Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good place to stay in Sanibel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Found this place online, was decent place to stay! Close to all activities, has some activities included of their own ie: kayak, body boards, pool, bikes, beach (& chairs). Chris from the beach hut was amazing, helpful & friendly! One side note that was disappointing, almost all these items (bikes & beach chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boards) had to be returned & closed up by 5pm. Rooms are a little dated and good size, beds very comfy though! Was not informed restaurant was closed for renovations, only bar food. Having the kitchenette was helpful, they also have a couple gas grills to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Took staff until 5pm to clean room.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Overall good except for housekeeping making up room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay on the beach

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The location is wonderful. Bed was good, availability of beach chairs and umbrellas is awesome, love the remodeled tiki bar.
Cons: The shower water temperature became cool by the end of a shower. The shower faucet needs to be replaced. It would be nice to have dining utensils.
Location: Easily accessible from the causeway. Using West, Middle and East Gulf Drive makes the whole island easy to get to so don't have to use Periwinkle.
The resort is convenient to the beach. Great staff all around from reception to cleaning staff to tiki bar to beach staff. Everyone was very accommodating, answered questions and were very helpful!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Sanibel Inn has a great location on the island

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The location and the grounds.
Cons: Their housekeeping staff needs improvement. The mattress in 3315 needs to be replaced.
We chose the Sanibel Inn due to its great location and lovely grounds. The checkin staff was very polite. The room we had was next to a housekeeping closet which was noisy. Fortunately, after we returned for a shower around 3 pm each day we were not trying to take a nap. We had to go to the office mid week for replacement shampoo and hand towels. The housekeeping staff left bags laying around outside our room every afternoon. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have encountered in a hotel in 23 years. We will not stay there again. We were disappointed that we were not told the restaurant was closed for remodeling. The poolside bar was open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Old Bridge, NJ

hotel was nice and view was great to the gulf

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: the location was great,
Cons: more staff to get the room serviced on time....................
Location: mostly rested on the beach and did shelling..
There were no glass or dishes in the room we had to call room service for them, room staff did not get to clean room before 4 or 4:30 every day, Each day we called to complain and someone would rush up to clean the room in a rush... not too clean ... after three day I asked the front desk if the room could be be cleaned by 2 pm and was advised it would, got back to the room at 5 and guess what is wasn't cleaned tried to get to the manager but he was not there, he left a message the following day, but we keep missing each other.. Also when we arrived we were told that the restaurant was closed for 6 months, that you could get breakfast as the beach, that didn't work to well I wanted tea or decaf coffee all the had was regular coffee, so every morning we need to go and get breakfast....and go out for dinner each night. the fact that there was a restaurant there was so we didn't have to drive around the town to find a place to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Lovely room, short walk to the beach.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: It was very private, nice and quiet, but offered everything we needed.
Cons: The larger cafe was under renovation, and we look forward to experiencing dining there on our next visit.
Location: We loved walking the beach, collecting shells, and watching the sunrise. In the evenings there are many fun places to go for dinner just a short drive
We loved our stay at the Sanibel Inn! Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the lanai had a view of the beach. Sanibel Inn has a great little outdoor cafe where we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and some cold beverages after spending time at the beach. We would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midcoast, Maine

Right on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Clean well equipped condo, large balcony, good view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcester, ma

Beachy hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This was a great experience. We stayed in 3124. Most gorgeous view of the gulf. Liked that our room had fridge and microwave. This hotel has a beachy atmosphere, friendly staff, loved the extras (borrowing bikes, paddle boards, tennis rackets), family friendly and great value. Sanibel is a beautiful island. Location to bridge (avoid some traffic on pelican drive) and lighthouse is perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

beautiful view of ocean!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The view from our suite was so wonderful. We had our coffee on the balcony and watched for dolphins (which we saw).
Cons: The cleaning staff. I know they work hard but it is irritating to have to go to the office to get items forgotten to be replaced
Location: The location is great. There is the lighthouse which is great bird watching, fishing and shelling . A historic village. Sunday farmers market.
Have stayed here several times. The grounds are well kept up always a new garden or water feature. The cleaning staff is sometimes a little off - forgot to leave more soap and toilet paper. The grounds crew are friendly and courteous. Our king size bed was so comfortable! They do conserve on water and in the past have requested you put a card on the bed if you wanted your sheets changed. There was no note so we did not get the bedding changed during the week. There are some annoying little things but overall we enjoy it. The best is that the buildings face the ocean, they are only two levels high so it all seems more personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Nick Rio, Front desk Manager, Inns of Sanibel, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, We love return visitors at the Sanibel Inn! Thank you for coming back! No matter how many times you see the dolphins in the Gulf it is always thrilling , I am glad you were able to enjoy the experience. I was dismayed to hear of your housekeeping challenges and want to assure you that I addressed each one of them with our staff. I am sure you will notice an improvement if you come back to stay with us in the future. I am happy to hear your overall time with us was pleasant, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our special little spot in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Awesome venue.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros:
Location: The Sandbar Restaurant is a must do in Sanibel. The food is fantastic, as are the wait staff.
We LOVED staying at Sanibel Inn. The location is great. You can ride bikes, kayak, paddleboard, pick up shells and/or lounge by the pool. The Activities Director, Chris, is amazing and very knowledgeable. Sanibel visitors are friendly and you meet so many different people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Nick Rio Front desk Manager, The Inns of Sanibel, Hotel Management
Dear Lydia, I was happy to hear of your great experience while a guest with us at the Sanibel Inn! Our activities are great fun and we are glad you were able to enjoy them. Chris is just wonderful, you can tell he loves his job! We certainly hope if your travels bring you back to the Sanibel area, you will think of your great time at our Sanibel Inn.