Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Supposed to be close to the airport

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything - not even close to 4 star rating
Location: Nothing, rather scary part of town,
Supposed to be close to the airport. 10 kilometres away 27 euros taxi fare one way. Hotel had those awful squeeze soap/shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. Only gave 2 towels, no face cloths, had to ask for more towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding the distance from the airport. For future visits, we have always a second set of towels in the closet for our guests. Kind regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette,IN

Not in airport area

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel was fine, but it was not the Frankfort Airport area and there was no shuttle, the cab ride is 25-35 Euro
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your Review. We apologize for misleading the Impression that we would offer a shuttle to the Airport. Kindest regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Was "Okay"

Posted Jun 6, 2017
After booking a double room I walked into a twin room, after ringing reception the receptionist argued this and stated that her paper work stated Twin Room. I explained that my itinerary showed as Double Room which she replied I will send up someone to push the beds together! Excellent customer service. After waiting for 10 minutes we decided to do this ourselves, when the help eventually arrived we asked for him to hoover the floor where the bed had originally been as it was filthy. Everything else was fine however I feel the underground parking is far too expensive, €20 per day even if you take your car out all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Peter Wirbelauer, Hotel Management
Dear Jemma, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Dean from Canada

outstanding

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review!!! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Best regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel for quick visit or stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel is very nice with wonderful staff. Our room was clean and well-kept. You can tell there is an older (not quite outdated) feel to the hotel, but was nice nonetheless. The bar in the hotel was nice to grab a quick drink or dinner at. The basic internet isn't the most reliable, but you have the option to upgrade to a paid version. The only negative is that the area around the hotel is disappointing. There isn't much in the area for food/drink/activities outside of the Altstadt Höchst and it's castle. I would also recommend avoid using the main train station and taking a cab. It is currently under construction and seems to be frequently vandalized. If you're looking for a quick stay before a flight and maybe a couple trips to the city of Frankfurt, I would definitely recommend the hotel. Overall, we were happy with our visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Peter Wirbelauer, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleaure reading it and we are happy that you were content with the staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The website said the hotel had a spa when we got there we were told it didnt. The rooms didnt look as good as they did in the pictures
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will make sure to update the Websites accordingly and hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for IndutriePark

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel in a nice part of Frankfurt
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice Review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is convenient near to Tram stop

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Air-con was not working
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the good review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Be aware! No hotel shuttle!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Honestly: not much
Cons: Hotel shuttle, friendly staff, improved furniture in the rooms, breakfast, internet access
Location: There is absolutely nothing close to the hotel that would be worthwhile to leave the hotel. Not that the hotel would be attractive either.
I called from the airport and learned that the hotel has no shuttle but worse it is really far away from the airport, aproximately 25 minutes by taxi! There is no real public transportation to the hotel. You would need to change from train to bus and walk 10 minutes. The staff is professional, not particularly friendly. If you need to stay, although I recommend to shop for another more convenient hotel, you should make reservation with breakfast. Internet is free but very slow. You need to pay extra for high speed internet. All in all a quite dissapointing experience, not only because of the distance to the airport. Its a very basic hotel and in my opinion overrated with 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Please excuse the inconvenience through travveling to our Hotel an back tothe Airport. Sincerely, Peter Wirbelauer Front Office Manager