Ratings based on 1,672 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dirty Old Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Very dirty, stains on carpet and furniture. Poor Service and mediocre food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, we sincerely apologize that you experienced difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide and it certainly does not meet our standards. We have shared your comments with our entire staff and we will take the appropriate action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope that we will have another occasion to meet your expectations and to welcome you back in the future. Tom Custo, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice hotel amazing sunset.

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Clean lobby, good customer service and amazing sunset view from the balcony room Rooms feels like the 1990's they need major upgrades in their rooms. The toilet and bathroom sink starts to gargle when using I believe their plumbing system is very very old. Get ready to pay $25 a DAY for pool towels, gym and other amedities in the hotel. As if $450 a day wasn't enough. I wouldn't recommend because I'm sure there are more modern and updated hotels for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are happy to know you were pleased with the view from our hotel and had an overall comfortable time with us. However, we are sorry for the issues you had in your room and have notified our Maintenance team to take necessary actions. Also, we survey regularly and make sure we remain competitive in terms of facilities and its charges with other hotels in the area. We hope you will consider coming again in the future. Tom Custo, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location & staff, but overpriced & undermaint

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Loved to the location and generally great staff but not what we were expecting overall - especially for price. Stayed in Captiva tower and, while more private, seemed like not staffed/maintained like main building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to know you were pleased with our location. However, we are sorry you were a bit disappointed with our rates. Please know we conduct competitive pricing analyses several times throughout the year. Our pricing is in line with what comparable hotels in our vicinity are charging. We hope you will consider choosing us again in the future. Tom Custo, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Vacation

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Pros: The location was great and the staff was helpful
Cons: Wifi was extremely sporadic and slow. Elevators were slow as well.
Location: Location was great. Next to Sanibel Island and Fort Myers Beach. Plenty to see and do.
Nice hotel with plenty to do. Hotel was clean and staff was terrific. Wifi dropped often, so was somewhat ineffective. I would recommend this hotel. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, thank you for being our guest. It’s nice to know you liked our convenient location and were pleased with the service provided by our courteous associates. However, your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Tom Custo, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

Spring training trip

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Pros: Location, view of the water, comfortable beds.
Cons: Checkout experience.
Location: We stayed here to attend spring training games for the Red Sox. Great location for visiting Sanibel and Captiva Islands also.
Excellent stay overall. At first the room we had reserved wasn't available, even though I had a confirmation that it was. Hotel staff were very accommodating, however, and did eventually find the room that I had reserved. Checkout was rather abrupt...no "thank you for staying with us." Otherwise our stay was very pleasant. The rest of the staff, especially housekeeping and servers at the outdoor restaurant, were excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buyer Beware! Not as advertised.

Posted Mar 26, 2018
We reserved several nights at $500 / night. We were extremely disappointed that we were placed in a sister annex building on the resort that was nothing like the photos shown or what we had signed up for. Aside from needing to take a shuttle or golf cart to and from the Captiva 2nd building which was a major inconvenience. The other building that we had paid for an upgrade for a water view was right next to the bridge where you can see and hear traffic. View had no beach only a pool and road in front of our window. On arrival of the Captiva building “sister annex” there was no one in our building, a barren open entry with overflowing trash. The room fell a bit short as well for the upgraded water view. The carpet was frayed, the fridge empty and pillows on the long bed were tiny. It was a major disappointment and a bait and switch to place us In a much inferior hotel building lacking all of the amenities of the main building. We immediately checked the next morning The remaining days were refunded but only after arguing with the front desk worker. In the photos you’ll see the proximity to the main building. I expected more from a Marriott and wish we’d have known ahead before spending that amount per night that we weren’t getting what we were showed or sold online. Unfortunately they were sold out of the nicer main building and we had difficulty finding any other hotels in the Sanibel area during spring break . Totally ruined our vacation. Stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we sincerely apologize that you experienced difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide and it certainly does not meet our standards. We have shared your comments with our entire staff and we will take the appropriate action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope that we will have another occasion to meet your expectations and to welcome you back in the future. Tom Custo, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice sunset view

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Expensive. Unnecessary extra expenses . Easy to get to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Water views. Gorgeous scenery. Pretty setting.

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Fun, relaxing. Great views. Variety of amenities and activities. Gorgeous scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable experience

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Friendly staff and clean. Great spa on site and heated pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice property/resort, location & staff!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Very nice hotel and surrounding property. All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. A bit pricey - but that was to be expected during the busy week we were there. I recommend the hotel and would stay there again next time we’re in Ft. Myers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa! We are dedicated to providing a comfortable and pleasing atmosphere for all of our guests. Our team appreciates you mentioning our beautiful property, excellent location, and hospitable staff. Thank you again, and especially for the recommendation. It was our pleasure serving you, and we look forward to our next opportunity to make your trip a great one. Tom Custo General Manager