Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Theresa from Kentucky

Be aware of the little things....

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Room, service, breakfast was great BUT the street noise and people noise is constant and late into the night...tough to sleep. No elevator, no air conditioning (and you cant keep the windows open due to the street noise), internet thready, NO parking and very difficult to access hotel due to on a high traffic street. Best for backpackers and those taking a cab to hotel.
5 out of 5
by SHUN

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
A charming hotel by a river. The room was clean and cozy. We were delighted by a good selection of ham, cheese, yoghurt and fruit. A member of the staff was so nice that she even baked a loaf of gluten free bread for me. It would have been ideal if we had had a teaset at the room...
4 out of 5
by Bill from Washington DC

Charming small hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to most of the sights of Bamberg, a charming and historic city and a World Heritage Site. The owners were charming and helpful in directing us to historic sites and recommending restaurants and things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Great stay in a great German town!

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Clean. Great braekfast. Pleasant staff.
Location: Location as perfect. Great view of the river and close to the sites and restaurants of the old town.
Unfortunately it was for work. But the stay at the Tandem was most pleasant. Nice breakfast, serve by the friendly staff. Nice location on the river and close to the old town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple great stay

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Interesting stay. Front desk can only be reached by phone. Small, functional clean room. WIFI works very well. No coffee/tea maker in the room. Breakfast is good and very fresh. No shops in the immediate vicinity. Great location between the conference center and the old town with restaurants and pubs in the close neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

If it had not been 95F it would have been perfect.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The receptionist. The location was terrific, easy to walk everywhere within a few minutes. The room is very nice, except in very hot, humid weather.
Cons: In hot weather needs air conditioning, or a way to circulate fresh air into the room with the windows closed.
Location: The swimming beach in the river was fantastic and only 1€ per person, a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Very refreshing!
The Tandem is located on a busy corner on one end of a main bridge, and within easy walking distance of local restaurants, bars, and sightseeing objectives. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning. Our room overlooked the corner. It was extremely hot and humid the two nights and days we were in Bamberg. The first night we had the windows open but could not sleep due to the noise from revelers and traffic. The second night we kept the windows closed, and had the fan pointed directly at our bodies. We were able to sleep. The windows definitely keep the sound out. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. The best part of the stay was the owners' daughter, who was managing the desk. She was delightful, provided us with a fan, and provided us with all sort of excellent recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Walking distance to everything. Hotel on the river

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable and walking distance to everything.
Cons: Nothing. It met our requirements.
Location: Walking distance to everything. The town has a very interesting history and has maintained its character.
We walked about 1.5klms from the train station to the hotel. Our room had a nice view of the river and is a very short and lovely walk to the old town area. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Close to enough to everything to park the car and walk. Clean, great shower, Internet
This is a wonderful hotel! We had two rooms both were very clean and had a nice view one on the street the other on the river. The breakfast was a traditional meat cheese light meal. We parked our car for 2 days and we walked to all the sites and restaurants. Would stay here again without looking at others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tz

Perfect istay n Bamberg

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Fantastic location. Wonderful welcome. Such enthusiasm on the part of the staff. Breakfast was a beautiful presentation. Elem exuded such joy. What a delightful experience. Sent
5 out of 5
by Timo from Helsinki

Great hotel with friendly service

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Everything worked as expected, if not better. Breakfast was superb!