Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Extremely friendly staff!

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Convenience. Cleanliness. Friendliness.
Cons: Micro fridge and coffee maker would be nice addition.
Location: A beautiful area for outside activities. Antiquing.
Second stay at the Carolina Motel. Would be our first choice when visiting in Franklin, NC. Very clean. Comfortable beds. An older motel but kept in excellent condition and very clean. Wife stayed while we hiked. She felt very safe. Restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

CLEAN, charming motel

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Great experience! I almost didn't book it, because hotels this inexpensive are usually crummy. But the reviews were excellent, so I decided to try. SPOTLESS. Everything either brand new or maintained incredibly well. I was here on business but will bring my husband back just for the nostalgia of staying in an old-fashioned motor court with real door-keys that's been beautifully maintained. Plus, it's been updated with things like flat-screen TV, free wi-fi, microwave/fridge. No coffee in room and breakfast not until 7am, but there's a 24-hr McDonald's nearby. Very comfy and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Beach, FL

Great classic motel experience

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Really really friendly staff. It was nice to just chat and learn more about the area.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hiking, camping, and visiting a small town in the moutains.
When my grandparents traveled they use to stop at small motels all over the country. But with the rise of giant hotel chains, it seems like motels have a bad reputation. Carolina Motel totally bucks this stereotype. They are really clean rooms and really friendly staff. We've been coming to Franklin since I was a kid, and we're going to keep coming to the Carolina Motel each year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Debbie Drake, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking time from your busy day to fill out a review on Expedia about us! We are excited to hear you and your family had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us! We hope to see you again soon! Debbie Drake / Manager & Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Destin, Fla

Clean but lots of road noise.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Very clean but lots of noise from the road. No coffee maker, which they disclose, but it still caught me off guard. Nice staff. Very inexpensive. I could do without any amenities. I could not handle the noise from the road. Just a warning, there is no iron, coffee pot, microwave oven or a refrigerator. But there is a hairdryer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay over

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Perfect place to stop on our way from Charlotte to Chattanooga
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Awesome!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Staff, amenities, cleanliness, and free cookies and hot chocolate!
Location: Great location! Beautiful views of the mountains and restaurants nearby!
Thank you David and Nick for making customer service #1! Thank you morning crew for a great continental breakfast and for being so friendly as well. The cabin we stayed in was amazing! Very clean with all the amenities! Comfortable beds, big TV, and clean, soft towels. Had free cookies and hot chocolate! We missed the campfire only because of rain. Great getaway for family or parents weekend out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Groveland,FL

Clean, great staff

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Older motor-court motel with updated rooms. Furniture is a little dated, but functional. New carpet and fresh paint. VERY clean, great staff and excellent rates. Will definitely go back when in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice little motel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Such a cute motel! Comfortable rooms & convenient to downtown Franklin. Nice staff and continental breakfast, loved the firepit area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Very nice, clean, comfortable bed, would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheraw, SC

Great Motel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Very clean, staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: Would be nice to have a small fridge and coffee pot in the room. Continental breakfast was limited, but can't complain about free.
Location: Convenient to restaurants, and places of interest. Short dive to mines.
Room was very clean, neat. Staff was excellent. Convenient location. I have been mining in the area for over 20 yrs and began staying at Carolina then. Had a break from mining for several yrs, can only say Carolina has only improved since my first visits. Great rates