Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our needs

Posted Feb 12, 2018
A bit pricey.not much more to add. The whole area seems too pricey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Posted Jan 14, 2018
A very nice place to stay for the night, helpful friendly staff, comfortable modern rooms. The breakfast was some of the nicest food we had on the West Coast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Comfortable stay with a nice view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on Wotif
A comfortable stay. WiFi was very inconsistent and didn’t work most of the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be called Heartless.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Very sadly my husband had a massive heart attack at the Fox Glacier walk. To be fair, our suitcases had a great stay, but my husband was flown to Greymouth and subsequently to Christchurch, so the people didn't stay in the hotel. I was not offered a refund, for the second night when not even our suitcases were there, I was not offered sympathy, I was not offered anything in the way of support. The hotel was advised by the local police, so they can't plead ignorance. The people not associated with the hotel were great. My husband is still in a serious condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Good accommodation close to Glaciers

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on Wotif
Welcoming staff, super clean room, fully furnished. We did not have dinner, but the breakfast was yummy. Nice location for a visit to the Glaciers, we will come back when possible!
5 out of 5
by kushal

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 28, 2017 on Hotels
its a great place to stay for touring aroung fox glacier
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Gladys, Hotel Management
Dear Kushal, Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback. We are glad you enjoy your stay and shared your experience with us. Kind regards, Gladys Bargallo Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Soft bed caused problem

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very soft bed, too soft to sleep until 5am then woke up by someone knocking the door at 9:40 asking for checking out at 10am. Well, we got one hour extension and managed to leave at 10:20. First time in many years travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mumbai

best hotel to stay in fox

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: location and room
Location: heli hiking and the last kitchen indian restaurant nearby
the staff is very helpfull and friendly and the location is very conviniently located near the fuel pump and the office for heli hiking is also nearby and its on the state highway so we have restaurants nearby the hotel.the room were well maintained.we enjoyed our stay at heartland will recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Gladys, Hotel Management
Dear Yagnesh, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. The team appreciates all your feedback and we are very glad you had a fantastic stay. Kind regards, Gladys Bargallo Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Sandra

It Is Ok

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
The room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. As previous reviewers have stated low on shelving and space for clothes. We much prefer the Motels we've been staying in which are not only cheaper but have larger rooms. Still it is very conveniently located and was only for one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location and that you were comfortable in your room. Kind regards, Gladys Bargallo General Manager