Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on-Trent

Low Value For Money

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location near station
Cons: Breakfast, bar very small. Room pricing for Trade Show time is profiteering.
Location: Good location close to old town and train/metro station.
Superior room at excessive profiteering rate due to Biofach trade fair. This superior room was next to the hotel's minibar bottle store - early every morning ten trollies were loaded up with noisy enthusiasm by staff. Complaints made, apologies accepted, made no difference, same process every morning. No air conditioning, twin beds with small single quilts despite booking double. Breakfast at 22 euros per person was a total disgrace of dried up residue. Very low value for money rating. Staff pleasant but uncompromising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Ralf Adamczyk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, you shared your thoughts on another website already. Therefore you find a copy of our answer here: Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your experiences during your stay in our hotel. I feel personally sad about the handling of your complaint. Be sure that the necessary consequences will be taken out of it. Therefore I am quite sure that it will not repeat. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location but disappointing rooms

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Room musty and poor facilities. Staff unhelpful and a little bit rude. No tea or coffee facilities in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Ralf Adamczyk, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, we apologize that you had a negative impression about our staff during your stay with us. We are well aware that our hotel is a bit elderly meanwhile. Therefore friendliness and competence of the staff might be more necessary in our property than in others. Normally there are no problems about that. Without knowing what had happened exactly I apologize personally for all inconvenience it caused. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Very close to the main train station

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Decent experience. Closeness to the train station makes travel and eating options easy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ralf Adamczyk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for the stay in our hotel and the short review. We work hard tu fulfil our guest´s expectations. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
It started off terrible because they had no more parking. Then we got in our room and it was a little better. Price was very high for 1 night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we feel sorry that our garage was occupied during your stay. It is possible to make a reservation for the garage un advance. Normally it is not necessary but if we have big functions (like last week-end) it might happen that the garage is full. Sorry for any inconvenience. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over-priced.

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
The main areas are fine but the rooms a little dated. There was a lack of facilities e.g. no kettle, no iron, no bathrobe and only one tiny hand towel and one other small towel. There was only a single duvet on a three-quarter sized bed. I couldn't work the air-con and was chilly. There was no extractor in the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you for the feedback. A bathrobe and a kettle can be provided at any time. Please aks the frot office an d they will do instantly. The same is valid for additional towels. The air-con is still in the cooling-mode. But it can be switched of manually. And we have to state that there are extractors in the bathroom. They between the suspended ceiling. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for the rating without review. We try hard everyday to fulfil our guests wishes. Please let us know what we could have done better, to make you to rate us better. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
5 out of 5
by George Barclay from Berlin

Nice

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Ralf Adamczyk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for the stay with us and the very short but also very positive review. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

close to the old wall!!

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: handy car park
Cons: Needs a deep clean and some new paint to make it a nicer place to be.
Location: Liked where it was, nice and near to several places that you could walk to with ease
Our room curtain was so dirty not sure when it was last washed!!! Lighting is so dim, maybe they are trying to cover up the white towels that are no longer white. Bed seemed to be very low compared to others we had slept on, the pillow was far too thin. Lights in the corridor are nice but not enough light given off them. When we walked into breakfast the following morning I could not believe the horrid smell that was in the place. It reminded me of dirty old cooking. Tried to eat my breakfast as was feeling peckish, but the table we picked had a room freshner near us spraying out it's smell to mingle with the room smell.....yuk. I had to leave hastily for a bathroom, not nice. What I saw of the food before I left looked nice, my husband enjoyed it. If you have a good sense of smell not the hotel for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Isabelle Hummel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, your review after it you did not have a nice stay in our hotel. The lighting in the rooms is part of the Maritim standard and create a cozy atmosphere, certainly not to cover up something. We are aware not to meet every taste, particularly regarding beds and pillows. In our restaurant different egg variations are prepared in front of the guests at the cooking bar of breakfast, perhaps that explains the smell. It would have been nice if you had communicated your concerns our employees during your stay, then we could find a solution. Best wishes Isabelle Hummel (Direktionssekretärin)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

From the early 90s

Posted Jun 18, 2016
The hotel is adequate but severely outdated. The pillows are very thin and the tv is terrible- an old 4:3 box tv. Definitely not on par with other 4 star hotels. The fitness area is inadequate as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Isabelle Hummel (executive secretary), Hotel Management
Dear guest, we are sorry that you could not really enjoy the stay in our hotel, because you did not suit the equipment. Our hotel was opened over thirty years ago. A fact that in spite of permanent improvement and beautification works of course does not ignore. The decor is timeless; even if we are aware, not to meet everyone's taste. New digital TV sets we get in 3 month, the conversion will be completed in October. With kind regards Isabelle Hummel (executive secretary)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good (but could be great with some updates)

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location, right near the main train station so it was super convenient. I was in Nuremberg for a business trip but my nights were free to explore and enjoy the city food establishments and shopping, etc. Perfect spot from which to do that. The staff and everyone at the hotel were fantastic. Really appreciated their helpfulness. The hotel is a bit dated though and could use a refresh on the carpets, room interiors, furniture, etc. A bit old-school. Our room faced a very busy street so it did get a little noisy. But all in all, I'd stay there again. Just hope they invest in sprucing things up a bit. They've got everything else you could ever hope for with restaurant, bar, great staff, etc., they just need to liven the place up with a bit of a makeover.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Ralf Adamczyk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks a lot for staying with us during your trip to Nürnberg. We are very happy tht you could enjoy your stay in general. Our hotel was opened in 1986 already. Therefore it can hardly be compared with newer hotels. Renovation works have been done continously and the next update (new TV-sets) is planned already and will be done soon. We are very thankful for your praising words about our staff; the heart of our services. This means a big motivation for them. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Ralf Adamczyk General Manager