Ratings based on 1,636 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel-Good Location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This hotel is nothing spectacular. The rooms are very average and the beds aren't very comfortable. It is clean but shows its age. The beach is very nice and it has a big heated pool which was a big plus. The little restaurant on site is surprisingly good. This hotel is located at the very end of all the resorts making it more quiet and away from the busiest parts of the island. Staff is very nice. If you plan on spending your time at the beach or the pool you'll be happy. If you have to have a fancy comfortable room, then look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Would stay here again

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Very close to the beach.
Cons: Wine glasses in the room had mouth marks on them from the previous user. In htheir defense, I did not bring this to anyone's attention during my stay.
Location: Close to wildlife refuge; restaurants, beach. Lots of bike paths for safe bike riding.
Hotel staff were very nice. They had a free Valentine's day brunch poolside which was a very nice surprise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach. We had a room wit

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. We were able to take in the environment and relax. We were an adult couple on our first childless vacation is decades
Location: I walked the beach every day...30 minutes out and then back. Great relaxing exercise.
It's a short walk to the Gulf beaches, and that's what you go to Sanibel for. Convenient for shelling in the morning and watching the sunset with the beach crowd and just steps away from your room. The pool was clean, warm and has a deep end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, IL

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Had a wonderful time! Had a good time! Perfect location. Beach is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Nice location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Staff was great. Someone kept smoking on their balcony, though no smoking policy, ruined our enjoyment of our balcony. Rooms were clean but aging. Great being on the beach, but was disappointed with cloudy/silty water. Not a clean white sand beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

February Break

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Exceptional beach with god sunsets. The room had a fully equipped kitchen so for longer stays one could prepare several meals in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

As advertised

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at West Wind. Everything was as advertised. Pool and beach were great. Access to other locations in Sanibel was easy. We would come back again. Others have commented on spotty internet coverage. I believe the issue is one of capacity and not coverage. At certain high-traffic times, access is dropped. Additional/bigger routers should fix.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

very dated but close to beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very dated and unclean room. Close to beach and nice pool. Would not stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
A good hotel but parking was limited and they had no hot Tube to relax in on a chillier day. Our comforter looked a little dirty but sheets underneath were clean. Overall I enjoyed this hotel but next time I will go somewhere that also has a hot tub,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Beautiful setting on the beach. Good food and bar service at pool and excellent restaurant. Very stern, unfriendly older woman works at lobby desk.