Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A good value stay

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The hotel was ideally situated as it was a stones throw from the venue I was attending over two days This is a simple hotel, nothing flash or posh but offers comfortable bed, extremely clean everywhere and courteous staff I also enjoyed their buffet breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Terrible check-out policy!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Good location,closeby nice sushi restaurant ,local pubs and Zeil Street.
When I was arrived to hotel ,staff was pleasant and helpful.I just stayed 2 nights in this hotel and their breakfast was perfectly fit for what I expected. I was too tired cause of business conventions during the day and I was expecting a good sleep in my bed. Unfortunately, I got terribly disappointed at check-out because of cleaning man had already finished the final cleaning of room when I was doing my breakfast at 8 a.m in the morning.I was planning to go back to my room and He said that 'No,I already cleaned this room .You can not enter because your luggages are in the lobby.'I had a train at 11 a.m and I just wanted to relax an hour after having my breakfast. I'm also a hotel owner and this was absolutely rude!Hotel check-out time would be generally 11 a.m,not 8 a.m in the morning.I paid that money for the room and the room had to be belonging to me until 11.am !! If you want to sleep,don't prefer this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Your feedback, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Özlem, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recently stay in our Hotel. I spoke with the involving staff from Front Office and Housekeeping and as it seems, a housekeeping member of the staff while checking the rooms on the departure list, noticed that there was no luggage or any personal belongings in your room and without confirming with the Front Office, cleaned your room. As you informed the Front Office about it, the employ gave you the room again and she express her apologies to you on behalf of the Hotel and on behalf of the housekeeping staff. This was a one-time-incident and we have already made sure that it will not happen again. We would like to apologize one more time for this inconvenience and we are deeply sorry that this last episode left you with a bad taste about your stay. We truly hope you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a nice and comfortable stay. Kind regards, Barbara Drews General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable and I could open the window.
Cons: I had to bring my own kettle; the minibar fridge was a bit noisy; the room was warmed even though the A/C was off so I had to open the window at night, once the street noise got less.
Location: There were many shops and restaurants nearby. I was there for a conference and so only really had time to sample the restaurants, in the evenings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Great location

Posted Oct 1, 2016
I stayed at Scala Hotel for just 3 days (2 nights) in late September. Very nice location, just nearby shopping street Zeil. Friendly staff. Pretty good breakfast (not included in the rate, 14 euro extra). Would recommend for a short stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

it's not a nice hotel, I was stuck in The elevator

Posted Sep 16, 2016
It's not a good experience and will never check in again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, ON

Small but sweet

Posted May 13, 2016
Good location, felt safe, nice breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. A bit tight... Let's say cozy. Good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good value for money

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location only
Cons: Everything could be improved! From a simple good and friendly internet connection to the room itself.
Location: Very well located, close to transport, river bank, main shopping street and good options for eating out.
The best thing about this hotel is its location, from that it's all downhill On my booking I selected a double bed and paid extra for that, upon my arrival find out that my room was two twin beds put together, which is fine as long as it can be made as a double bed. The hotel did not have the appropriate linen to make it a double bed, they did not even had a double duvet. Room itself is very outdated and lack of toiletries. Internet connection was not stable at all, it kept disconnecting and each time you had to fill out the long username and password, very annoying and time consuming, and once you are connected the connection was really poor. I blame Expedia partially for not having a proper hotel review in order to sell to its customers, it's the second time it has happened, on which case I cannot trust on Expedia anymore as you are selling something that does not match up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Cons: fire doors on the stairs are very heavy and one must use extreme force to open them. cannot be used by disabled maybe a button can be added for that
Location: very close to shopping street
very nice location with good access. clean and silent area . Well lit and clean rooms. Rich breakfast selections
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping streets

Posted Dec 23, 2015
The room was small but fine for a single traveller. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is located really close to the shopping area (Zeil), but it was a surprisingly quiet location (room was located on back side).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

great location, excellent staff

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: n/a
Location: location central to Romerberg and Zeil
I think its location was the hotel's greatest strength