Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jamie from UK

Great service. Lovely staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent. Nice to be away from the bustle of Tulum but within easy reach. Lots of local shops and places to eat. Good for access to Coba. Giovanni and Angela are great hosts and cook a very good breakfast that sets you up dor a day of exploring. Perfect if you have kids, we have a 4 yr old and a nearly 2 yr old. Well recommended
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Rural Jungle

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: Rural area off the beaten path
Location: The Ruins,Cenotes, Beaches
Great place to stay. Off the beaten path and close proximity to the Ruins. Rural area east of Tulum near Mexican-Mayan village.Fifteen minutes to Tulum and beaches.
3 out of 5
by Ted from Bracebridge. Ontario

poor value for price

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were friendly, room was clean, bed was poor mattress on cement, pillows were very small, restaurant was not open. Had to drive 20+ km to eat. Ladder in pool broken so couldn't get in or out. couldn't get TV on. Overpriced for what we got.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel between Tulum and Coba

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Cons: Hot water upstairs.
Location: Tulum and Coba are both well worth visiting.
The rooms were fine, but the hotel looks as though it is struggling to survive. One of the two rooms we booked had only luke warm water at best in the shower. The towels and linen were clean but threadbare. There were no breakfast facilities onsite. When we asked about the "included" breakfast, we were told that there was a restaurant down the road where we could have breakfast. It was over a mile away. We had to drive into Tulum for our meal in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewistown, MT

Great little hotel for an awesome price

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff, large room, AC, hot shower, free wifi, free parking, TV, low price
Cons: The water pressure in the shower could have been better. There is also no ice available, so get a styrofoam cooler and stock up before you go.
Location: This hotel is very close to the Grand Cenote, which was truly awesome. If you want to snorkel or scuba dive, it's a great one. Good food close by too.
We loved the Palma Real. It was a little out of the way (about 13 miles from Tulum), but the price was very worth it. We had a rental car so it wasn't a big deal. It was hard to find in the dark initially because there are no street lights around, but once you get close, the hotel has a giant green sign that's easy to spot. The room was pretty good sized with tile floors and a comfy California King bed. It was cleaned and the sheets and towels were changed daily. The shower was ok - the water pressure wasn't great, but it was a clean hot shower after each day of doing tourist stuff. This is not a deluxe 5 star hotel - so don't stay here if that's what you want. Tulum has some of the best beaches in the world and the area tends to be more eco-friendly. Hostels are popular here. It is a place to go for the best beach experiences, food, drinks, swimming, snorkeling and awesome people. There are spas around if you want to be pampered. Just don't expect that at the Palma Real. It was exactly what we wanted, however, and we would stay there again. The pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. We stayed here in April and it was quiet and clean. There were some geckos around and it appeared that they were doing some remodeling to the building. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this hotel. This is Mexico - there are police checkpoints, bugs and mold. It's just a part of life. The negative reviews I have read all complain about these things so educate yourself before you go.
4 out of 5
by robert from Ocean City, MD

Tulum Budget Alternative

Posted Mar 7, 2015 on Hotels
Clean budget hotel about 15 minutes from Tulum in small town of Francisco Un May. Good sized room, strong internet and very basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget stay for 1-2 nights

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
This is a basic accomodation on the road from Tulum to Coba. It's very budget friendly, no-frills option. The room has AC and TV, shelving and table with chairs. To use TV you need to leave a money deposit at the front desk. The property also has a pool and a small snack bar, neither of which we used. There is a 24 hr front desk/security person on duty. The room was reasonably clean but the sheets had stains which I didn't like. There is not much nearby in terms of cafes or grocery stores so for meals we drove to Tulum pueblo (~20 min).
1 out of 5
by Kelly from VA

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
We were not able to check in to the hotel because when we arrived, the receptionist said that all of the rooms were completely booked. He did not speak any English at all, which was fine, we were knowledgeable of some Spanish. We had reservations through hotels.com but the receptionist still would not help us. So we had to drive around until we found a new place to stay; we ended up paying a lot more than we had anticipated. This was a very bad experience and we will not plan to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by G Walton from United Kingdom

Uninspiring

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels
The room was adequate, clean and the bed comfortable. Couldn't get on to internet with wifi and I thought I had requested breakfast and been given a price. There was no breakfast. The surroundings to the hotel were untidy and poor - pool was OK, not totally clean with no decent relaxing area. No effort made here to make guests want to come back.
3 out of 5
by Vamshi from Toronto

Perfect stopover

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed overnight at this hotel on our road-trip to western yucatan. It is an affordable and clean hotel with good service and friendly staff. A little away from the city but fantastic for the price we paid. Also gave us a chance to visit the nearby village and experience local food and lifestyle. Equal distance from Tulum and Coba.