Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Don't stay here!!!

Posted May 3, 2017
Awful experience from top to bottom. Upon entering the hotel the smell was awful! Reeked of smoke and something else that I can't put my finger on. The staff was rude. When you enter the hotel there is a flight of stairs. I carried my 2 suitcases up about 3/4th of the way before anyone offered to help. PS- the staff member watched me carry the bags too. I should have left based on the smell and the service, but I checked in anyhow. Here is where it gets ugly. The room looked completely ridiculous and NOTHING like what they post on Expedia. See pics. So we have the smell, the service, and the room. I decide I need to suck it up and deal. Then I get into the shower (the only attractive part of the hotel), soap up, and go to rinse. The water is hot as hell. I turn the faucet to cool it down and it gets hotter. I don't know what the Germans do to their water but it was scalding!!! I had to get out rub off the soap with a towel and called the front desk. 45 minutes of them looking in the bathroom, checking the basement, etc ... all while I'm in a robe. They inform me the earliest they can fix it is tomorrow afternoon. I start calling around to make other arrangements. Then they call and offer to change my room. By now I have zero trust in this hotel. Rude, misrepresented themselves online ... not a 4 star experience in my eyes. I told them I was leaving and the service went downhill from there. I left with no other booking. That's how bad it was!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Dear guest, as we are already in direct contact with you we refrain from answering your comment in detail. But as you can see from most other comments our guests are always very happy with their stay with us and many of them return to our hotel when visiting Frankfurt.
5 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

What have Germans got against air conditioning?

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Cons: Add more electrical outlets and air conditioning or, at least, fans in every room.
First off, this really is a lovely medium to small sized hotel, set on a leafy, quiet street right near the Frankfurt "Messe" (Trade Fair), natural history museum, two U-bahn lines and several trolley lines. They feature a very good spread of cooked and cold breakfast entrees, cereal, fruit, scrumptious crusty, grainy breads, cereals, and excellent coffee (this is a real sticking point with me). The rooms are comfortable, clean, modern and well lit. If you like The Cozy, this hotel fits the description. The staff is relentlessly pleasant, helpful and eager to please. Here are my caveats, one of which is a cultural thing: there's no air conditioning nor even a ceiling fan. As a matter of fact, there were no ventilation grids in the upper walls or ceilings. The days were warm and the room stuffy.This kind of thing is an issue throughout Europe, of course, but after a while it gets pretty old for a traveling American. I did ask for and was cheerfully provided with an oscillating desk fan that made the room much more comfortable, though. The other caveat: only one accessible electric outlet in the room, another between the bedroom and bathroom (and a shaver outlet next to the hair blower in the bathroom). I had to plug my fan into the passageway outlet and stand it on a chair facing my bed for the desired effect. The other outlet is by the night table on the right side of the bed (no outlet on the left). I could charge my phone or run my laptop but not both at once.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Claudia Schiese, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and your nice and very personal comment. We are glad that you liked your stay and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our service crew. Just one remark: we do have rooms with a/c, just ask for them the next time you will come and stay with us. They are facing the quite street in front of our hotel to the south side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Furniture a bit worn - but clean and comfortable. Extremely good value.
4 out of 5
by Dick from Stockholm

Nice hotel close by Messe Frankfurt

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Nice and clean hotel close to Messe Frankfurt. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Would definitely consider staying there again.
4 out of 5
by Ray from MN

Good for one night stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great business stay a colleague recommended. Nice hotel and nothing negative to report. Only there for a short stay, but perfect for our needs. Would stay here again if ever in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your nice comment. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us. Come and visit us again! Your team from Hotel an der Messe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view, air condition doesn't work

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel seems have a bit of history, although the decoration inside the room is beautiful, it doesn't seems "warm", but rather "cold". Besides, air conditioning doesn't work, toilet seems too big with emptiness. Underground parking is a bit awk too. However, the restaurant view is phenomenal, good service and good breakfast. Price is reasonable, worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate if you need a place to stay. not more

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
business stay. hotel adequate, but little more. staff friendly. old hotel and rooms. small and not very comfortable. no restaurant or bar in hotel or anywhere close. temperature in rooms difficult to keep at comfortable level. windows literally let water in the room when it rain as they open up from the roof.