Ratings based on 2,414 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Convenient to Sanibel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Pretty, clean, nice landscaping in pool area with ping pong table. Free breakfast. The front desk allowed us to check in a little early.
Cons: Ask at check-in whether the guest prefers "quiet" accommodations. Fix GPS location.
Location: Shelling on Sanibel and Captiva Islands. Outlet mall across the road. Good food at Doc Ford's in Ft. Myers Beach at wharf side.
We had difficulty finding the hotel using GPS, which directed us to another hotel about a mile away. Perfect location for getting out to Sanibel. Reasonably priced. Pretty pool area and nicely maintained. However, there were guests with small dogs which barked, and we hadn't realized dogs were allowed. The first morning we were awakened at 5:30 am by TV cartoons in a nearby room. The second morning there were construction workers with loud trucks leaving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by S. Heine ... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you Marcy for posting your review. I do apologize for the noise you encountered and bringing this to my attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Great location!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: location, relaxed comfortable feeling and pleasant stuff.
Cons: pool towels are small and rough. instant coffee :( :(
Location: Beaches and any water activity: rentals, sailboats, sunset cruises, food and entertainment. Unique islands all along.
At first we got 2nd floor pool side room it was mold smelly room woke up with allergies but the stuff was very accommodating we got a different room and that has been lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by S. Heine ..... Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
My staff and I are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. I thank you for bringing to our attention the issues with your room so that we resolve it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Sanibel Gateway

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great location and a magnificent pool. We stayed in a deluxe king and had plenty of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by S. Heine ..... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Cindy. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & only a few minutes from Sanibel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice King size bed & pull-out sofa. Plenty of room, reasonable price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by S. Heine ....Assistant General Manger , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and posting a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL

Outdated Dirty Bad smell in room

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nice staff.
Cons: Really needs a total upgrade.
Location: Good location. Near the water. Close shopping/eating
Desk staff was very nice, check in/out was a breeze. First thing I noticed was the crumbling walkways, dirty exterior, and animal droppings in the parking lot. Room had a bad musty smell when we walked in, and bathroom smelled moldy. Carpet was dirty, and light fixtures were old and pitted. Smoke alarm had black stuff hanging off it. Went to take a bath at night and found out drain didn't work. Couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by S. Heine ... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Robert I am terribly sorry you had this experience while a guest at our location. We are working on improvements both to the exterior and interior of our rooms. I thank you for your comments and also for bringing this to our attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for: not much.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This room was cheap. Okay for a place to arrive late, crash, and leave early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by S. Heine ..... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review and hope you slept well during your brief stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be better

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Had to pry open drain in sink with nail file because plunger did not work Shower had mold in tub On second day the room was not cleaned or towels replaced Could not adjust water flow in shower..water came out both the faucet and shower head Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by S. Heine .... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
I am terribly sorry you had this experience while a guest at our location. We are in the process of going through and replacing drains. I thank you for taking the time to write a review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod MA

Nice People and Facility But...

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: nice people, clean room
Cons: My room should have heat that works and a phone. keys that worked would be a plus
The check in experience was great. The room was clean and well appointed. I thought the rate was fair for the package. Then the room keys malfunctioned. Tried to call the desk from the in room phone, not only was the phone not plugged in the phone wires were bare behind the desk. It was chilly that night and the fan blew cold air all night and morning. The thermostat was up to 74 but room temp was 68. I had to turn the hot shower on to heat the room. I was given a partial refund but I would rather pay full price and get what I pay for than get a rebate for shoddy accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by S. Heine ...Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I deeply apologize for the issues you had while staying here. I thank you for brining these to my attention and will immediately address these with my maintenance staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern indiana

Nice location, hotel needs remodeled.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Hotel rooms have mold/mildew smell, needs a dehumidifier in rooms. Carpets are dirty need to be steam cleaned or replaced. Water damage in rooms from past water leaks. Hotub heater did not work the week we were staying in hotel. Breakfast/ bar area is in disrepair. Hotel cleaning staff would not clean rooms because we were traveling with dogs, they were notified everyday that dogs were in kennels and still would not clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by S. Heine ..... Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review in regards to your recent stay. We are in the process of replacing carpets in our rooms and I do apologize that you were in one of those we hadn't done as of yet. I will speak to housekeeping regarding the lack of service you received, even our rooms with pets are to be serviced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Great Staff, Not-So-Great Room(s)

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The front desk staff was super friendly and attentive. My review is primarily around my experience with the room(s). I use the "(s)" because my first room was next door to a room that had a dog in it. I love dogs, but this one was barking incessantly. Also, my key would not work, so I couldn't even get in the room. As I said, the front desk girl was super sweet and immediately switched my room and gave me a new key. This key worked, but the room had random bugs in the bathroom (no bed bugs, I can assure you), and the sink was a bit dirty. The beds were comfortable and I did get a good night sleep. I think if I go back to the area, I will pay a bit more and go to a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by S. Heine .... Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
I am so terribly sorry you had this experience while staying with us. I will get with my housekeeping staff immediately regarding the issue you had with the room. I do thank you for taking the time to post a review.