Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by A verified traveler
A comfortable room in an unpleasant neighborhoodPosted Apr 28, 2017
My room at the Hotel Domicil was small but good, clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good too (typical German breakfast buffet) but you had to pay a extra. There were, however, two negative aspects to my stay. First, while it's very close to the train station, the neighborhood is quite shady, especially for Germany (the sidewalks smell of urine, the denizens make you guard your wallet, and sex shops abound). Second, the wifi was not working when I arrived, and when I asked about it at the front desk, the lady was completely unhelpful, saying that on rare occasions, people had devices that didn't work with the hotel wifi. She persisted in blaming my device and saying there was nothing to be done, even though I told her that I'd tried two completely different, very common devices (an Apple laptop and a Samsung smartphone) and neither worked. While the lack of wifi was inconvenient (I'd planned to use it to check in for my flight early to get a good seat, and to Skype with my family since I didn't have a phone plan that worked in Europe), what really got me was the senseless attitude of the lady, which gave me the impression that the wifi was just a scam. It turns out she was just clueless: when I got back to the hotel after dinner, the wifi was working fine on both devices. If she'd just agreed to my request that she check into it (maybe with her own device) and found that the ISP was temporarily down or something, that would have been fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Favored Hotel Domicil, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your postive feedback you mentioned. We regret that not everything was for your satisfaction and we are really sorry, if you had that impression of our colleague. She usually is a very friendly and helpful person, maybe there was some communication problem. We will speak to her know about your complaint. Unfortunetaly there was a temporary error with the wifi. Our team dealt with the problem and the technician could fix it. Sometimes such things can happen. We are really sorry about it. In Frankfurt some areas around the train station are not very nice. To get to our hotel from the main station it is not necessary to walk through that area. In our street there is no sex shop. Furthermore two minutes from our hotel you find the banking district- so it is all very close together in Frankfurt. Also there is the group of working proprietors who are in contact with the Frankfurt officials to improve the situation. Again we would like to express our regrets. Kind regards
Yes, it is a convenient and clean hotel.Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was our 2nd hotel in Frankfurt, Germany; we abandoned the first after a night forgetting about the two more paid nights. The moment we entered our room, my young daughter and I both breathed a sigh of relief. Our room was nice, clean and very inviting. We spent our New Year in Frankfurt, Germany and we discovered that on January 1st, almost all business establishments were closed. With nothing else to do, thank God, we had a good, pretty, little room to go home to and spend our bonding moments together. Good experience!
by A verified traveler
Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
by A verified traveler from US
Not a very clean hotelPosted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: It is near the train station.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaned.
Location: Not a great location, in the red light district
This is not a 3 star hotel, it is a 2 star at best. The rooms are small and not very clean.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Milan
Great Hotel close to main rail stationPosted Oct 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to train station, great service and good clean facilities.
Location: As mentioned above with train station and also nearby are eateries and shops.
Needed a Hotel close to main rail station. This was a perfect 4 minute walk, but the Hotel proved to be charming in all respects. Rooms not large, but very comfortable and clean. All staff very helpful and enjoyable breakfast open from 6.30, but had ours earlier due to a train to catch. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
by Jean M from München
Change in chains very noticeablePosted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
I have been staying at this hotel for years, during which time it was operated under the Best Western brand. Unfortunately Favored Hotels is not delivering the same level of competency. Essentially this is a very nice hotel; a great deal for people who are familiar with Frankfurt and need to easily get from point A to point B and back to the Hauptbahnhof. The hotel had the bonus of serving a fantastic breakfast, had a wonderful staff, and the building was well-cared for. Unfortunately only the nice staff remains, which cannot be blamed upon them. During this visit there was no hot water for hours at a time – and not this was not a Durchheizenwasser operator error – , access problems with the electronic entry system, and the breakfast bar was beyond sparse – serving day-old breads, etc. with virtually empty jam and honey jars, no nut butters or Nutella, lox replaced with a dab of salmon spread, and so on. It's still convenient but comparably for 12€ you can walk a block to Moselstr. and get a full meal with coffee and juice for 8-10€. I go to Frankfurt often and I would really hate not to be able to stay at the Domicil. I will give it one more try for old time's sake and see what happens.
by A verified traveler
Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
by A verified traveler
better than expectedPosted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel just 5mins waking distance from AM HBF. Happy to stay with its new renovation and a supermarket nearby. Price is over value than we expected. Recommend to you for short stay in frankfurt. Although there is red light and casino district, we feel safe at all.
for Business Travelersby A verified traveler from Sydney
Conveniently located, value for moneyPosted Apr 20, 2016
Cons: Size of the shower. Badly placed shower head facing the shower curtain meant I was constantly in contact with wet shower curtain!
My reason for visiting was to attend the Messe Frankfurt. Hotel is conveniently located for this. Breakfast was to standard and the breakfast room was nicely appointed and appeared to be recently decorated.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
good hotel with reasonable pricePosted Apr 6, 2016
good location and clean room. Near the haubahnhof.