Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
old all around. needs new mattresses for sure. staff is great, but the property is aged
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Very nice place close to beach!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location, price and nice pools
Cons: Some of the bartenders were less than friendly.
Location: Very close to restaurants and other activities. Boardwalk is next door. Location is a big PLUS!
We stayed for a week, first time at this property. It's a older hotel that has been well maintained. Great location on the Destin side of Ft Walton Beach. We loved the various pools in the "middle" though we couldn't enjoy the main pool with the Grotto Bar because the water was too cold (early Sept). We ate at the restaurant once and the breakfast was OK. The bar near the lobby is nice though a few - not all - of the bartenders were less than friendly. Maid service was very prompt and timely each morning and those ladies did a very good job. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and plan to return to this Ramada next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We hope you had a fantastic time here with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homosassa, Florida

In a Panic. Running from Irma

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: We had a safe haven where the grounds were truly beautiful.
Cons: Exhaust fans need to be installed and the carpets sanitized often (like every day) in the rooms.
Location: The Gulf of Mexico beach was right there which was lovely. Lots of outlet shopping not far away. All kinds of restaurants were everywhere close.
We had booked a room in Apalachacola and were told that we had to evacuate due to storm surge. We finally found this room at the Ramada. The hotel was lovely. The food was a bit pricey . Lots of children and dogs; to be expected due to Irma. The hotel needs to put in an exhaust fan to take the moisture from the steam away. After a couple of days, the carpet really really stunk. It smelled like an old wet dog - they need to be cleaned often. There was no ventilation to air it out. The beds were comfortable and the staff attentive. A staff person witnessed a piece of the roof falling on our car and said that the hotel would compensate for the damage. Two days later, he said we should just meet with our insurance guy. We were grateful that we had a room even though we did not stay all 5 days but the hotel is starting to look a little tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Shelter During The Storm

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Staff!!!!
Cons: heat the pool with the waterfalls...I felt like an ice cube...but the kiddos still enjoyed it switching between the hot tub and ice tub. ;-)
Location: Ft Walton Beach, FL....beach
My family, along with hundreds others, evacuated our homes before Hurricane Irma changed many lives forever. Believing that we were safe from the storm in Ft Walton Beach, Florida, needless to say the Hurricane kept changing course and going further west. Many guests decided to leave, but then again many new guests were arriving. Confused and unsure of my family's safety I called the local police department who said that if a cause for concern arises, they will inform the hotel staff to evacuate their guests. With that settled, I started wondering if we would be able to get clean towels for the rooms, thinking that housekeeping would slim to none during the storm....WRONG, like clockwork, housekeeping kept making their rounds ensuring that the rooms were serviced and guests had the items that they needed. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles whenever we asked for additional coffee pods and asked if there was anything else they could do during our stay. Thank you Ramada for being our Shelter During the Storm!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so sorry that you had to evacuate for Irma, but hope everything back home turned out okay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again, but for much better reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Wonderful pools and things to do. Staff is very helpful...very well maintained property..elevators overworked but just take the stairs!!! Location is great. My only complaint is the hotels smoking policy. They say no smoking in ANY bid us..ok. But ground floor patios have ashtrays why no ashtrays on balcony rooms? I have no problem not smoking in the room but the balcony should be ok for smoking. I saw other people doing it...what's up??
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great rating! We hope you loved your time here with us. We do not allow smoking in the rooms, but if you have a balcony or patio it is permitted. The next time you stay, just request an ashtray and one will be brought to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice location, hotel needs work

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great location, friendly staff. Rooms need to be updated or at least the carpet needs to be replaced. Carpet was dirty and with an awfu smelll. Shower heads are low, water barely comes out. We found bugs all over the room including on the beds. This was the 2nd time there but will definitely not be coming back. Very disappointed. For the price they charge a night they should be able to do updates to all rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We're sorry that you did not have a great experience here with us. We hope you will come back again in the future, and give us another chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ponte vedra, fl

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Was close to the beach and had an awesome pool. Bathtub drain was slow to drain .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your good rating and review. We hope you enjoyed your stay at our resort, and will come back again on future trips to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Very nice hotel lots to do. Great location friendly staff . Typical rooms with free safe. Nice pool areas next to the beach. My only complaint was shower water way too hot. Could not take cool or lukewarm shower. Shower head way too low. Other than that very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great rating! We hope you loved your time with us, and will come back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
One of last choices available prior to hurricane, far enough west in panhandle, but being an older hotel building would not choose it for business or vacation. Fine for families on a budget who are at the beach all day and just use room to sleep. Building does not have much serviceable life left. Property overall in excellent beachfront location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your good rating and feedback. We're sorry that you had to evacuate from Irma, but hope you enjoyed your time here with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and the pool bar
Cons: update the paint, and keep the bars open longer
Location: there is nothing to do here, but a lot to do that was within 10 mins
Yes it was on the beach which was good. Rooms were out dated and the bars all closed up to early. Tiki bar and pool bar closed at sunset. That ment we had to go walk next door and drive to Dustin to have a good time
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Jamie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and will come back again.