Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UA

Good cheap hotel for business trips near Frankfurt

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Old network hotel with good enough comfort and location. Near the train station with a direct trains to Frankfurt main train station (aprx 20 min) and Frankfurt Messe (aprx 45 min direct S line).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fFrance

Oldish

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The overall impression is that the hotel looks and feels old. Confort ok but rooms and corridors feel dusty. Breakfast is too expensive, 20 euros. Close to the center and to public transport. Staff Members are nice, specially at the reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wroclaw

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: One big positive is the bathroom, which was a bath with good shower facilities and a good-sized basin.
Cons: The TVs need urgent replacement. Drinks facilities are also essential in continental hotels, where you don't usually drink the tap water.
Location: Darmstadt town centre is 3km away. It has lots of shops and was really busy on the Saturday I visited.
This hotel is all about the location. It's great if, like me, you were visiting the European Space Agency because it's just across the road. It's smart enough from the outside but room facilities are a little old-fashioned and not quite what you expect. For example, my room was a double but consisted of two single beds pushed together. The TV was also so old, you had to push a button to turn it on. The TV reception and choice of channels were also poor. The lack of free bottled water or any tea/coffee making facilities in the room was also disappointing. As was the absence of any 'Do Not Disturb' sign in my room, which resulted in a maid opening the room door on the second morning and waking me up. One side of the hotel is located right next to railway tracks which are used by early morning freight trains. And they can be noisy. One train woke me up at 6.30am on the first morning with its screeching. So both mornings' sleep were disrupted for different reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice place, good location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The TV's are a little old, they are not flat screens
Location: Travel
This is a nice place. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are great. The location is good, within easy walking distance of the main train station which means that it's easy to get anywhere in Frankfurt from this location. There is minimal train noise. It's also easy to get a taxi, and the train station has a lot of low cost food options. The breakfast they serve here is wonderful. For the price, you can't do better than this hotel in Darmstadt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Clean hotel in the middle of town. friendly staff. nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A Nice Place

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Close to the main train station, good breakfast buffet, comfortable bed
Cons: The elevators are kind of small. The door to the room opens with an old-school key instead of a magnetic card.
This is a nice hotel, well located within easy walking distance of the main train station in Darmstadt. It is very comfortable. I enjoyed staying there. I made a few special requests and the hotel staff was very helpful in accommodating me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it doesnt deserve to be a 4 star hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015
I hated the beds , the staff wasnt helpfull. I had to carry all my bags by my self to and out of the hotel coz there was no one to do that, the ddnt even give me a troly . Also room service suked . The only good thing was the cleanless of the room( when we first came only ) after that they ddnt cleane it well we were out . Am never staying in this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Crowthorne

Good valued hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Just needed a good valued overnight stay, and this provided a very good option. Reception, bar and breakfast staff were superb, really helpful and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

good central location

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Good central location near the railway station. Excellent wifi. I couldn't fault it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Decent hotel centrally located.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Could not find my booking when checking in. Had a hard copy. Was told breakfast was included by front desk staff and told by another it wasn't. I paid for it. Air conditioning worked poorly in 93 degree temperatures.