Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, scenery and the bed!
We spent just one night at the Hillwind while traveling. The setting was beautiful with a river and picnic tables just outside our front door. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The bed was VERY comfortable. Breakfast was great. And we loved the butter rum muffins. Would definitely go back and stay longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Clean and quiet.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Cons: As with most hotel/motels, the TV sits so low that is it difficult to watch it in bed. The entire industry should make a note of this.
Location: All kinds of sight-seeing in the area, Drive to the top of Mt. Washington. Went in October but it is obviously all about skiing.
With the name 'Lodge' I didn't quite know what to expect since the promo picture is a bit misleading. The 'lodge' was more like an older two story motel. But, it was quiet, exceptionally clean and comfortable and I would use it again. There is a pool and it is back off the main road and a nice stream runs in front of it so kids could probably explore. We were 'leaf-peepers' and the area was beautiful at the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Good experience, please looks very wild and loved to see some bears but couldn't get a chance. It gets a lot colder in the night but the river side rooms were warm inside with heaters on. The breakfast is good if you like a continental one. the spread was not bad but could have had not expected more in a continental one. My 1 night stay there was not sufficitnet as the kids couldnt actually use the pool side place to play whatever they wanted. Over all it was a good experience there in the hotel. The owner was also kind enough to have us in a different accommodation when we ran short of rooms for the next night.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

Quiet hotel.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: It was clean and quiet
Cons: Continue updating.
Location: Convenient to the State Park and not verty far from Mt Washington.
Had an easy time with check-in. We had a view of the creek. Very good breakfast included.It was clean and quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Very friendly reception staff. Room was right beside a nice creek. They had picnic tables and barbecues beside it, but it was too cool to enjoy them while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Highland Games weekend

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Just had a one night stay after visiting the Highland Games with some friends. Very nice quiet hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast in the morning was a nice added bonus.
5 out of 5
by William

Simple but very good place

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
We really liked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill sc

Nice hotel, quiet

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Room looked newly remodeled and was clean. There could have another luggage rack available. Also would have liked a secure wifi connection. But overall a nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Free breakfast doesn't start on Saturday until 8 and we had to leave at 7 so that was disappointing. The room was small but clean. I really liked that they had several chairs in the room as well as a desk. It was nice to look out onto the little river.