Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Bare basics only.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location.
Sink, refrigerator included. No coffee maker, no coffee cups, or anything in that area. Two plastic cups in bathroom. 4 bath soaps, no shampoo. No lamps. Only bright overhead lights. No curtains. No pictures on the walls. Cheap towels. Bathroom floor was dirty. But they did leave a laundry basket. Office was NOT even open when we left at 9:30 am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Staff is not available 24 hours. For a longer stay, house keeping is every week. Noisy doors and noisy people at the hallway. There were croaches and other bugs and no one took care of it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

To Stay To Sleep And Go Is Good.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
If You Book This Facility Is Better You Bring Your own T O W E L . Next Time I Don't Stay There. I Don't Recommending, Don't Like. I Make Some Complain I Never Received Answer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hb

Horrible hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The ac in the room was off and the room stinks terrible ... Everything looks old ..the bed is not comfortable 2 worst pillow .. The carpet was dirty etc etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments as we work to improve our guest experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Lower End Accommodation

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: nothing
I booked this hotel only because the price was good. And that was a mistake. It is actually quite low end accommodation: no shampoo in the bath, only soap, officially the housekeeping service is every other day but for 5-night stay the room was cleaned only once. They also don't change the sheets. Extra housekeeping (outside the 2-3days schedule) costs $25. Forget about breakfast or any kind of other services. It seems like many people checkout earlier because the staff told me literally "If you didn't like it and want to leave earlier, there is no refund". The daily rate was $100 and that was too much for what I've got. Honestly, the other places around were like $150 and over and still this place didn't worth even half of what they asked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
The Value Place team deeply apologizes for your negative experience during your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned will be addressed and handled. It is our mission to provide our guest with a positive experience, and in your case, we are deeply sorry that you were not pleased. We wish you the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Keep looking for another hotel...

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Not much. Really just the location...close to the highway.
Cons: You don't need to treat people like royalty, but for that money you have to give them something besides a bed.
They market themselves as a budget hotel, but they are NOWHERE near cheap enough considering how bare bones the hotel is. I read some bad reviews before our stay, but I (mistakenly) ignored them. I am about as far from picky as it gets, and I needed an affordable place for my friends and I to stay. That said, I didn't think we would be given 1 towel each for our entire 5 day stay (and told we'd have to pay extra for more towels), I didn't think the whole hotel would smell horribly, and I definitely didn't expect to be taking out my own trash. We asked for a cot since there were 3 of us staying in a 2 bed, and they looked at us like we were crazy. We had to go down to the local walmart and buy an air mattress. If this place was $60 a night, it would make sense. It's not. I don't understand how they charge what they do when all they offer is a place to sleep. Again, I am as far from picky as it gets, but I would NEVER stay at this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We apologize for failing to provide you with a wonderful stay. We will be utilizing your feed back to work towards improving our location. Our goal is to provide our guest with an exceptional stay but it seems we have come up short. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you well on your future travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Quick & friendly service when we experienced a problem with our toilet.
Received a phone call on the day we were to check in saying they had no studio rooms with 2 double beds available. We could rent a studio with 1 double bed though. I told them I was not happy since I had booked & paid for this room over 4 months earlier and called to confirm our reservation a few days prior to arriving. I checked around and could not find any hotels with last minute vacancy for anything close to the price we were going to pay. That's not surprising since it was in Ft. Myers during spring break. We ended up spending the week in a studio with 1 double bed. Except for not sleeping comfortably, the room was what we expected. Expedia refunded the price difference since we rented a cheaper room. We also received a $50 coupon to be used on a future Expedia reserved hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
First I'd like to apologize that we did not have a double bed room available for you. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We take all guest feedback very seriously and will address everything you've brought to our attention. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: a regular pest control service
There were too many cockroaches, and we had to tell the manager what to use to get rid of them. They should really have a regular pest control service to keep them at bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We apologize for finding insects in the room. The room and the rest of the hotel will continue to be monitored for any infestation problems. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 29, 2016
The room was plenty big big enough. It was a working mans motel. Not a place I would recommend for peopel on vacation. While we were there we noticed a couple of cockroaches. I don't know if that is a big deal for a motel in Florida or not. There was also an odor of pot in the hallway one day. Everybody I met while at the motel were friendly. I never had any concerns while staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We value all comments left by our guests so we can make necessary changes. We want our guests to have a positive experience when staying at Value Place. We are glad overall we could do that for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highland IN

Convenient.....

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: New beds, pillows, and linens, to start
The hotel was close to the Lee County Civic Center, where I was visiting. That was the best thing about this hotel. The kitchenettes are plus too. Other than that, I wasn't impressed. The whole floor smelled like cigarette smoke. Even with the building being "smoke" free...Will not stay here again...sorry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your customer insight. We apologize for the inconveniences you did have during your stay with us. The matters at hand will be addressed. Thank you for choosing Value Place, and hope you will give us another try.