Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Tom

In Need of TLC

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Weirdly allocated disabled accommodation!?! Neither of us has any disability & found the room rather tired & in need to upgrading. Car parking was available & the hotel is conveniently positioned for basic, local amenities. Fox Glacier & Lake Matheson are a short drive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Comfortable but very noisy.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Central to where we wanted to be.
Cons: Sound proof the rooms from external noise
Location: Location could not be better in the heart of glacier country
Fans, motors , airconditioning external to the room were running all day and night, after the first night we were moved to a different room but from 8pm until after midnight it was as noisy as the first, not good for a $200 per night hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Small room on the Main Street.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
There is another Heartland Hotel across the street, our bus driver took us there instead, so we were walked to our correct hotel by a staff member. Nice little room, tiny bathroom with no water pressure in the shower, and the walls were pretty thin for a light sleeper. The guy at reception was great, friendly and helpful with suggestions. All in all, a nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Ian

No room for clothes!

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Since we were only staying one night on route travelling south we were reasonably happy with it however there was nowhere to hang up clothes, i.e. no hanging rail or even a hook for a jacket, and the website said there was a bar and restaurant but these were closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Beautiful location in a quiet wee town

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Wotif
We had to wait to locate the receptionist when checking in, but the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Fox Glacier is a beautiful wee town, a great place to relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean newly decorated rooms.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Nice room, outside needs some tlc. Bar closed at 8.30 a bit too early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor option if other accommodation is available.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Small room with tiny en-suite bathroom. Noisy. Breakfast was almost inedible with food dried out and lack of many items. Dining room not open for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

older hotel, rooms renovated, ensuite a bit small

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location, directly opposite tour office. For the size town it was reasonable
Cons: car parking, double glazing to exterior windows
the room was pleasant and, for the location, ok. The ensuite was small and lacked a shelf on which to place toiletries, etc: The licences cafe next door was very noisey until late which was a real pain. Soundproofing between rooms could have been improved during the renovations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.C., Canada

Okay hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
It's not too bad of a hotel. It's pricey for what you get. The room is fairly small and cramped
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Wotif
Comfortable stay. Not overly luxurious. Staff were friendly and rooms are modern. A good short stay.