beach. Need coverup or bug spray which we did not know about. That said, would revisit bringing proper protection.
5 out of 5
by Amy from Illinois

A little bit of heaven on earth!

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights with our children ages 2 to 17 and we all enjoyed every minute of our stay so much we didn't want to leave! They provided everything you need. The only negative was the breakfast they had. They only served fruit and muffins or toast and hard boiled eggs, so would definitely plan to bring food with you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oldest hotel on Island

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: location and staff. Food for dinner
Cons: See notes on entrance , bar and dining room
Location: Right on beach
Really enjoyed our stay. Room was fine and location is excellent. Food was also very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms have been upgraded but entrance and bar need upgrade. This will need to be carefully designed so that heritage is not lost
3 out of 5
by Peter from Rockledge

Just OK, but overpriced

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
I think at $259/night it's overpriced. Bedroom is small, Gulf is 300+ yards away. For a postcard at the reception you have to pay $2.00. Get the picture?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E., Birmingham, MI

great location, steps from the beach.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Would like to see breakfast start at 7 or 7:30. 8am seemed too late.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: peaceful
enjoyed the hotel very much the beach is great good food and very nice people working there
5 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels