Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bed

Posted Jan 22, 2018
It was a place to lay our things and our heads during our one night stay for the Pats game. Pros: The staff were great and accommodating. It was a convenient walk to and from the stadium. No pests. Cons: The room was disappointing. There was still evidence of someone else's stay: shaven hair, sock under the bed, etc.; iron but no board, & didn't want to touch the tub. The bed seemed clean enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

The Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
The hotel was old and tired looking. We expected that based on some of the reviews we read. However, the place was dirty. There was no one at the front desk. There was a phone there with a sign to tell you to dial 0 for assistance. No one seemed to care about customer service etc. This place would be good for a bunch of people that just needed a place to crash after a football game. Other than that it should be avoided. I don’t blame staff I blame management as it is quite obvious they don’t care about the place at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, Thank you for your review. We are saddened to see that you did not enjoy the experience that you deserved here in Foxboro. Please accept our apologies for any issues with cleanliness and for not providing the service that you desired. You are right to expect more and your insight will be shared with our team to ensure that we are taking the proper steps to provide a superior experience in the future. Please allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our positive changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from foxborough mass

Barely got what you paid for.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
No one to greet you at the desk. Room not clean. Asked for blankets didn’t receive them. Nice people work there but disappointing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the type of experience that you should have had at our property. All guests deserve to be welcomed by a member of our team and accommodated throughout their time here. While we appreciate the kind words you shared about our employees, we understand we can do better and hope to have a chance to impress you next time you are in Foxboro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Stale smoke smell in room. Fridge leaking. Not happy with room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, Thank you for taking the time to tell us what we could have improved about your stay with us. We regret that our accommodations didn't meet your expectations but we'll use your helpful feedback about your room to guide us in continuing to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll think about giving our hotel another try in the future and give us the opportunity to change your impression.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from foxboro, mass

Staff accommodate my needs very well.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
I could check in around 10 am. Room was clean but with old linen but fresh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback with regards to your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Location: The location is good if you need to stay overnight for an event at Gillette Stadium as it is just a few minutes drive.
I stayed here for a company holiday party at Gillette Stadium as it was a cheaper option to the Renaissance. The staff was friendly, room was clean, and there were basic amenities (wifi, breakfast, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryer, etc.) I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, United Kingdom

Posted Dec 2, 2017
We booked in for 3 nights. First there was no public transport to Foxborough so we had to get a taxi. Check in was swift. We had a large room, but on the Sunday we were disturbed by people wanting the room. Turns out they were football Season Ticket holders and used the room on game days. We were able to keep the room and on discharge on the Monday the manager was apologetic and refunded us some of the room cost. Thank you for this
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Gilette Stadium
Cons: Update everything
Location: Gilette Stadium
The first room I was given had a broken security lock and a non-functioning phone and it had an actual key, not a key card. The second room I was given was right next to the door to the hallway, so it was very loud, but it did have a key card. Overall the room was very worn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ruth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels