Ratings based on 1,166 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stayed a few days perfect spot!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We were visiting for a few days and friends recommended This hotel. So glad we chose to listen. Room was wonderful. Great view of gulf. Had a nice screened balcony to enjoy view. The bed just fits in the bedroom area so you have to walk sideways to get in. One side of bed had a small ledge that I could put a water bottle on but nothing on other side. Loved how the living area was separate. Bathroom was huge. Rented a bike and was so nice to ride around. The shells are amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Lovely Inn on the Beach

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: We could walk out the door and be on the sand. It is convenient to both Sanibel and Captiva. The staff is friendly and the shelling is great!
Cons: They have a nice restaurant - I'd love to see them offer a simple lunch so you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to.
The Island Inn is a historic, yet beautifully updated property right on the beach. The front desk staff was welcoming and very helpful, with a complete package of information about the inn and Sanibel Island. Our room was immaculately clean, with updated bathroom fixtures and a full kitchen in a compact space. We were happily surprised by the sitting area as well as the screened porch overlooking the ocean. We spent most of our time on the beach which is steps away from any room on the property. The pool was a refreshing break - as with the rest of the property, it is clean and very well maintained. We had dinner in Traditions one evening. Service and food were both excellent. We loved the cozy, comfortable atmosphere. This is not a ritzy tiki-bar hotel: it is comfortable in every way for a relaxing, wonderful vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted May 7, 2017
Returned April 26th after a six night stay. It was wonderful, relaxing and peaceful. I had requested a quiet room due to a TBI and it was perfect. We stayed in the Kimball Lodge, room 265. We didn’t have a problem with the room but if you’re larger person getting around the king size bed might be. The complex was very spacious and a really short walk to the beach. The light continental breakfast was nice and the two women staffers were very friendly and sweet. The beach walk with a marine naturalist from the shell museum was interesting and totally enjoyable. When we return to Sanibel Island we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great hotel with easy beach access. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great family friendly hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Loved location and hotel. Only complaint was beds were uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manasquan NJ

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Comfortable laid back atmosphere. Friendly helpful staff. Efficiency rooms clean, roomy, great for beach style vacation. Like having your own beach house, not like an overcrowded high rise resort hotel room. Great for families. Would definitely recommend this property. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

check your coffee maker

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: location and room view of the beach
Cons: rooms could use updating, looked worn, but they were clean
Location: beaches, nature trails, biking
location and view were great. Only issue was there was black mold growing in the water reservoir in the rooms coffee maker. I noticed this after I had brewed and drank coffee and noticed the terrible taste. When I brought it to the attention of the front desk, the woman was dismissive of my concerns and basically blew me off with no apology, acted like I was wasting her time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice size and good beach views

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We enjoyed our experience at the Island Inn. The room was spacious and had a nice view of the beach. It was a nice location on the island. We rented bikes and rode around the island which was a great way to see it.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Best weekend getaway

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was awesome. Even the restaurant on site was great. The ocean views from the room were perfect and the history of the hotel was fascinating.
5 out of 5
by Sylvester

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
just an overnight stay but we will definitely come back.