Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Disappointing....

Posted Dec 18, 2014
We've stayed at Mercure's before and we were pretty disappointed with the quality of this particular hotel (especially for a German location in a large city). The rooms desperately needed an upgrade/renovation, as they felt like a cheap US hotel chain (think 2-star U.S. motel). We booked a King room, and got a Queen bed that felt like concrete. The bed had 2 ridiculously small and flat pillows on it, and the sheets were cheap and scratchy (they actually triggered an allergic skin reaction for both my husband and I). There were stains on the carpet, and the bathroom smelled like urine. The room was also incredibly hot, and you had no control over the heat in the room. It also didn't help that we got caught up at check-in with a big tour bus filled with pushy and impolite seniors. The whole thing made for an all round disappointing and negative experience. I must say though, the staff were pleasant and professional, and I must give them credit for that! The breakfast was also pretty good. Overall, this felt more like a 2 star hotel, not a 4 star "Mercure-quality" hotel though, and wouldn't recommend it for couples or singles that are looking for business-class or 4-star accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Staff, bar area
Cons: Rooms
Location: Old town Fürth is nice ca. 10min.
Hotel room not too great. Clean a place to stay for the night, friendly staff, nice bar restaurant area. Price was increase 2x to 3x for a trade show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for short stay in Nuremberg area.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Location: Nuremberg is an interesting city. This time we went to the Playmobil park in Zirndorf, which is excellent for children aged 3-10.
Stayed for one night with 2 adults, 2 children. Room had everything we wanted such as fridge, TV, wi-fi. Did not use the pool because it was in the middle of the restaurant patio -- didn't feel like swimming in full view of the diners. Welcoming staff, efficient check-in and check-out. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family of Four Vacationing

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Breakfast buffet, Kids playground and equipment for them to use, Complimentary drinks everyday in the room. Free WiFi, and overall staff assistances.
Cons: Would like a bigger pool or least it be heated for the little ones to still swim in it. It was somewhat cold, even for me.
Location: It is really close to kids amusement park, Big Indoor/outdoor swimming pool, Major city, with all resturants, shoopinh you could do. A lot near by.
Completely loved this hotel. All hotels for family comforts should look and feel like this hotel. My girls loved this hotel and I will be back again for further stays. Thanks for the great service Hotel staff. You were outstanding and very helpful in all aspects. Do not miss out in getting a room here, if I were you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel very near to Motorway

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Close to motorway. Polite staff
Cons: Air conditioning. More reasonably priced breakfast.
Ok stay, polite staff. Simple and clean room. We stayed on a very hot day in June and the room had no air conditioning which was disappointing. Hotel breakfast rather pricey at 17 euros.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from Solihull

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2012
Pros: Made to feel very much at home and nothing was too much for the staff
Cons: The slightly 'out of town' location
Location: It is OK if you are driving
Thje hotel was clean, tidy, comfortable and the staff were excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from UK

Great for family, pity about the shower

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: The kindness of the staff
Cons: The shower
Location: perfect
Well located with convenient facilities and a relaxing pool side experience (breakfast or dinner). However the room only offers a badly conceived walkin shower. Forget about taking a bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wokingham, United Kingdom

Comfortable stay

Posted Jan 11, 2012
Clean friendly hotel conveniently situated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Great Hotel Experience

Posted Apr 9, 2011
The hotel is very luxurious - well laid out and the staff were all very helpful. The internet connections was expensive - I bought an hour for 3 EU and later discovered that the hour started with when I first logged on, and was then not available after and hour even if I was not logged on for the rest of the time. You had to visit the desk to gain access. The bed had a duvet that was about a foot narrower than the mattress so I had difficulty keeping it on during the night. Perhaps that is a feature of German hotels, although I have stayed in others that did not have such a small duvet. Otherwise everything was great - the breakfast was wonderful - more than one could possible eat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Basic Accomodations

Posted Apr 22, 2010
Nice tub. Would have appreciated microwave, or fridge (not stocked with expensive stuff), as we were there for 8 days. Had to ask for toiletries to be replaced each time. Shoe shining machine in hall was interesting. Wanted to have access to laundry, but they only provided a service, not access (wanted to do it myself) Meals were pricey. No where near Nurenberg, but good access to Autobahn 73. Wouldn't be easy to get there without a car.