Ratings based on 1,669 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Second year in a row we stayed here for Spring Break and will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Had in laws from Germany visiting and the said it felt like a dream. Everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The bathroom vent was unable to do it's function . The bathroom needs a more powerful vent . We were able to easily here people in other rooms .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Run down hotel. Squeeky bed. No tissues. Bugs flying around sink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from decatur, al

Great beach front location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Beach front view. On-site restaurant. Pool with pool bar. Pool side restaurant.
Cons: Commode handles have to be held down until it flushes fully. Elevators. Room service.
Location: Grocery 2 miles away. Sitting right on the beach. Close to several restaurants. Located on a quieter and less congested part of the island.
First visit. Closest we have been to the beach. Great for handicap access. Was able to push wheel chair to beach. All amenities necessary for a very relaxing visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Location & pool

Posted Mar 14, 2017
My wife and I recently enjoyed a 5 night stay at West Wind Inn. We put this vacation together somewhat last minute, so the only room available when we booked was a 2 x double garden view room. Room was average, but did the trick for us. The shining gem for this property is the pool set-up. Nice sized pool/deck with plenty of chairs, nice views of the gulf, awesome raised upper deck pool side bar ( with even better view of gulf) and literally steps away from the beach. Nice shuffle board court next to the pool and happy hour with live music every evening. We biked everyday, so we also found the location of this property to be a big plus. Easy ride to Tarpon Bay, restaurants & shops, Bailey general store, Bailey tract trails, Ding Darling wildlife drive trails and shell museum. Also a super quick drive to Captiva. Front desk and housekeeping staff super friendly and helpful. Only negatives would be that the on site restaurant and even the pool bar seemed to be under staffed while we were there and the service was very average at best. The only other item would be that it is nearly impossible to reserve/rent beach chairs & umbrellas or bikes from the property. They do not have very many of either. You can rent all of these items from an off site vendor (Billy's), so it's not that big a deal as long as you are aware going into it. We really love the old style Florida charm that Sanibel delivers and the property lived up to that billing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Massachusetts

Wonderful location on the beach.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Would stay at this hotel again. Loved it here. Nice staff. Beautiful beach and heated pool. Nice room overlooking the pool and beach. Had a room with a kitchenette which worked out well for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great place!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Cons: The only improvement needed is with their free wifi that is way too spotty. Majority of the time it didn't even show up on my settings.
Location: Great location within easy driving distance of many restaurants, most of which have nicely varied menus including fresh seafood choices.
Very clean and cheerful room! We had a second floor room with screened in lanai overlooking the koi pond with a little bridge. We had a view of the Gulf as well. Front desk people very polite and cheerful. Housekeeping very good. Pool Deck has a full bar and serves lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant, Normandie, has a nice menu of delicious foods prepared and served in a timely manner. I definitely recommend the lobster bisque. Extensive wine list with a generous pour! Full bar with great gin and tonics! The wait staff is very friendly. Very nice pool area. I would definitely recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location little out dated

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great location hotel just okay. A little out of date and beds were not too comfortable. Kinda reminded me of a hotel I might have stayed at wih my grandparents in the 70s that someone attempted to update to the 2000 but did so at very little cost. Bathroom was super small. I cant say anything bad but I dont know if there is anything specifically about the hotel that was too great either. Nothing to write home about prob do more searching before I booked again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short get away to paradise

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, peacefulness , staff, perfect sized property not a 'Super structure'. very quaint .
Cons: I'll need to go back and think harder on that......
Location: Great variety of short cruises of variable interests, fishing, restaurants like Doc Fords!
Enjoyed the Island last November in a different facility- chose West Wind this time at expedia.com recommendation. With no " resort fee' (which is sometimes added on) what a delightful experience we enjoyed again here on Sanibel Island. Great recommendation and beach life here is so incredible you must try it yourself.