Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Fantastic place to stay. Perfectly positioned to see the falls on the Brasil side. Hotel has a worldly charm. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Falls

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The falls are right outside the front door. Excellent hotel with a great staff. The breakfast and dinner buffets are not to be missed. Ask for Miguel Vera to be your driver and tour guide. The falls must be seen from BOTH sides to be fully appreciated. If you are lucky,Miguel will take you to his favourite restaurant, on the Argentinian side where you will have some of the best fish dinners you have ever had, in such large portions, you had better go hungry. Definitely a bucket list trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Location and staff are 5 star.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is old but has been updated nicely. The staff are the best we have seen anywhere. Location is great. Right beside of the falls. We watched 2 toucans in the tree outside of our window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location with glorious views

Posted Dec 11, 2016
What an amazing situation! We had views from our bedroom window of the falls and could see then by day and by night. The staff were very helpful and attentive and all spoke some English which makes life easier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Fantastic experience. Staff are all very friendly. Food at the restaurants are great, especially the one that only opens for dinner (Itaipu?). Only suggestion is that when customers need to go back to airport, they drop off at airport. Currently they drop off in their shuttle at the park entrance. If they drove for another 3 minutes, they would reach the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Amazing Hotel Amazing Location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: First Class Service, Amazing Location directly across the street from the Falls. Easy access with shuttle to attractions withing the park.
Cons: Nothing it was perfect
Location: Right across from the Falls, Macau River ride is amazing, just out side of park helicopter rides
This Hotel was Amazing, the location, the staff, the food all were first class. The level of service they provide is fantastic. The location is as close to the Falls as you can get, simply just have to walk across the street. Also, super easy to use the shuttles to get around to the top locations within the park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, United States of America

The true surprise at das Cataracts

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The Staff, the setting, the ambiance, the hospitality of the Resort. Everyone is trying to make you comfortable. At Breakfast, the Buffet is good.
Cons: The Food. At Dinner the boring Buffet could be improved by adding more A La Carte items. The Pasta Selection is outstanding. The Rest, hit and miss.
Location: The Cataracts.
I've been at the Das Cataracts Resort several times and it's always an overwhelming experience. Since I like to return again once I'm In the Neighborhood, say, Buenos Aires, Santiago de Chile or even in Rio de Janeiro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Fantastic Hotel in a National Park

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Everything from the turn down service to the on site shops
Location: Situated in a National Park with waterfalls, visit Paraguay for shopping, see the falls from the Argentinian side
Sublime! Luxury at it's finest. The view of the Iguacu Falls from the terrace whilst having an early evening drink is amazing. We actually saw a Toucan in the trees raiding nests for eggs along with a coatis as well. Wild life is in abundance here as you would expect. Iguana's running around outside, it felt like a being in a wildlife documentary with luxuries added. Everything from the complimentary toiletries to the wonderfully heated pool was divine. The service is amazing as were the staff. As British we are used to paying cash, so be aware that it can prove a little problematic, so we just decided to charge everything to our room, we stayed in 2117 which was lovely. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to visit the Iguacu Falls. We made a 3 night trip down from Rio and had a perfect trip and even popped over into Paraguay and Argentina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, United States of America

No other hotel can compete

Posted Nov 28, 2016
From the second you reach the hotel you are treated like royalty. Our accommodations were phenomenal. Having never been to Iguazu Falls, I had no real gauge as to where to stay. Once I read that this was the only hotel in the National Park and that as a patron we could walk to the falls after the park had closed, I knew it would be worth the cost. We had a Deluxe room with a direct view of the Falls. I could lay in bed and watch the surreal grandeur of the incredible falls while listening to the birds chirping in the trees. It was paradise. Every need was met. They helped us plan our tours and even gave us towels and ponchos for our adventure. My husband used the laundry service and it was deliecered in a a basket, wrapped in tissue with a flower on top. It is the attention to the finest details that makes the Belmond stand out against all other hotels. The meals were incredible and with such a great variety. We had a flight in the early evening so they checked our bags and allowed us to use the spa to shower and clean up after we used the pool and finished our excursions. Everything was too notch. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Treat yourself and truly escape to paradise at the Belmond...you will not regret it! The only thing I regret is not staying there longer! Best hotel of our 2 week adventure through Brazil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Fabulous

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, ambience, proximity to falls,
Cons: Would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities as standard.
Location: Magnificent Iguassu falls opposite. Day trips to Argentinian side. A host of thrill rides/trips around the falls and jungle. Aviary near park entrance
We would not normally choose to stay in 5* luxury, but so glad we did. It's the only way to get the most of the falls. Wish we had longer there as hubby fell sick the day after we arrived, caught a virus on one of our many flights. The staff couldn't do enough for us, arranging medicine to come in from the village. We then needed a doctor, after a short while a very nice young man called, wrote a script for nec med's, and again they were fast tracked from the village at around 10pm on a Sat eve. We were then given tea, soup, water and nothing was too much trouble. Way beyond the call of duty. You will be blown away by the beautiful building, with its many snug period style lounges, fab pool, recreation area but mostly the kindness of the staff - not to mention the wonderful falls to greet you every time you step out of the hotel, if you are lucky, every time you look through your bedroom window.