Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alpine TX

Posted May 17, 2017
The only improvement might be an elevator--but the desk clerk offered to carry my bags! Murals in main lobby are great, room was large, everything was great. Especially our "human elevator." Love Texas hospitality!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Sul Ross

Posted May 14, 2017
Nothing remarkable; wasn't my first choice but it was graduation weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Staff was friendly and courteous, rooms were very clean and the beds and pillows extremely comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annandale

Better Than What I Expected

Posted May 5, 2017
I was looking for an inexpensive yet comfortable motel with free WiFi and breakfast. This motel well met my needs plis more. The bed was one if the most comfortable ones I've slept in in my travels. Breakfast was a full breakfast, and not just coffee and pastries. I'll certainly return if I visit the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Comfortable room. We paid $100 a day and we kept getting an add for our hotel for $82.50. That was disturbing to us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Outdated facilities, but great location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Very courteous and 24-hr available staff. My room was right beside a tree so I could watch birds.
Cons: Fixtures (sink faucet). Hot / cold direction was backwards. Also a room with two beds needs two chairs as well.
Location: Big Bend National Park is approx. 100 mi. south. GREAT birdwatching opportunities down there, especially in early morning and at dusk.
I stayed here because I was visiting Big Bend National Park and I stay with Quality / Day / Comfort Inn / Suites out of habit. The service was great as usual (except for room cleanup forgetting the new coffee packets), but this particular Alpine hotel building had strange / insufficient setup. The faucet on the sink was very very very short, such that you almost had to bump your toothbrush against the back wall of the basin to get the bristles wet. The bathroom was fairly tiny, and the room only had one chair although it had two beds. In general, I would say it is OK if you are prepared for "roughing it" (in 1st world terms) :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pipe Creek, TX

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Comfortable room.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff.
Location: The locations is right on Hwy 90. Was easy to find.
This is an excellent hotel. The room was nice and the hotel was quite. It is in a good location, easy to find. The free breakfast was decent. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Ok hotel, decent choices for breakfast and overall clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good value for staying near Big Bend

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Staff were very helpful. Nice place for morning breakfasts for kids (yogurt is the protein). There were 4 things about the room that were reported to staff. They seemed concerned and wrote everything down. If you are dropping down to Big Bend, this place is as close as any another and the price is fair
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Just OK

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Staff on a Spring Break week needs to be increased. They could not keep up with the breakfast items--we went elsewhere and paid instead.
Location: Big Bend, McDonald Observatory, Ft. Davis park and actual fort, Ft Davis downtown, Marfa Lights and Marfa art works, and Prada Marfa.
The beds are not in the best shape (sag to middle), and let's face it--we get a room to sleep. The door keys kept deactivating and on our last night, the battery or whatever kept beeping like a smoke detector. They did not fix it so it went off all night and the staff acted as if it was no big deal.