Ratings based on 1,737 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Relaxing stay at a good price

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect, the last resort on the island before the private condos. The beach was in great condition and the grounds were well kept.
Cons: The rooms were a little dated and small.
Location: Bicycle rentals, fishing, local restaurants are fabulous, Captiva island nearby.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 days and every afternoon the maid would replace our towels and make our bed. The pool was in excellent condition and the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We would love to come back in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MO

Caution: bed bugs

Posted May 21, 2017
We stayed 4 nights at the hotel in May. My legs, arms, and back got bitten by beg bugs very bad. At first my husband kept telling me it's not bed bugs. So the last night, we switched the side of the bed we were sleeping and he got bitten by beg bugs as well. I left the hotel with red bumps all over my body. I felt extremely bad leaving such a negative review, considering the front desk people are so nice and friendly. This hotel needs some professional bed bug treatments. Good locations though, with def competitive price. Please improve rooms/beds cleaning standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great if you like an old, dingy, damp room

Posted May 19, 2017
After reading other reviews, I was looking forward to a nice, clean, but maybe older room with wonderful grounds and beach. The grounds seemed well kept, but that's where my satisfaction ended. I would compare our room to the most budget of motels, even though it wasn't cheap. I normally stay at HI Express, Hampton, or Best Western and expect at least that level of amenities and cleanliness, so I'm not going in expecting 5 star. The room was very small, and I could have overlooked that due to age. However, it was also generally grimy with sticky floors and a musty smell like someone had peed in the corner. It was so damp and humid that towels hung for a full day still felt as wet as right after use. The air conditioner (really no more than a swamp cooler) ran constantly and sounded like a toilet flushing every time it cycled on and off. I'm pretty sure there was mold growing along one edge of the ceiling, and I spent the three days worrying about what the humidity would do to my expensive camera lenses. Not only would I not recommend it to friends, but I'd even tell folks I don't like much to stay away. Our experience was that bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great place to stay!

Posted May 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the West Wind Inn! The outside is gorgeous, great amenities and super close to the water. Hotel rooms are a little bit dated but still clean and we only were there to sleep and shower. Screened in porch was nice! Hotel staff was awesome. Food was decent but nothing spectacular. Overall we would stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort pierce fl.

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The grounds and the proximity to the beach.
Cons: The Bed for sure.
Location: Being located on an island made for a relaxing atmosphere. There are several good restaurants close by and the usual water sports are available
Overall the property was nice, the pool area was very nice. We were given a wheelchair accessible room even though we did not require one which was a problem because the shower floor is level with the bathroom floor which led to flooding every time you took a shower. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows were about the size of throw pillows. In addition the tile floors were sticker, I don't think the mopped them very often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Pleasant stay. Helpful staff

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Nice view from second floor rooms. Room 230. Housekeeping left us towels & bathroom supplies everyday even though we did not have them clean daily
Location: Bailey Matthews Shell Museum. A must see! Recommend the Live Tank Talk. Answered questions about things we've wondered about on the beach for years.
Nice basic rooms. We got one with a kitchenette which had a newer electric stove, small sink, microwave, and a full size refrigerator. The room was clean and the staff was very pleasant. They seem to work very hard to deliver a consistent level of cleanliness and service throughout the property. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Beautiful location, uncomfortable room

Posted May 12, 2017
The West Wind is beautifully located right on the beach in Sanibel. The grounds are well kept, and the pool and beach areas are awesome. Our room was a standard king size bed room that was really uncomfortable. It was very very damp in the room, even with the ac running all the time. The room seemed to have been recently made over but with the cheapest of finishes. The bed was extremely hard though the bedding was very clean and soft. The worse thing was the tiny damp bathroom that had a very narrow shower with a glass door that opened outwards right in front of the toilet bowl and was so awkward to get into. The door also dropped water all over the floor when you opened it after showering. It felt like a RV bathroom and hardly the kind of accommodations you would get for almost $300 a night. We loved our time on Sanibel and really enjoyed the beach at the West Wind but we will definitely be staying elsewhere when we make another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newfield, Maine

Well kept hotel on the Gulf of Mexico

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Well kept buildings , pool and grounds. Rooms are large enough to spend a week or more in without feeling cooped up. Kitchenettes and screened porch.
Cons: Don't change a thing- just keep up the good work!
Location: Great location just steps from the beach--swimming, sunbathing, shelling,fishing. Sightseeing, shopping,with nice restaurants nearby and on property.
Our first , but certainly not last trip to this hotel on Sanibel. There were lots of things to do around the property . The laid back atmosphere made the stay extremely relaxing and we can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Just like home

Posted May 6, 2017
Loved this hotel, small enough to be cozy yet offered everything we wanted. Great location off the Main Street yet close to restaurants and shopping. Right on the beach with wonderful screened porch including rockers. We appreciated things like nightlight in bathroom and grab bars in the tub. Definitely going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware Valley, PA

Nice hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: It met all my requirements. Beach, big pool, restaurant, nice room.
Cons: We had no complaints about anything.
Location: Everything in Sanibel is minutes away by car--general store, movie, nature preserve, restaurants. Captiva Island is a little further.
This was our second stay at the West Wind. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The pool is large and has a view of the ocean, with an elevated bar area. While we did not use them, there are tennis courts, bike rentals and shuffleboard. We come off season, and there is plenty of space. The Normandie restaurant on site is very good. And of course the shelling is fantastic. The coastline did seem to have suffered from erosion. The beach chairs were set back close to the dunes. There was also strong wind over the course of out three day stay which was cooling but made the surf rough.