Ratings based on 1,628 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, Florida

Absolutely beautiful resort!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Perfect in every way!!
Cons: nothing
Location: You are on the river with every type of water toy available for your use. Shopping and site seeing on Sanibel/Captiva and Fort Myers very close.
We arrived and checked in with the most pleasant girl assisting us. Unfortunately a minor mishap happened so we returned to her. She immediately corrected the problem and we were upgraded to the 8th floor, fabulous room. Later about 5:30, a knock on the door and to our total surprise was a beautiful tray of grapes, cheese, various fruits a bottle of wine and 2 glasses and a note from the same woman apologizing for our inconvenience. This was over the top! We had cocktail's at Charlie's along with great appetizers, enjoying the absolutely beautiful SW Florida sunset!!! The views from everywhere in the hotel was amazing. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and at breakfast I mentioned it to our waitress who was asking about us in this conversation, to our surprise just before we finished she delivered a wonderful plate spelling our Happy Birthday perfectly in chocolate on the other end was a melt in your mouth chocolate volcano cake and a chocolate covered strawberry!! What a perfect stay this was for us!! Fabulous!!! We will return many more times. We live here in Fort Myers, Florida and have for over 30 years and this was our first time staying at the resort but it will not be the last.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Overbooked

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of manager Chris
Location: Plenty of water related activity
Hotel was overbooked and they moved us to another building. Manager (Chris) said we had booked that location. Will not go bach here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exquisite

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Just came back from trip 10/20/17 and already booking to go back and most dates are already sold out, stayed in the captiva tower suite. Most amazing stay, Wonderful staff, great food, lots of amenities. The spa is so beautiful. Best facial I've ever had. Great place to just unwind and relax. Really felt like a princess. Very romantic thinking about having my honeymoon here In the presidential suite. Great couple spa packages. A little pricey but what resort isn't. I seen some google reviewers were complaining about the captiva tower how it's further away from everything and how the staff put you there and forget about you. Totally not true. There is someone always at the second floor lobby or at the entrance by the elevators and have shuttles or Golf carts that bring you to and from where ever you are In the resort. Really everyone has their own preference but my fiancé and I rather have it sucluded. We basically had the pool all to ourself or had to share it with one or two other families. Rather than being in a bigger building with more rooms and much more people by the pool. We liked it better that way. They did give us a choice in which building we preferred to stay at and we choice captiva. I think it's nice to have options. So having the two buildings is a plus. Love sanibel harbour Marriott resort and spa, definitely will recommend and we'll be seeing you guys real soon. Feb/2018 to be exact!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Blah

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Checkin staff were lovely
Cons: It's nears a comprehensive refurbishment, they did have cuddly bears all round the hotel lobby area saying bear with us as we improve, but no sign of
Location: I'd suggest you stay on Sanibel rather than look at it from this hotel!
An uninspiring hotel with limited facilities in what should be a great location, but the water in the harbour was really dirty, the hotel seemed empty of staff and visitors. You're not near any shops and the few provided by the hotel were poorly stocked of anything. Really unimpressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sicklerville Nj

Overbooked and rude

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I booked my hotel for two nights and received confirmation. I arrived to be told rudely by hotel staff and manager that I had not booked room for 2 nights but only 1. They insisted that EXPEDIA sent that info. When I quickly pulled up email as proof all they had to offer was two sofabeds in a meeting room. No real apology just free buffet pass. Would never recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Desk staff was awesome - upgraded us to spectacular waterfront room and gave lots of good advice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Clean, Comfortable and Pleasant

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cons: Unfortunately, I, my wife and others were bitten by mosquitos and no-see-ums while dining on the terrace. Repellant was/is needed.
From the moment we arrived, our experience was wonderful. Everything was in order. We were given a water view on an upper floor. The staff were always very helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent at both the Pizza bar and the breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Renote Location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I was unable to enjoy the Ammenities but the pool and outside bar look appealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Relaxing Atmosphere

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: I like the quiet environment.
Cons: N/A
Location: A small outlet mall (called "Sanibel Outlets") is within about 10-minute driving distance of this hotel. Sanibel Island is just across the bridge.
This hotel is a little isolated from everything, but I enjoyed the isolation. Quiet and relaxing hotel, recommendable for mature adults.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin Germany

A bit disapointing for that price

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The good years of that hotel are over! To expensive for what you get. The hotel need a complete decoration! The water and the beach are ugly. Brown/yellow water no way to go swim! The pictures shows nice clean blue water which is not real! You have to go for 6 dollar over the bridge to sanibel island to enjoy beaches!