Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Great location on the beach.
Location: We liked the location on the Island. We kayaked at JN Ding Darling Nature Refuge as well as took the tram tour. We also hiked through Baileys.
Our room overlooked a pool, which was clean and well used by others. We sat on our deck for breakfast and read the paper a couple of mornings, it was very pleasant. Our goal was a beach vacation and the Inn provided beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. It was very windy one afternoon and one of the staff politely explained why he needed to put the umbrella down before he did so. The breakfast was milk, juice, yogurt, cereal and pastries, nothing fancy but certainly filling. The room was clean and we did not feel crammed. The staff was always pleasant and polite. We used the bikes on a couple occasions. There was a wide variety of bikes available, with baskets, men's, women's with child trailer and with a shadow for a child to ride on behind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Charlie W. , Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and were able to take advantage of our many amenities. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: The Beds.
Cons: Baskets of food delivered everyday, being more tailored made of Oranges, or other florida fruits, and items ordered from a list of choices.
The Beds were very comfortable, the Room was very clean, and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft myers

This place is a " little bit of paradise"

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Location -- cozy linens-- friendly staff--soft ocean breeze & peace and quiet.
Our room, with an ocean view, couldn't have been more perfect. It was tiny but had everything we needed. The bed linens and towels were as wonderful as any 5 star hotel that I have stayed in. The renovated bathroom was great. A basket of breakfast goodies were left for us by the housekeeping staff. What a terrific surprise and one that, I think, all guests get. Beach towels, umbrellas & loungers are free and plentiful. Having said all of this, we would only consider a room with a water view. There are plenty with a view of the pool but that is not why we chose Sanibel. Beach, beach, beach! Shells are bountiful and at one glance I saw over 25 pelican in the low tide tidal pools-- along with a bevy of other sea birds , dolphin and folks walking the beautiful beach ( bring flip flops to wear at the beach..the bounty of broken shells can make it tough walking barefoot) looking for the perfect shell to take home. Room prices can be high! We booked thru Expedia and saved $. Book early as this little gem of a motel fills up quickly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Quaint, clean and near a beach. Housekeeping was a problem - forgetting fresh towels, forgetting to provide continental breakfasts all but one day. No frills but quiet and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to atay

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Nicely kept older motel-style lodging right on the beach. Loved having the bikes to use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is on the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff, access to the beach
Cons: Lots of repairs, particularly on the exterior.
Location: Convenient location
Hotel was one of the early ones built on W Gulf Dr. Room is reasonably clean, beds comfy, hotel staff was very friendly. Biggest drawback is the age of the facility. Our bathroom was in need of some updating. Ocean front buildings are particularly prone to deterioration and this one shows its age. Not a great value, but most lodging on Sanibel is expensive during the winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A lovely base for a break on Sanibel

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Location, pool, quant, clean, comfortable
Cons: The continental breakfast is a tad basic and is not fresh (baskets are brought in by housekeeping the day before).
Location: Stunning beachside location, beach walks, swimming, eating out, cycling, nature, bird watching
Excellent beachside location, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. The beds and bedding were of a very high quality and comfort. Extras such as bikes, beach towels and loungers were all included in the price, making this an excellent value hotel. Would recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great key west style hotel on the Gulf.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Beautiful setting, lovely warm pool, on the gulf. Chairs and umbrellas for you and wonderful free bikes, plus a breakfast in your room. This place is delightful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

What it was like back when !

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: On the beach, off the beaten path, close to the lighthouse, very bicycle friendly. Again, wonderful staff !
Cons: It is very difficult to maintain and old hotel, but they do a good job.
Location: Great location, easy bicycling or driving to all places.
Older hotel, well maintained with wonderful staff. Helpful in every way. If you're looking for the most modern with all that newness, then this is not for you. But if you want to slow down and enjoy a little of how it use to be, then this is as good as it gets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Cons: The location of the safe is on the floor in the closet. It was hard to get to and to see.
This motel was very comfortable and close to the ocean.