Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Liked the fact you can use all the pools, beaches, as you had the orange bracelet.liked the trolley as well.
Cons: Restaurants on location can improve for sure.
Location: Went to wild life preserve, art show in Sanibelle.
Open up sofa is the most uncomfortable bed to sleep on,, my back is hurting now.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: LOCATION/ HARBOURSIDE WATERFRONT
Location: LOCATION IS GREAT BUT THERE IS NOT MUCH TO DO NEARBY OFF PROPERTY
RESTAURANT MENUS ARE QUITE LIMITED MANATEES IN THE HARBOUR ARE GREAT! LANDSCAPING/ GREAT RESTAURANT SERVICE NOT IMPRESSIVE SOME OF THE FURNITURE LOOKS WARN AND NEEDS A TOUCH UP OF PAINT THE BALCONY DOORS DO NOT LOCK WITH DOOR LOCK BUT WITH SOME THING THAT WAS ADDED 1835 NEEDED TO KICK THE DOOR TO GET IT OPEN ROOMS ARE TIDY AND NEAT BUT HAVE THE IMPRESSION OF BEING WORN IF STAFFING AT REGISTRATION IS NOT IMPROVED FOR "SEASON" THERE WILL BE UNPLEASANT SERVICE
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Excellent trip. Stayed in the Marina Villa 2 bedroom. Great staff and customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomingdale, United States of America

beautiful resort in beautiful setting

Posted Nov 20, 2016
perfect location, some rooms/villas in need of updating and minor repairs, but overall South Seas is picturesque resort with beauty all around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

great Location, but appartments Need improvements,

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: facilities of the Resort, beaches, pools
Cons: very expensive, some appartments could Need a renovation Lady at the reception desk was not friendly
Location: Restaurants in the Resorts and nearby
Capitva is a great Location, very nice beaches, 3 large pools, many Restaurants, offers everything you Need for a great trip although we really liked the Location, we were not too happy with the rooms/appartmets we stayed in 2 different appartments (lands end appartment, beach Villa with 2 bedrooms) and visited 2 other Appartements. You have to pay a lot to get a nice appartments, some appartments look old (old furniture, do not smell nice) - everything is very expensive. The 2 bedroom appartment a North lands end was spacious but extremely expensive. I did not appreciate that there was a window between the bathroom (with many Windows) and the bedroom - it got really bright at 7 am !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Always a great time.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Beach, pools, restaurants, etc..
Been here many times. Always a great visit. Nice staff, beautiful beach. Can't go wrong.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota Florida

Great time, Great tennis,

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Lots of fun shops on Captiva. Some great restaurants and a very relaxing place to visit.
We had a lovely time at the resort. The weather wasn't so cooperative, but, we made the best of it by using the hot tub at the pool and enjoying our balcony overlooking the marina. We definitely enjoyed the tennis clinics with Olga and the staff in the tennis pro shop were excellent. I would highly recommend South Seas Plantation to both couples and families. Lots of kids having fun, but, they were usually in the kids area and the adults had their quiet time at the pools and around the campus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka, United States of America

Over priced room and not what expected.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: It is on the tip of the island so if you plan to go into town for sightseeing or shopping it takes about 30 minutes by car. MPH on island is 20 - 30.
When we arrived the grounds & lobby were spectacular. Our check in was quick and I expected a resort fee, however it was $17.00 per person per day! My husband & I were only there for 2 nights so we really didn't even use the pools or get much time on the beach. We had booked a "Bayside King Villa" but when we went to the room it was a Condo with Double beds! I called the front desk & told them we would like to have the room we were charged for. Operator explained that there are no room guarantee's! I asked to speak with someone and Ben was able to accomadate our request. I explained it was our anniversary and we really expected something special. He then appologized and offered us a free bottle of wine. Second room was a King but still a condo not even close to what we considered a "villa". It was roomy with 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dinning, living room, screened deck & king bedroom. Walls were paper thin so it was terribly noisy! Could hear neighbors music, kids, dog barking, people banging in the exterior corridors... They have a trolley that can take you all over the grounds so that was nice. Food was good at the restaurants we ate at and wait staff very nice. The other issue that you need to consider is the remote location. If you want to just stay there you can rent bicycles, pay to parasail, etc...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Much needed break to unwind

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Have stayed on Sanibel before but never on Captiva. The resort had everything we needed, swimming pools, gym, great beach walks, sunset watching etc. Stayed in room overlooking water, every day a dolphin and manatee came to visit.
Cons: Beautiful resort in a stunning location. Staff so helpful and friendly. We stayed on for 2 extra days instead of going to Miami as originally intended,
Location: Sanibel and Captiva are amongst my favourite places. Take boat to Cayo Costa State Park, paddle a kayak to Buck Key, hire golf buggy at resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Die Lage inmitten eines Naturschutzgebietes . Die Nähe zur Natur und der nette Service
Cons: Das Zimmer entsprach nicht dem was ich gebucht hatte. Wir buchten zwei getrennte Schlafzimmer bekamen aber nur ein separates Schlafzimmer während das zweite Bett auf einer offenen Gallerie war. Wenn ich diese extra Privatsphäre mit dem zweiten Zimmer nicht gewollt hätte, hätte ich die wesentlich billigere Variante gewählt mit 1 Schlafzimmer und Schlafmöglichkeit im Wohnzimmer.
Location: Das Resort befindet sich innerhalb eines Naturschutzgebiet auf Captiva Island in Florida vor Fort Myers
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by Neil Swetz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back to the island again soon.