Ratings based on 1,355 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This resort is so gorgeous, but pricy!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This resort is so beautiful but everything is so expensive and I don't feel like you get what you pay for. For 500+ a night with no microwave, I think it's ridiculous, and there's so much fee when checking in. Overall the facility is gorgeous, nice pool complex, great view and great staff. I got married on the island and stay there for my honeymoon. Had a blast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paola, KS

Great Resort to enjoy your vacation.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: We love all the people who worked at the resorts. Taking the shuttle worked well. We thoroughly enjoyed talking to so many people who were visiting.
Location: We rented a boat for the day and visited other islands. It was fun and relaxing. There are many restaurants on the island. Mad Hatter is wonderful!
We love Sanibel and Captiva and have for years but decided to go to the South Seas for our 50th Anniversary. We loved the room, Tiki bar, walking the road between the north and south. We ate at all the different restaurants. We decided to spend our 50th at the Mad Hatter. It was the best meal of our lives. The place does not look impressive from outside. There is a happy hour at Harborside. There is a small restaurant (Key Lime Bistro) in Captiva that serves a great breakfast. They have all the other meals also. Mucky Duck is famous for great meals at sunset and drinks. It is crowded so get there early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, We love anniversaries and thank you for letting us be a part of your 50th! What a special occasion! It sounds like you had a wonderful time here, and we really appreciate you letting us know by sharing your review! It was a treat to have you on property and we’re glad you got to meet so many of your fellow guests. As a regular on Sanibel and Captiva islands, we also appreciate you sharing your insider tips for other travelers! We have passed on your kind remarks to our team, and they extend their gratitude. We all look forward to welcoming our guests year after year and we hope to see you and your wife again on your 51st anniversary, if not before! Best wishes, South Seas Island Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Huge property with average hotel services

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This property is enormous and guests need to ask a lot of questions before reserving here. We only stayed one night and weren't able to partake in the "amenities" that the $17 per person per night supposedly pays for like Tennis, swimming pool, towels, umbrellas, etc. Our room was directly behind the registration building and was in need of updating. Old, very tired, cheap furnishings and a rug that needed cleaning or replacing. To top it off, the next morning the water was turned off for two hours. Front desk said that we were notified by voice mail on the room phone. Our phone was turned off. Seems like we should have gotten text messages or email or been notified upon check in. Staff is very friendly and helpful and apologetic about the water, but no shower after a long day of driving and sleeping in a strange bed was not welcome. We checked out and moved to another resort in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We’re sorry to read that you were with us for such a short time that you didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy all that we have to offer here on Captiva Island. The highlights of a stay with us include your choice of fun activities, including fishing, golf, tennis, and water sports, just to name a few. If you’d prefer to relax, we have lovely, secluded beaches and pools or you can enjoy a walk or bike ride across the island where you’re likely to see a variety of wildlife native to Florida’s wetlands. We’re terribly sorry that your stay coincided with a temporary water outage, and we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We thank you again for your feedback and hope that you will consider another stay when your travels bring you back to our area. It would be our pleasure to provide you with a true South Seas Island Resort experience. Warm regards, South Seas Island Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice short trip in January

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Beach and pool bars were great! Executive 9 hole course was in great shape and a lot of fun - no one infront of us and no one pushing us from behind.
Cons: A separate bike and running trail from north to south would be a big improvement from running on the roadway. Better pillows, but we are picky.
Location: weather wasn't the best so we toured the surrounding shops and restaurants. Laid back atomsphere.
We happened to pick the only 3 day stretch of uncharacteristically cool weather in January! We still enjoyed the get away from the frigid north by playing the executive course at the north end of Captiva. Course was in great shape and we had it almost to ourselves. Beaches were clean, great locations to watch sunsets with drink in hand. We stayed in a one bedroom tennis villa which was clean, comfortable and close to many restaurants within walking distance. No complaints other than it could have been so much better had the weather cooperated better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you to our property and we’re thrilled that you made the most of some of the activities we offer. We appreciate you sharing your review to let others know about your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you got in a relaxing round of golf, and we hope you weren’t concentrating on the game so much that you missed the beautiful view from the course. We’re terribly sorry that the weather didn’t cooperate for your beach getaway, but it sounds like you handled it admirably, as a drink by the pool is certainly the next best thing! We insist that you come back soon and try a few of the activities that you missed, such as fishing, tennis, or water sports. We promise you’ll be well entertained, and we’re looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Close to the beach, rooms are newly remodeled, convenient kitchenette, great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we’re thrilled to see that you had such a great time with us! We strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms, excellent customer service and endless activities to keep you busy, from the beach to the pools, golf course and tennis courts. We’re so glad to see that this worked out to be a winning combination for you and we hope to host your next beach getaway! All the best, South Seas Island Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Huge place with huge issues

Posted Jan 20, 2017
I was excited to stay at a place as seen in the photo but pictures can be deceiving. It's a complex over 2 miles from end to end. I paid extra for a bay water view and overlooked boats in a marina (a marina was a lower rate room). I stayed one night and was charged two resort fees. One for each day I guess. It's so big they have several places to eat but since it's so huge you probable need to talk a mile, take your car, or ask for a golf cart from your room. No room service. I was hoping for a nice room but it was just an old run down place too far from the beach and food for my tastes. I felt I paid too much for not what I wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Our hotel team values guest feedback, and we thank you for sharing yours in the form of a review. We are sorry to see that your recent stay with us wasn’t what you had expected and we appreciate you letting us know. While our property does span all of Captiva Island, we want all of our guests to be able to explore the island in its entirety, and that’s why we offer trolley service throughout the day. You’ll see the trolleys shuttling our guests back and forth across the island, and it’s a fun way to explore all we have to offer. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations, as we want all of our guests to be impressed by our service and amenities. Again, we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention so that we have the opportunity to address them. Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Some rooms are nice but others the furniture is dirty they should try to be more consistent Pretty grounds and golf area
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your review! It was a pleasure to welcome you and we appreciate you highlighting the natural beauty of our property. We’re lucky to be situated on a private island with lush wetlands, pristine beaches, and abundant wildlife. We also thank you for your added comments as we’re always looking to elevate the guest experience. We hope to see you back at South Seas again soon! Warm regards, South Seas Island Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, IN

Wonderful hotel close to many beaches,pools,eating

Posted Jan 5, 2017
LOVE this resort. So much to do & see. Very relaxing. Every meal was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by SSIR, Hotel Management
Dear Beach Lover, We’re tickled to see that you love being our guest as much as we love having you here with us. Thank you for sharing your kind comments! We agree that our pools and beaches are the perfect place to relax and unwind, and are further enhanced by our delicious food and beverage offerings. We’ll be sure to pass on your remarks to our team who are always grateful for a pat-on-the-back. Again, we appreciate you sharing and can’t wait to welcome you again soon! Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Trussville, Alabama

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Location and friendliness of all staff GREAT WEATHER AND BEAUTIFUL VISTA OF THE SEA
Cons: Rooms need to be checked for everything to be in working order.
Location: Beautiful Paradise Island and is 5 Star resort and selling paradise. Food, beverages and adventure. Great weather, and family designation place
The South Sea Island was a wonderfully beautiful place very well located for that winter time get-away vacation. Beautiful scenery and great side trips shelling or marine life abundant. Ospreys were so close you could almost touch them. Beautiful beaches and Harbor was very interesting with its Christmas decor and parade for guest and Captiva Island regulars. Shopping and eating in walking distance. Like the Grande Hotel in Point Clear and Sea Side at South Walton Beach but more....
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Edward, It was a treat to welcome you and yours and we’re so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us! While we can’t take credit for the perfect weather and gorgeous views, we are very proud of our team and we’re thrilled that you appreciated their hospitality. Our Holiday Stroll is one of our favorite annual events that greats rave reviews from “kids” of all ages. We’re so glad you got to take part and we thank you for sharing your great review. It sounds like you made the most of your time with us and we can’t wait to host you on your next island getaway! Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Nice hotel on the beach with lots of wildlife

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The location and atmosphere
Cons: Cleaner bathroom in our room
It was a beautiful, peaceful place. My husband and I were only there for 2 days but would return again. The room was nice, the view was great. I was a little upset that the bathroom was not fully cleaned. Overall great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, We were delighted to host you and your husband on your recent beach vacation, and we appreciate you sharing your review. We’re so glad to see that you enjoyed your private island escape and got to relax and take in the beautiful views! Hopefully you returned to your “real life” fully recharged after a couple of days surrounded by nature. Please accept our apologies that your bathroom was not cleaned to our high standards, and rest assured that we will be reviewing your comments with our team to ensure your experience is not repeated. We thank you again for sharing and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! All the best, South Seas Island Resort