Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only one available

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: The desk staff were nice and friendly
Cons: The hotel is very old and looks very sadly in need of updating
Location: Glacier flights were great
The second worst hotel we stayed at. No on site parking. Had to lug bags up the stairs. Very old and in need of painting, general upgrades, double glazing etc, etc.
3 out of 5
by Surender S from Jaipur

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very small room and very small bathing area n toilet. Amenities in room are lesser than those provided by others in that area. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Adrian from Noosa

Basic but acceptable

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
We found the basin in the main room not in the bathroom to be an odd touch. As a last minute booking and having read some bad reviews, we weren't expecting much and it wasn't as bad as we feared. The rooms are old fashioned and there's no AC but it was fairly cool the night we were there. Wifi dropped out a few times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is due for renovation. Facilities limited.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Very friendly front office staff.
Cons: Improved facilities.
Location: Location excellent and right in village. Lake Matheson very close by.
We had six people staying in two units. Both units only had towels for two people - not three. In view of weather conditions water was yellow. Bathroom needs to be renovated.
3 out of 5
by francois-xavier

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pauline L.

visit with overseas visitor

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on HotelClub
Excellent location to get the Glacier and Lake Matheson experience. If not eating at the hotel restaurant, there are plenty of great eating places close by. Would be happy to stay here again in future.
3 out of 5
by William from Haleiwa, Hawaii

How do we see the Glaciers!

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is fair, not dirty, but older. Limited parking if you check in late afternoon. Good restuarants in area. Was not impressed with the management. In the morning I asked if you could hike to Glaciers, and manager said you couldn't unless you hired a Helicopter!? We found out that we could hike to both Glaciers, by driving to end of road. Manager's family must own Helicopter tours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 13, 2016
check in was fabulous, hotel receptionist was very warm and welcoming. The reception area and bathroom were very clean! However the room was not as clean. The carpet looked like it was ready for a major clean. Bed was comfortable. The walls were so thin you could hear everything going on outside. Late arrival guests were noisy and those departing early had alarms on that went on from 5am. So it was difficult to get some reasonable rest.
4 out of 5
by JIE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by YUEN PING from Hong Kong

Cheated by Heartland Hotel Glacier Country‏

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
I can't leave my ratings or reviews on this hotel because the hotel was closed for business on the day we arrived. And there was a notice indicated that guests should direct call the reception desk of 'Heartland Hotel' where located 2 mins walk to opposite side. When we arrived 'Heartland Hotel', the manager said that we were upgraded to this hotel. He apparently lied. We booked a triple bed room with balcony but we got a single room. Then we strongly complained the reception to give us the room type which we booked. The reception said that there were only 2 rooms left, if we were not satisfied, we might go to find another hotel. Finally, we got the room type which we booked. We were cheated by the hotel as the hotel was closed for business, it should not offer booking online. They still offer booking at Hotels.com on the day we arrived. Besides, the dishonest manner of the manager and the reception desk cannot be accepted. Furthermore, we were forced to transfer the hotel and then were given the cheapest room.