Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best hotel!!

Posted May 7, 2017
Loved the castle! Highly recommend this place. Wonderful staff, food, rooms and grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Historic Scottish Castle Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything, from the decor to the surrounding gardens and woods, from the quality of food and wine to the friendliness of staff. Especially the staff!
Cons: Very little.
Location: Under Ben Nevis, take a gondola up to the higher slopes. Amazing views.
My family & I finished our tour round the Scottish Highlands at Inverlochy Castle. The perfect end to a beautiful trip. Apart from the historically romantic surroundings, the staff are so engaging, attentive & friendly. In our private dining room we had an enjoyable conversation about famous architects with a Portuguese architecture student waiter. Interested in wine, listening to the knowledgeable and enthusiastic sommelier discuss the wine pairings with each delicious course, I am looking forward to trying some of the wines we were presented with. This is where the personal touches set this hotel apart from others. We will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Rafael CA

Great Experience

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The beds could be longer.
Location: Location is beautiful. Came and left so have no idea what to do other than luxuriate at the hotel.
I've always looked at Inverlochy Castle as a place I thought would make an exceptional stay. I was not disappointed, even though this is an ultra expensive hotel. Our junior suite was sumptuous with everything done tastefully. The staff was very professional and capable. Our dinner was excellent, and at £67/person a bargain. The grounds are lovely as well. All in all a terrific visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious castle hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The property is elegant and the service attentive. Dinner menu is multi-course and changes nightly. The food was excellent and beautifully prepared. They were very accommodating about substituting courses if you didn't eat certain things.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

The Savoy of the North

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Inverlochy Castle is superb in every aspect. Think of the elegance and comfort of The Savoy in London and you have this at Inverlochy Castle. We dined with wine pairings from the Taster Menu and it was sublime. Excellent service in every way. Great position from which to explore the beauty of the highlands of Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The wonderful views, harp in the foyer and the room service breakfast. Try the porridge with whiskey!
Cons: Unclear what was included and what was above the high room cost. More info upfront would have been helpful.
The castle hotel is lovely, but -- as others have indicated -- it is rather overpriced. Having breakfast included helped, but at these prices I would think afternoon tea and dinner would also be included. Probably only worth it for someone with means or a really big splurge. I'm glad we stayed here, but was only able to balance out the steep cost by staying for next to nothing at other places on the trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
A truly wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff interactions with suggestions of attractions and activities.
2 out of 5
by Malcolm from Bromley

Looks great needs more maintenance.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst the hotel was set in the most magnificent gardens and surrounding countryside, it was most suited to overseas visitors looking to enjoy an historic setting, the actual hotel itself was lacking in true quality and was rather run down and in need of proper maintenance. It looked absolutely fine on first sight but look a little deeper and it was obvious that more money was spent on the piano than on the actual building with cracked paint, rotting window frames and crumbling steps leading to the rear garden it was a little disapointing for the cost. There was also a rather quaint tradition of needing to wear a jacket for dinner, fine on a cool autumn night but rather impractical on a warm summer evening with no air conditioning. I confess I was in the monority with my views as all the other guests seemed to love the hotel and were oblivious to any defects.