Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel near to transport

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Great hotel with great rooms and facilities. Staff are very attentive. Rooms tend to be too warm. Air conditioning does not operate in the cooler months, so you need to open the window which lets in traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aleandria VA

Great Stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location, very good breakfast
Cons: No
Location: Not much close to hotel but easy access to mass transit with frequent buses and trams. Try the brewery across the street.
While not in the center of town the Maritime is walking distance to the main bus, tram and train station so it is well connected and it is easy to get to all parts of town via mass transit. That also means there are several walking distance restaurants. There is a brewery across the street for having some local brew. Well recommended. The hotel is an older hotel that has had room renovations. The bathroom shower is exceptional design. I would love one like this in my house. Rooms have balconies so you can see the city. The rest of the hotel is certainly business class. Very good breakfast buffet. There is a very nice swimming pool in the bottom floor - infinity style. With a sauna. No fitness ceter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by CR, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, many thanks for your great rating on Expedia and your recommendation of our breakfast buffet. I am very pleased that our renovation have met your taste and you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, we missed the chance to refer to our cooperation with a gym near the hotel. Our guests do have the possibility to use this gym with all its amenities. The choice of high quality exercise equipment is better than the most hotels provide. My apologies for not offering our full service to you during your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt. Sincerely Yours, Christoph Rawe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Visitor to Germany

Nice hotel close to the station

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Nice recently renovated room
Cons: According to the Room information folder, the TV channels (eg BBC etc) are not free, but cost between 5 and 20 euros per night. This is a rip-off.
Location: Nothing much nearby, except for the main train and bus station- which has excellent connection to the local and regional area, including the airport.
Business visit for a conference. Useful location for transport. Room was nice. They had early check-in for 39 euros, which was useful after the flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Great hotel for it's price.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness. Friendly staff. Delicious restaurant food. Easy access to hotel parking. Safe environment.
Location: Short distance to Frankfurt Main airport. 25 minutes drive to Hockenheim for F1 race. Short drive to Seefest am Bostalsee & Aschaffenburg.
My husband and I booked this hotel for 5 nights for it's location. Hotel was very clean with great friendly staff. Restaurant in lobby had several delicious meals. They even offered Vegan Chocolate Mouse. We ordered it just to see how a vegan dessert taste like and it was actually good. The breakfast buffet offered several variety of food also. Check in and check out was very easy. Although hotel had a daily parking fee, the ticket they supplied made it very easy to enter and exit parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by CR, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, many thanks for your great rating and lovely words on Expedia. We are looking forward welcoming you again soon. Sincerely Yours, Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt Christoph Rawe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free internet didn't work

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The staff advised me to buy WiFi from Telecom for €5 per day
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by CR, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback on Expedia. Our free WiFi is not high speed, but enough to write e-mails or send text messages. If a guest needs a faster internet connection, there is the possibility to book it by an external internet provider for a small fee. Please accept our apologies for not clarifying what is available by request to make your stay more comfortable. We are looking forward welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt Christoph Rawe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with beautiful pool

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Cons: Wifi was a little slow. No tea and coffee facilities in room.
Had a really nice 3 day stay at the Maritim Konferenzhotel. Room was of a nice size and furnished to a modern standard. My only small criticism was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and that you had to pay to use the sauna. Other than that it is a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel for a business stay

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Room was nice (studio king), clean, quiet (8th floor), great breakfast buffet, local and regional transportation was just around the corner.
Cons: needs free (unoccupied) power outlets at the work desk.
Location: Around the corner from the train station and bus stops/tram stops. There is a movie theater and beer garden in the same area.
Although the hotel looks old from the outside, it is quite well kept up and updated on the inside. I stayed in a "studio, king bed" room - more like a queen by US standards, but had a nice living area with couch, chairs, coffee table and work desk. Everything was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but perfectly acceptable, with electronically controlled shower, the usual toiletries, and even a wash cloth (unusual for many German hotels...). The hotel restaurant had a reasonable dinner menu, and a decent wine list. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, including eggs to order, and the usual American and German fare. It is not downtown - but is right around the corner from the train station, with bus and tram stops, so getting around is very easy. It's also literally 30 minutes to FRA via the AirLiner Airport bus from the train station. The free WiFi was adequate - but don't expect to stream content or get smooth Skyping without paying an extra 5 euros per day. The only negative was a lack of power outlets at the desk. You have to unplug the coffee maker to free an outlet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel...close to train, tram, and bus station

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Convenience to the train station, tram and bus pick ups.
Cons: would have been nice to have an area map of some sort, or at least a list of things to see with tram numbers to take you there.
Location: Th city center is nice and has stores and a large mall. Took tram 5 to get there. Also walked around and found the 5-finger building.
Hotel was beautiful; staff didn't offer much assistance though. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the restaurant. Pool and sauna area was nice. However after I got home and was looking over the bill, I was shocked to see we were charged €5 each time we used the sauna! That was never explained to us, nor was there anything on the signage about there being a charge...just that you needed to ask at the front desk for the sauna to be turned on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: The location obviously but also the friendliness and helpfulness of staff in what is probably primarily a business hotel.
Cons: Nothing obvious.
Location: Darmstadt is an interesting city of historical interest with good shopping. Visit the excellent Henschell store and the Rathauskeller for great beer!
I chose the hotel because I have stayed at Maritim Hotels before and have had good experiences and because of its close proximity to the main railway station. That makes it not only convenient for trains (obviously!) but also the direct bus service to and from Frankfurt Airport. The hotel is only a very short walk - approximately 200m - from the Hauptbahnhof which was perfect for my purposes. The location is also good for the city centre - 2 euros on the tram (No.3) takes you straight there in minutes. The hotel has good facilities including a sauna and small swimming pool and the food in the restaurant was very good indeed. It also has some of the fastest and most efficient elevators I have ever seen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel I will for sure visit again

Posted Sep 22, 2015
The hotel staff are very nice and polite. The rooms are very clean Room service is perfect Very close to the metro station Very quite and wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends I honestly did not expect all this for the amount of money i paid. For me i will rate it as 5/5.