Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was comfortable - a bed to sleep in

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Cons: WIFI
Parking directions prior to arrival would have been helpful. The room was clean, couldn't access the WIFI. The front reception staff helpful - she provided us with umbrella's due to the down pour that was going on outside. So thank you for that. The room was either recently renovated - or in progress of renovations- the wall in the bathroom - the painting has not be completed, but no smell of fresh paint - so not sure how long it has been partially painted? Mystery at the Breakfree :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Close to my function

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: No comment
Location: Very good for functions in the Valley
Slept, woke up and left. I have nothing further to add.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
"internet" provided was only 500mb so in fact there is no internet provided but fine otherwise
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Fauve, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We have free Wi-Fi available at the property. Depending on your length of stay depends on the amount of internet MB you receive. You are always welcome to ask at reception for additional if the amount given is not enough, the team is always happy to help. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you return to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Fauve Kapitz General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bundaberg

Posted Oct 24, 2017
... The stay was comfortable and uncomplicated. The accommodation is central and convenient to the city. It provided the minimum requirement for accommodation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Fauve, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Richard, Thank you for your honest feedback, great to read you had a comfortable, uncomplicated stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next journey to Brisbane. Kind regards, Fauve Kapitz General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Poor experience

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Dreadfully small, old and gloomy. Extremely over-priced for what we got. Not worth the 4 star rating. Would not recommend and would never stay there or any other break free after this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Fauve, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Linda, My sincere apologies that you did not have a great experience during your stay here. We have a number of different size rooms located throughout the building and from what I understand you stayed in our hotel rooms type on the lower floor. This room type is our smallest room though there is an option to upgrade for a small fee if the availability is there. Our front office team are always more than happy to help look at options to move you rooms to ensure that you have a enjoyable stay. Again, my apologies for the experience you had during your stay with us. Kind regards, Fauve Kapitz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld

Cheap

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Very hard to park when arriving for reception check in. Also no DVD player in room as mentioned in Expedia advertising, must only be in the more expensive rooms? Cheap & relatively convenient. Secure free parking!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Fauve, Hotel Management
Good afternoon John, Thank you for your feedback. It is difficult to park out the front of the building when checking in though you are more than welcome to park in the visitors car park to check in first then move your car into the secure car park after checking in. Due to all rooms being owned separately by owners throughout the hotel letting pool some rooms do not have DVD players, the rooms do differ. My apologies that the DVD players were mentioned within the advertising on the website we will have to have this amended. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay on your next trip to Brisbane. Kind regards, Fauve Kapitz General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld

Convenient

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Good location, free parking, room was clean. TV was on and blasting when we arrived at 9:30pm. Controller didn't work but we managed to turn it down and change channels via the buttons on the side of the screen. Reception and after hours staff were friendly. No frills but a handy and a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hervey Bay

Great hotel in fortitude valley

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Wotif
The room was very spacious with comfortable furniture. Very big patio that was unexpected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coffs harbour

Basement Prison Cell

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Wotif
Seriously THE worst "hotel" stay ever. A jail cell has more windows and comforts. Absolutely horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
Had a great time, room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful