Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Usual vaca place for us to stay 3 years now

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Staff & cost.
Cons: Someone needs to figure out what's up with the smell coming from the air/heater when it runs for their future guests.
Location: Short driving distances to beaches, downtown activities, Manatee Park and Moose Lodge on Hwy 80 has good breakfast & lunch specials w/ friendly people
All was good except a bit noisy on first floor next to door and laundry room. There was also a stinky wet dog odor coming from the air/heater which had been previously serviced and we requested the filter to be changed which did help but when it ran you could still smell it, perhaps someone had spilled something in it??? Other than that we've stayed at this location while vacationing for the 3rd year now and had no problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Oh so different.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Where do i begin. The downsides are significant. Everything that you are used to have in other places are NOT available. NO hairdryer, no coffee maker, NO tissues, no toilet paper refills (HA!) no paper glasses no cheap cuttlery. How CHEAP of a business you gotta be!!! They want pure profit with tons of rules given to you upon check-in. And forget room service, clean towels and sheets. ALL is extra. Interesting business strategy. I guess it works for them and they dont care leaving a bad impression for their many customers who come and go. And yes, at least 4 cockroaches during our weekly stay. Should I say "thank you Value Place"? "Real true value".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: The whole hotel needs a make over
Location: Nice but would be nice to have a few more things closer to walk to
We found roaches in our room, went to turn on the kitchen sink and the faucet came off, went to pull down the blinds they fell all the way down, the hotel had an order of old, the only thing that was pleasing about the hotel was the staff. You have to rent everything you may need like pots , pans, and coffee maker. You have to put money on a card to do laundry and hope that you find away to use it all or you might be leaving them extra money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tlg

Near a swamp

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Any kind of bug that bites the room was infested.,.. Carpet dirty.....It is not worth it If you care about how you feel and look and not have bites on your skin don't go here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments as we work to improve our guest experience. We wish you the best in your future travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of Bugs in the room

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Bugs in the carpet that BITE Ants on the counters after I cleaned the room with bleach and sprayed for bugs the ants still came and I was attacked and bitten by the BUGs you can't see them but you can feel them AND the bites I would not recommend this hotel it's not worth it unless you want to sleep with bugs BUT if you have no money it's cheap bring your cleaning supplies it's NOT clean poor customer service what a messy mess and it comes with bugs that bite
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had some insect issues. We will continue to monitor and treat any bugs we find and appreciate you sharing with us that you had an issue.We want to assure you this is not representative of the service we expect to provide. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. We wish you the best in your future travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Not a nice place at all cockroaches. Every were. No talls. No room service. All smoking. Area. Was put in. Dirty. Sooo glad I did not spend much time. There bitten by bugs in bed. Not much good to say about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We strive to provide a clean, comfortable, and welcoming environment for our guests. We apologize your stay did not meet your expectations. We will look into everything you’ve brought to our attention and wish you the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Toilet would not stop running. Took maintenance two days to fix after
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience but I'm glad that it didn't have a big impact on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Clean the carpets.
The staff was very nice. The beds were awful and the carpet in our room made your feet brown. But the things we did ask the staff to clean or look at repairing they responded quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing such kind words about our staff. We will be sure to let them know their efforts did not go unnoticed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jeff

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable environment for our guests. We hope we did that for you during your stay. Thank you for choosing Value Place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Love this hotel! Area sidewalks would make traveling to nearby restaurants and eateries easier! The price is right and the nearby food is great too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you had an exceptional stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.