Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagan, MN

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We had a great time at this hotel. Beach and pool were perfect. Hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas. We loved that the hotel provided bikes. Just signed them out and away we went. We biked each day to lunch. The rooms were perfect. We had connecting rooms. One room had a full size fridge, sink, microwave, and stove. The other room had a mini fridge and microwave. And loved that breakfast was served in the room. Cereal, bagel, milk, orange juice, granola bars, and pastries. It was perfect for us. We will definitely stay here again when returning to Sanibel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent Staff and Property!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, great staff, on the beach, park close to your room, big clean pool, barbecue grill, shelling and fishing spots
We stayed for 10 days at the Sunset Beach Inn recently and were very pleased with the excellent staff, room, and location! James at the front desk was very helpful and kind throughout our stay, and the entire crew throughout the property couldn't have been more professional and nice. We had an issue with a sliding door lock on day 1, and they responded right away and fixed it immediately. The property is right on the beach, and the pool is very large with plenty of seating! We have a 6 year old son and 5 year old daughter that are learning how to swim and the shallow end of the pool was 36" to 42" for a good 10 feet in pool length before it drops to 4 feet then deeper, so there is plenty of space for smaller kids to swim and play. We would walk back and forth from swimming in the gulf to the pool all day long. The shelling and fishing from the beach in front of the resort is excellent. We have already recommended Sunset Beach to our friends, and look forward to returning again! Thank you all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Va

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Love the breakfast baskets they give you with cereals, milk, croissants/bagels, etc. Love having bikes right there to borrow and use the expansive bi
Cons: They have thought of everything!
Location: Perfect location within the island and on the beach and on the bike paths. The National Shell Museum was delightful to visit.
Our two night stay was delightful. We realize now how parking on the beach side is hard to find, so were grateful that this gem was right on the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hi Debbie, thank you for your review. I love love love the pictures and your pointers for our other guests. I am certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast baskets. We try to make sure they are appealing to everyone. I hope that we will be your choice for a hotel when you return to Sanibel for some more shells. Regards, Jason Trimble Reservations Manager The Inns of Sanibel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
This is a great hotel conveniently located on the beach. It has a nice pool as well! My stay was quiet and comfortable, just what I was looking for. My room had a full kitchen which was unexpected, but convenient for breakfast and lunch. There was a nice choice of restaurants that were close by, although a rental car is a MUST.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thanks for giving us a review and for giving some tips for other vacationers. I am glad you had a pleasant visit with us and I hope that you will come back to our hotel when you decide that another Sanibel vacation is needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold Spring, MN

Hotel has a variety of amenities

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The variety of amenities Breakfast in our room - we could eat whenever we wanted
Cons: Warmer pool
Location: Restaurants, shopping and Shell museum are a short drive from hotel
The hotel has a variety of things to do. It is right on the beach so you can search for sea shells, kayak or stand up paddle board (they have 2 of each), swim, watch beautiful sunsets into the Gulf. They also have a pool - which is not heated - was OK for me but my husband didn't go into because it was too cold. There are plenty of bicycles available which my husband used every day. There is also a place to clean your sea shells which is right next to 2 shuffle board courts. My husband and I played shuffle board while our daughter cleaned her shells. The breakfasts were not fancy, but it was great not having to go somewhere for breakfast. We went early looking for shells and then could come back to out hotel and eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; frigid pool

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Bikes available for checkout. Breakfast basket delivered with milk and orange juice was nice.
Cons: Actually having a heated pool as advertised.
Hotel was pleasant but the heated pool that was promised was not a reality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

wonderful huge pool and tennis court

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: laid back comfort and natural ocean setting
Cons: Recycling needs to be encouraged and practiced at this hotel
Location: Easy bike ride to the Ding Darling reserve
most happy with the Sunset including the large oceanfront pool and tennis court
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from snowy CT

The Valentines getaway.

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: quiet and not busy even though it was season.
Cons: The continental breakfast basket. We wish there were place to sit and have them outside to mingle with others.
Location: beach, beach, beach
Very very nice hotel. We are planning to come back to stay this hotel next year. The room is very clean, the facility is clean and very quiet. We enjoyed ourselves very much. What a gem! Plenty of amenities, huge clean pool with nice chairs and umbrella. The Gorgeous beach with chairs and umbrella. The kayaks and bikes are available. Vey very nice stayed we experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 star, but enough

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Sunset Beach Hotel is in a great location, and that's what you are paying for here. The Facility is old, and although they have put some cash in it in remodeling recently, it falls short of a functionally comfortable place. Examples: there were 3 of us staying in the room and we were supposed to get a cot. 3 trips to the front desk finally turned up a blow up mattress. Adequate, not grand. 3 adults in the room and only one towel bar in the bath. In fact only one towel bar in the place. No place to hang a kitchenette towel. only a few coat hooks near the door and no other place to hang wet stuff. We are on the gulf beach here, that isn't convenient. This place could make a few improvements like that and be much better. I would stay here again if the price was right.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

We had a great time and would stay here again.

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay on Sunset Beach - and you are right on the beach at this property! The room was good with a little kitchenette and large table at the front, an adequate sized bathroom and a good sized living/bed area. Plus the screened in balcony! Check in and check out were simple, housekeeping was efficient and the room was clean. We received a basket of breakfast items each afternoon and the orange juice was my favorite part - fresh squeezed! There were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas available on the beach and by the pool. We played shuffleboard and took advantage of the shell washing station. We also loved using their free bikes to explore the island! We would stay here again; it had everything we needed and more.