Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Comfortable place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Very casual. No fuss.
Location: Short drive to grocery store and restaurants. Bicycle and kayak rentals available.
Nice grounds. Comfortable rooms. Can rent beach chairs and umbrellas, or bring your own. This was my 5th time to stay at the West Wind Inn. It probably won't be the last.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to Beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: cleanliness and location
Cons: Stop allowing smoking at pool
Stayed four nights with my wife and two daughters (9&10). Hotel is dated but extremely clean. Staff was very freindly and helpful. My only complaint would be that the hotel allows smoking at the pool and boy do people smoke there. I don't smoke myself and smoking doesnt really bother me but the situation at this pool was riduculous. My daughter even found cigarette butt floating in pool - nice. Great hotel but I really wish they would stop allowing smaoking at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mid atlantic states

Much better places in Sanibel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I have stayed here twice and each time gone away saying "It's just not worth it." The hotel staff is not very helpful and sometimes even rude. The location is a little further away than you think. The pool is nice, but bar closes at 8pm. Bike rental is a fee at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leawood KS

Great location - right next to the beach.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff was great - especially the lady who checked us in! The restaurant was very good - one of the best we ate at during our trip!
Cons: the Wi-Fi
Location: Our favorite places were the Day Spa at Periwinkle Place and the Island Cow!
The hotel is right next to the beach! The staff was wonderful, especially the front desk staff. The restaurant on the property was one of the best we visited during our trip. The pool is wonderful! The only drawback was the intermittent Wi-Fi. But they do have a computer center which is very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The hotel was nice and the beach was different. The beach lives up to expectations for so many she'll that my wife and I collected. It was a quite gateway for a few days. We bike around the island and it was very nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location for a great price!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This hotel is perfect for the hard worker who wants to get away and relax. Speed limit on the island is 30mph. There are no traffic lights. The hotel was very comfortable. The beach is beautiful with plenty of shelling opportunities. The staff is great. They are friendly and helpful. Doc Ford's is a great reasonably priced restaurant a few minutes down the road. Normandie on property has a good breakfast menu to start the day. Bring a good book and let the stress disappear.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel and close to the beach! Very friendly!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Loved his hotel! It was very easy access to the beach. They give you coupons for some of the restaurants around. The staff was really nice. Definitely a great time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice quiet older but well maintained hotel right on the beach. Beautiful beach and excellent staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: The location was convenient to everything and directly on the beach.
The room was very large, nice kitchenette and screened balcony looking onto beach. However, the room could have been cleaner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not so 4 star

Posted Jul 14, 2016
For a four star hotel the room was out dated. The beds were hard the carpet was dirty. Ask staff for a receipt and got a finger to my face telling me that's between me and Expedia as I did not book through them.