Ratings based on 1,634 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mooresville, NC

Great location!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach.
Location: This hotel is centrally located on Sanibel Island so it was easy to get to restaurants, stores, etc.
Our room was just steps to a beautiful beach. Quiet facility with a very nice pool area. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The only downside is that our room (standard with king bed), and especially the bathroom, was quite small. I was expecting more given the price of the room. But it was fine for our three day stay. It is an older hotel but its well maintained and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass.

Worth its price, but not a penny more.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Cons: Front desk staff attitudes; Wi-Fi consistency, wake-up call on request instead of flashing light, a few Large bath towels.
Location: Sanibel has always been a nice spot. With the many places to stay that have located there, the dining picture has improved a lot.
It was the kind of stay one would not classify as a resort exp. but an acceptable, reasonably priced place near the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel location perfect..

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness
Cons: Beds, pillows, air conditioning
Location: Perfect beach, bike riding
Room smelt musty with air conditioning on. Beds and pillows uncomfortable. All staff very kind and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homer Glen

Quiet room

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Close to beach.
Cons: Turn air on in the room a couple of hours before check-in to remove dampness from room.
Location: Resort has shuffle board, bags, pool, bike rental, and the beach. Lovely museum on other side of the island. Couple of other beaches, charge to park.
We arrived early and they had our room ready in about 20 min. but also invited us to change into our suits or beach clothes and enjoy the pool and beach while our room was being prepared. Given shelling bags and a map of the grounds. Map was explained and off we went. Beach is close to the resort, easy walk. The room was a comfortable size, king bed, chairs, tv. Bathroom was tight but adequate for 2 people. Very clean. Screened in "porch" was an added benefit. Included 2 chairs and a small table. Only complaint about the room was the damp feel of the bedspread, like the air conditioner was not removing the humidity. The feeling went away after a couple of hours so that may have been the case, you know, if the air was off between residents. most restaurants are located on the road which leads onto the island, a couple on the road the resort is on. good thing to remember at 8 at night when you are getting hungry and trying to find a place in the dark. All in all a pleasant place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel, beautiful setting.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Simple, clean and affordable.
Cons: New beds
Location: Nice quiet location. Shelling is fantastic. Biking the island was lots of fun.
Loved the quietness of the hotel and surrounding area, great for shelling. Very clean, good quality for the price. Need new beds! Highly recommend biking around the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern UT

Great central location, right on the beach!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Cleanliness upon arrival.
Location: Great beach right outside your doors. Shelling was as good as anywhere we found on the island. Lots of great locale food to choose from.
Quick getaway for my wife and I. The hotel is an older "beach-type" property. Not a lot of frills, but the staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was a gulf side room with direct access to the beach with just a few steps. The room could have been a bit cleaner upon arrival, but it was as nice as any true small town beach hotels we have stayed in. After travelling the island and visiting a number of beaches, I don't know that we could have picked a better all-around location for our stay. We will definitely visit them again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great hotel on beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Our first time at West Wind and we loved it. Great pool area...all rooms face the Gulf or gardens. We've stayed at several places on Gulf Drive and this is at the top of our list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great Location, helpful staff

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We WOULD return to West Wind for another vacation. If you are looking for a great location with a nice pool and the beach just steps away from your room, this is the place. Very clean with nice grounds. We had a room with a full kitchen, it was great if you do not like to eat out every meal. Staff was very helpful with fixing a problem we has with the fridg. Within no time at all ! We could not believe how fast and friendly they were. We had a room with a view of the Gulf and would ask for that view again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from conway SC

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Small and convenient right on a beautiful beach good for shelling.
Cons: More plugins
Location: Good for biking. Trail runs past hotel. Short ride to town. Last hotel in row. Not crowded in, spacious grounds.
The screened in porch was nice for sitting. It was right on the beach, which was what we wanted. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the smaller hotel. The kitchenette came in handy. If we return to Sanibel we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Great location great food patio wiat staff ok relaxing on the ocean would recommend. Nice amount of shells along beach ez ride to captiva.