Ratings based on 2,290 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, In

Great location on the beach and walking distance

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The location, the room was clean and the restaurant and Starbucks.
Cons: The rooms could have better decor and more pleasing art on walls. Our balcony door didn't work well and the vent in our room looked bad. Needs update
Location: The Pier Grill was good and good live music all day. Shopping was close also.
Great location on the beach no within walking distance to a lot of things. However, it was a bit noisy and more geared for college age. Live music was plentiful and fortunately our air conditioning was so loud that it acted as white noise to counteract the loud music at night. The facility is dated but was clean and suite was nice. The restaurants were very good, especially Island View on top floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savage, Minnesota

hotel in front of the beach, great view

Posted May 25, 2017
Hotel is old , need some updates but it's comfortable, the windows need to be updated since there's a sound of the wind and it's hard to go to sleep with it. Restauntands inside the hotel are great, great service, great food and great price. Hotel has an amazing view, front of the beach. Beds are comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Ausom hotelmymy

Posted May 19, 2017
As far as I'm concerned the lani Kai is the only hotel that anyone should stay at once you stay at the lani Kai you will always be a return customer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Location / Great Staff / We'll Return

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.... STAFF, STAFF, STAFF!
We had a great stay and will stay here again! Realistically this is a 3 star property that I'd rate best in that class. (I struggle with the star rating as I can't justify a 5 but this is a really great 3 star property) Built in the 70's, one can see the age of the property. But.... Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff in all the bars was great. If there is a downside, when we arrived on Sunday, there were more drunks per square foot than I've seen in a long time. While this might put some people off, it was irrelevant (maybe even entertaining) to us. The place quieted down significantly on Monday. Other things we enjoyed were the beach, the view of both sunrise and sunset, the balcony and the ability to walk to a wide range of restaurants and bars. (we used uber quite easily in the area but were told that during 'season' the traffic is really terrible) There is also a 7-11 across the street where one can stock the in-room fridge. I'd say it is not a good place for a business traveller, and I didn't see many families with children. Once again, though, we enjoyed our stay and considering the price and location we will return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent view of the water

Posted May 7, 2017
Love the balcony view of the ocean and close to the town square able to walk everywhere. Pool was nice and Rooms where clean Horrible smell in open Rooftop Bar could not eat or drink inside was so strong
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Party central

Posted May 3, 2017
The Lani Kai is a good place to stay if you're 20-something looking to party for spring break. If you're looking for a romantic or relaxing getaway, I suggest looking elsewhere. The elevators and the Sky View restaurant had a STRONG garbage/vomit odor. Not appealing. The hotel itself could stand the have some small repairs, although our room was decently clean and updated. They have live music on the beach from noon til 9pm and club Ohana in the lower level until 1-2am everyday. Our room was right above the outdoor band stage and was very loud. They did offer to let us switch rooms, but since every room faces outward toward the beach, I doubt it would make much difference. As a hotel guest, you have to pay for beach chairs and umbrellas. You do get a discount, but it's still around $25/day. Something I think could easily be included in your room cost. The hotel is centrally located close to many restaurants and Times Square and does offer beautiful views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Run down, spring break party hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Views of the gulf and beach were awesome. Also, the Sun Deck has a great breakfast and amazing happy hour. Easy to get on and off the Island
Cons: Maintenance of the hotel, less obtrusive music schedule, quieter
Location: Easy to get off the island, beach location is great, walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shops
I read reviews about music, but didn't realize it was every single day and night starting about noon and going until 1:30 in the morning. People could be heard partying all night long. Even with the doors closed it was really loud. The first room we were booked into was directly above the kiddie playground and beach access. People could look directly into our room, and the balcony looked right at a giant yellow slide. They were kind enough to move us to a higher room, but it was unfortunately closer to the music and even louder. The smell of smoke was everywhere. The room was clean enough, although the floors were somewhat dirty. The plumbing was terrible, the toilet took 2 or 3 flushes to empty. The little kitchenette was nice. The paint on the balcony railing was peeling terribly. The hotel itself was pretty run down looking. They tried to camouflage this fact with bright murals everywhere, but it certainly has seen better days. Even though we were there after spring break, it still had that spring break party vibe. If you were on spring break and looking to party it would be great. It is probably great for families with little kids too. But if you are looking for a relaxing or romantic hotel, this is not it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeville MN

We loved it!

Posted May 1, 2017
After reading some of the reviews we were a little nervous about this hotel. I am so happy to say that we loved our stay! Can't wait to go back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Not a family place and wouldn't call it a resort.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I had an incident where the room next to me was throwing a birthday party until 230 in the morning. After several requests to security to get the party to quiet down, I was told by security that they couldn't hear anything in the room and therefore couldn't do anything for me. It was as if I was making the whole thing up. Upon requesting a meeting with management later that day to discuss changing rooms, I was advised that this hotel was not for everyone, and it was more for people who don't necessarily mind being kept awake all night because of a party going on in the next room - this is comment is completely true although I will not give the name of the manager that stated this to me. I apparently was being intolerant of other people, and the group that was partying was not at fault. Also I believe that Expedia gets the grungiest rooms available at a hotel and that's how they keep prices low. I would never stay at this hotel again, and will probably never use Expedia again to book a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from puyallup, Washington

close to the beach, however above the outside bar,

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: nothing, great place for college spring break!!!
Cons: customer service. cleanliness, sound proofing room
Location: ferry to Key west is near by, great beaches
poor service, we were given ear plugs due to the noise below our room at the outside bars. Manager said you can hardly hear the noise...you kidding...you can hardly hear yourself think. No quiet until well after 2am. SOO SAD!!